We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lower your expectations!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bibies BB

Bibies BB
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bibies BB
Save
You added Bibies BB to your Saves list
Frans Halsstraat 30-1, 1072 BS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #164 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lower your expectations!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I just finished a 3 night stay here and needless to say we were less than impressed! I'll start with the pros:
- Location, definitely the best part. It is. Lose to a main tram line and in a great neighborhood that is not too busy, yet close to many things.
- The free museum cards we were allowed to use while there.

Now the cons...
- We arrived around 8 pm and the room wasn't ready, so after a long day of travel we had to go out and come back later.
- The worst is the obvious mouse problem. We weren't given any instructions about breakfast, so we scouted around the kitchen trying to figure out what was for us to eat and what was the other tennants. This is when we discovered the mouse eaten bag of bread and decided going out for breakfast was the best option. In the fridge was soggy packages of lunch meat and cheese, as well as some questionable juice and eggs.
We later found out that breakfast is only provided on the first day, but it didn't matter, we were going out anyway.

-The bathroom is divided into the tiniest toilet room (difficult to sit down if you are at all tall) and a shower room that floods after 5 min showers.

-The place in general is unclean outside of the bedrooms. The kitchen is dingy and filthy, not to mention the mice. The Owner only cleans when someone checks out, so it can be days.

-The owner herself is friendly, but tries to cover up things. She gave us our bill and over charged us by nearly $100! Then she seemed surprised that we had Internet. We asked what network it was supposed to be as there were several that popped up, she said it was called bibies, but that network didn't exist. We told her we were on a unsecured network, called Sysco. She then told us that was the right one, which we knew was a lie.

Overall, we were happy to leave! The location is great, but I would never recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    16
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
16
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Starnberg, Germany
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We visited Amsterdam and stayed at Bibies B&B for 2 nights at the beginning of June. The city had a great atmosphere with Euro2012 beginning and we were stoked to visit the city at this time! The weather was not so welcoming (windy, rainy and cool) but we were delighted with our place at Bibies! We had rented both bedrooms for 5 people and had the whole 5 person apartment to ourselves! PERFECT! We were happy with the food that was provided in the refrigerator for us and the late check out we were allowed to have from one of the rooms. The cards and guestbook information which was left for us was convenient in helping us to figure out what to do in addition to knowledge I had from visiting the city for 9 days back in October 2011. It's very close to the Heineken brewery which was a fun little adventure into beer making! :) One our last day, 2 other guests checked in who seemed cranky and disappointed with the 'sharing' of the place but we're very grateful to Bibi for the hospitality! We loved our stay here and would recommend it to anyone looking for a humble place in Amsterdam! :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We just returned home to Vancouver, BC having concluded a wonderful 4 weeks in Europe that included a 15 day Baltic cruise which ended in Amsterdam. Our last 5 days were spent at Bibies, our second stay with her. I have read with a sense of disappointment the review dated June 16/12 by guests we shared two nights with at Bibies. These good folks are guilty of not having done their homework.

If one expects a sit down breakfast served to you at a set time, your bed made up while you are out, and isolation from other travellers, this is not the B&B for you. It never was. Bibies is a relaxed, friendly, clean, quiet at night, and safe lodging for do-it-yourselfers, and which is run by a lady with a heart of gold. It remains good value for what it offers. And yes you share a bathroom, a shower, and a kitchenette. That is part of its charm.

There was no evidence of mice (which are ubiquitous in Amsterdam), my I-pad ran perfectly on the high speed wifi provided, and there were no offensive odors (unless I made them). Yes guests leave unused items in the fridge. I left a couple of beers. Better to "pay it forward" than to waste/discard such items.

Bibies offers a great location from which to explore central Amsterdam. It sits among dozens of restaurants and shops that beg to be enjoyed. You get a true feel for what it must be like to live there. It is a mis-service to report a "terrible experience" when that is wholly due to unmet expectations that were not created by the lodging. I would stay at Bibies again.

D and J Campbell (Vancouver - June 29/12)

Room Tip: always check the website to make sure you know you are going to be sharing facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrovo, Bulgaria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We are international couple. We are bohemian, love travelling, fine dining, wines and art.
Our stay in Amsterdam was once again gorgeous! We have been to bibies BB 2 times and it is always so nice, cozy, romantic. The apartment and our room were bright and quite, clean and prepared with love. Isn't it the most important thing? Not posh, but lovely!
The location is great for all kind of activities, for all kind of people. Great neighborhood with nice cafe's and restaurants around.
We had all we need there for a wonderful vacation. We felt like home. Not only because of the place itself but also because of the owner. Awesome person, who gave us good tips for side seeings, local activities, etc. She was always so friendly and helpful! She put so much energy and love to make us feel good!
The food was fresh and all that we need. The kitchen was clean and fully equipped.
Highly, highly recommended!!!!!

Thanks Bibi,

we appreciate! We coming back ::)

Daniela and Hristo

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The two rooms have a perfect size. Bibi provides you with everything you need (from the hairdryer to the breakfast). It is a perfect place which can be reached with two metro lines (5 minutes) and by food from the city center (20min). Moreover the district de Pijp is full of trendy restaurants and bars which I recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

The most dirty place that i have been in my life. It ruined my first 3 days in Amsterdam until we moved out from there. How can I start? This woman welcome us with a dirty room, she just changed the cover sheets in front of us, that's all! gave us 2 little towels. She didn't mention that we would share the shower and toilet (which smells like hell, since no one cleaning there) with another 3 girls in the other room, no shampoo or soap at all, and of course we almost had to beg for toilet paper.. with some nerves she dared to say that we could find "the breakfast" in the little cooler she had in the kitchen "self-service" and the bread in the microwave because of "the mice", of course "the breakfast" is shared too like roomates with strangers, "the breakfast" consisted in all leftovers from the other people before us, a bag of ham, a half piece of kraft cheese, 4 eggs anyone wanted to cook, and a butter with bread crumbs and finger marks, what a joke! aah the internet offered is from the 80's slow grianding experience that make you beg for wireless. The only positive is the location, that's it! This should be in the category of Hostels! this is not close to a Bed and Breakfast whatsover!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uzbekistan, Surkhondaryo, Uzbekistan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I have been to bibies BB now 3 times. One time we stayed in the same room, the other time is a little smaller room, but still very decent.
The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. The area we just love. We think its the most lively area in Amsterdam, between dozens of restaurants and many musea.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bibies BB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bibies BB

Address: Frans Halsstraat 30-1, 1072 BS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bibies Bed & Breakfast is situated in the sparkling heart of De Pijp neighborhood, at Frans Halsstraat number 30-1, where you will find a restful accommodation. De Pijp is also called the Latin Quarter of the North. The neighborhood is known worldwide for its lively streets, shops, restaurants, cafes, terraces and authentic Amsterdam charm. All this makes this neighborhood a favourite spot for Amsterdammers and tourists alike. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bibies BB, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.