We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect birthday treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greetje

Greetje
Peperstraat 23, 1011 TJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
+31 20 7797450
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #210 of 2,589 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $32 - $70
Cuisines: Dutch, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Binnenstad
Description: A great restaurant in Amsterdam for experiencing delicious Dutch food in a friendly and cosy atmosphere.Quote from the New York Times T-Magazine December 21st, 2010:"I finally found a real taste of Holland. And it was so good, I’ve been back several times since. Located in the leafy district surrounding the Montelbaanse Tower, one of the prettiest parts of the city, this cozy dining room with wood-plank floors, bare wooden tables and old-fashioned wallpaper, is run by René Loven, who named it after his mother, an apparently gifted home cook whose smiling face appears on the cover of the menu. The place is invariably packed with a jolly crowd of locals sating themselves on beautifully cooked versions of the comfort food they loved to eat as children".Quote from the Washington Post article May 11th, 2008: "Named for the owner's mother, this cozy restaurant may be the best example of contemporary Dutch cooking outside a home. Here's the place to try tiny, tender local shrimp; delicate slices of Dutch lamb dressed up with chive-flecked potato salad; lightly smoked eel with herbed mayonnaise; and the tasty North Sea fish known as tub gurnard."
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Perfect birthday treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We booked online for this restaurant for my husband's 70th birthday meal as part of our stay in Amsterdam. We wanted a restaurant known for serving Dutch cuisine and this was recommended by Tripadvisor. We had a lovely meal in beautiful surroundings with a view over a canal - even the torrential rain could not spoil it for us. The menu was not too extensive and catered for all tastes, and was served in a timely fashion. I had casually mentioned that it was my husband's birthday as we were shown to our table, and the waiting staff appeared at the appropriate time with not only our dessert but a sparkling candle firework! They then proceeded to serenade him in perfect English! A memorable night in a lovely venue with faultless food, wine and company.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    127
    55
    23
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Little Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Located down a small street off a canal, very delicious Dutch food in an old warehouse. Service was very good and inviting. The waitress introduced my husband to Genevier - the original 'gin' before the English diluted it - served in a shot glass without tonic. Highly recommend visiting this resturant and make sure you have reservations

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volgograd, Volgograd, Russia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurant I have been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We wanted to try some traditional Dutch food but there was none in the normal tourist route, so we did some research and found out about this restaurant. It was a little hard to find as it is out from the usual route and after taking the tram, requires a little walking to get to. The restaurant doesn't have a big sign which makes it a little hard to find. But once there, the food was simply excellent, service was warm and friendly too. Very impressed with the taste,- and quality of the food. In my opinion it is the best traditional Dutch restaurant in Amsterdam, and the prices are reasonable. I would def love to return again if given the chance.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A special night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

I spotted this restaurant while walking past 2 years ago but didn't have time to visit before returning to London. This time I booked it in advance and had an absolute treat of a night.
The staff are attentive but friendly, not stuffy. The room is pleasant, loos good. But what of the food? It was a delight. Really exciting presentation and intense flavours.
My chicken starter looked like orange macaroons and tasted of beautifully herbed soft meat covered with a thin layer of carrot jelly. My beef stew was fruity and deep and the accompanying kale and potato mash burst with "green" flavours. Pudding was a delicate bavarois. In addition we'd had an amuse bouche from the chef of stunning beef tartare.
With a champagne cocktail each and good bottle of wine, plus coffee (served with sweets) the 3-course meal for 2 cost less than £70 each - very good value especially compared to the cost of a similar quality experience in London. A firm favourite for all my future stays in Amsterdam.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nouvelle Cuisine Pays Bas ?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Positives: pleasant and quiet location a fair distance from the hectic central area. Comfortable Dutch interior/decor. Staff friendly and attentive throughout. Food tasty. Negatives: Relatively expensive even by Amsterdam standards. Worst of all had assumed that a restaurant marketed as offering traditional Dutch food would deliver traditional Dutch portions - big mistake. Minimalist to say the least. As a result the whole experience felt like an expensive rip off - this may not have been intentional. It may simply have been some sort of attempt at "Nouvelle Cuisine". Really enjoyed the bag of chips which I bought on the way back to the hotel - cheap,well prepared and very filling.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greetje also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Greetje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greetje, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.