We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greetje

Greetje
Peperstraat 23, 1011 TJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
+31 20 7797450
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #223 of 2,463 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $33 - $72
Cuisines: Dutch, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Binnenstad
Description: A great restaurant in Amsterdam for experiencing delicious Dutch food in a friendly and cosy atmosphere.Quote from the New York Times T-Magazine December 21st, 2010:"I finally found a real taste of Holland. And it was so good, I’ve been back several times since. Located in the leafy district surrounding the Montelbaanse Tower, one of the prettiest parts of the city, this cozy dining room with wood-plank floors, bare wooden tables and old-fashioned wallpaper, is run by René Loven, who named it after his mother, an apparently gifted home cook whose smiling face appears on the cover of the menu. The place is invariably packed with a jolly crowd of locals sating themselves on beautifully cooked versions of the comfort food they loved to eat as children".Quote from the Washington Post article May 11th, 2008: "Named for the owner's mother, this cozy restaurant may be the best example of contemporary Dutch cooking outside a home. Here's the place to try tiny, tender local shrimp; delicate slices of Dutch lamb dressed up with chive-flecked potato salad; lightly smoked eel with herbed mayonnaise; and the tasty North Sea fish known as tub gurnard."
Uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Visited this restauant at the recommendation of our hotel reception and it was one of the best meals we have had in our life!

We had the mixed starter for two a fantastic way to sample Dutch home cooking!

Main courses duck and the pork where equally as fabulous!

Service from start to finish was excellent - ingreients explained perfectly, the two waiters a real credit to the restaurant.

Would visit again in a heartbeat. Exquisite.

08/12/2013

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    129
    56
    24
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“pleasant taste of dutch home-cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

very comfortable restaurant with friendly waitstaff. fair number of vegetarian options, and while we weren't astounded, the meal was uniformly enjoyable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dutch fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

A recommendation from our hotel who kindly booked a table for us. Glad they did or we would not have got one. Really popular place serving traditional Dutch fare. Friendly service in a relaxing atmosphere. Crème brulee delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“A great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Chose this restaurant after seeing reviews on Tripadvisor and we weren't disappointed. Not cheap but the food was excellent, the service fantastic and the ambience great. Luckily within walking distance of the houseboat we were staying in.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This restaurant has a nice decoration and the service was excellent. However food wasn't extraordinary and I can easily say that you can have the same type of food in any average restaurant. If you are willing to pay up to 30 Euro to an average food, this restaurant will disappoint you because you will be paying 60 Euro instead! The price quality ratio is very low and I don't recommend to anyone with a limited budget for an average food! There are way better restaurants out there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greetje also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Greetje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greetje, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.