We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Photos just don't do it justice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Electric Ladyland - the First Museum of Fluorescent Art

Electric Ladyland - the First Museum of Fluorescent Art
Tweede Leliedwarsstraat 5, 015 TB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
0031 020 4203776
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #129 of 554 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Photos just don't do it justice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 NEW

I visited the Electric Ladyland last November after looking hard for things to do in Amsterdam that I may have missed over the years.

The museum is very small, but very interesting and eye-catching. The main feature of the museum is an interactive piece of fluorescent art that you can step into and explore. There are several interesting and trippy things to find, my favourite of which was the mirrors at the back corner.

Aside from the main piece, there are display cabinets containing hundreds of common and not-so-common objects that react differently when exposed to different kinds of UV light.

This was all very interesting and awesome to see by itself, but what really made my experience at Electric Ladyland special was the personal tour I was given by the museum owner. Various factors (off-peak season, outside the center, arriving early) meant that I was the only person at the museum when I visited, so the owner took plenty of time to explain the displays and how everything works, which was fascinating to learn and made the museum so much more interesting. He's obviously very enthusiastic about his work and it shows.

Whilst the museum is very small, it's one of the most interesting and unique museums I've ever visited, and for that alone I'd highly recommend Electric Ladyland to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    32
    14
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“One of the Most Incredible Experience of My Life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

Attention Dead Heads and those of a similar mindset: A trip to Electric Ladyland is absolutely not to be missed.

Look around upstairs, interact with some of the stunning works of art still in progress, and then don slippers and climb down into the main exhibit of the museum. An open mind is recommended — Nick Paladino, the brilliant guide, will take you on an exploration of the wonders of fluorescence, and teach you that you can find beauty absolutely anywhere - from a basement in New Jersey to a mountain in India.

Sometimes — quite literally — you can get shown the light in the strangest of places if you look at it right.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Science, geology or a psychadelic experience? Take it as you will!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

Yes it's hard to find, yes you may may to wait outside for 10 minutes while the previous tour concludes, yes the stairs are unbelievably steep, but honestly this place is well worth a visit.

If you are interested in the science of fluorescence or in geology there is lots to interest you here. If you want a trippy experience - this place delivers without the ingestion of a single chemical. If you just want to ooh and aah as seemingly ordinary rocks light up in lots of pretty colours in the dark then it is well worth the five euro entrance fee. A great photo opportunity too!

A unique experience with a very enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide (English speaking), Buy the handout for two euros - it helps in understanding how fluorescence works.

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Cool and unusual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

I have never visited anything like it.
First it was hard to find.
Second it is small and cramped.
Third you need climbing gear to get down to the bssement.
Fourth it is a little weird in the basement.
Fifth the host was really informative and enthusiastic.
Sixth it displayed yet another wonder of nature.

Not for everyone or the infirm, but I realky enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't read any reviews, go there, then read”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

This place is an amazing place, and if you approach it in the right frame of mind, and have a good sense of humour, and can enjoy the qwerky things in life, then this is for you.
A certain sophistication is required to take this in the spirit it will best be enjoyed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Electric Ladyland - the First Museum of Fluorescent Art also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Electric Ladyland - the First Museum of Fluorescent Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Electric Ladyland - the First Museum of Fluorescent Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.