We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Burger” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cau

Cau
Damstraat 5 | 1012JL, 1012 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))
+31 20 623-9632
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #126 of 3,030 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $39 - $156
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Argentinean, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
142 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good Burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stopped here for an early dinner on a Sunday evening and we were immediately seated. I had the bacon and cheese burger (14.75 euro) and my wife had the lomito sandwich (11.50 euro). The burger was cooked perfectly and my wife really liked the sandwich. In fact, she asked for the recipe for the red onion marmalade topping on the sandwich and was given it. The dishes were not inexpensive, but were reasonable in comparison to other restaurants we visited in Amsterdam. A ten percent gratuity was included in the bill. With a bottle of wine, the total bill was 54.95 euro; not too bad for a nice dinner in Amsterdam. Service was prompt and friendly. There is outdoor seating. The restaurant is not fancy, so it is comfortable for tourists who are roaming the city in casual wear.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SOCIAWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Perfect to include in Your citytrip, i always do so when staying at the krasnapolsky hotel just around the corner. Restaurant might be crowdy and expensive but you need to try this one! Keep up the good work :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EvyE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Steak House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We went here with my son. Steak was very good, service was so good. We weren't wait more. Very near the City Center. Overall was excellent...
I can't say disliking about Steak House and Location.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank neddov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stumbled upon this restaurant and chose it because it looked modern. Food was great and atmosphere is excellent! You won't go wrong eating here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I am sure the steak is good but Eat the Burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

A lunch stop - it just look good on passing. - We asked for our burgers rare and If you like stake tartar just blackened on the outside you will love this. We did and rate this as possibly the best burger we have ever had.
Just off the Dam, Atmosphere is modern and buzzy - When considering the prices, which are not excessive, remember this is not supermarket mince.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cau also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing