We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Monkey

Save Saved
You added Flying Monkey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flying Monkey
Prins Hendrikkade 102, Amsterdam 1011AH, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 171 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Coventry
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Very good location situated about 10 mins walk from the main station. It is also very close to all the hustle and bustle of the main centre of Amsterdam. All trams then run from the station central so this is good for exploring the city.

The Apartment: The Apartment we had was on the first floor (the stairs were very steep) though this is how stairs are in Holland so this is fine.leading into the room there is 2 beds near the kitchen area and a pull out bed in the sitting area overlooking the library next to the main station.

Good state of repair few lights broken and TV didn't work (button missing or remote) unless I just didn't dee the remote. Though these were minor and Miya did put in some lamps that were ideal. read the information page for new residents it made me chuckle. I will stay here again on my next trip to Amsterdam, I will recommend this to friends

Room Tip: nearest the 1st floor is the best so you don't need to climb too many stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Location, location, location, smoking friendly and blah-blah-blah, you've already read all this stuff). Many thanks to Maya for hospitality!
p.s. staircase was wonderful))

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

It was a good hotel for a short stay in Amsterdam, the staircase is indeed not for cowards. The receipt by maya is also very good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Great position in Amsterdam.
Near station, in heart of the city, but at the same time secluded enough to feel like it was your own place!
Maya (owner) made us feel relaxed and welcome... Apartments are the way to go in Amsterdam and prob every city I visit from now on!
Would I go again? Of course!! I will be back...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Great apartment for having a weekend away with the lads, would highly recommend it to friends, one of the best places I have stayed in Amsterdam being
My 6th trip there, only downside is the stairs are something else not for the faint hearted

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I stayed in this apartment for 5 days in March and I really couldn't have asked for more. It is a great apartment for the price, we couldn't fault it. It's in a perfect location in Amstedam right next to central station with loads of coffee shops on the doorstep. I think the best thing about this apartment is Maya the manager who couldn't have done more to help us and was really friendly. I will definately be returning to this apartment in the near future, I can only advise other potential travellers that this is a great apartment that is fully equipped with everything you will need for your stay. Thanks again Maya for all of your help and hospitality and we will see you again soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Flying Monkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Monkey

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 102, Amsterdam 1011AH, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 171 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smoker-friendly, self-catering studio apartments within a 7 minutes walk from Amsterdam Central train station. Furnished studio apartment (2 room) with kitchen, shower/toilet, single beds, TV, DVD with DVDs, free wifi, washing machine. Very narrow, steep stairs may not be suitable for the elderly or people with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Flying Monkey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying Monkey Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Monkey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.