We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cornelisz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cornelisz to your Saves list
Hotel Cornelisz
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PC Hooftstraat 24-28, 1017 BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Robertramon) (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #206 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Milwaukee, WI
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The bus 197 from teh airport drops you off at the Rijksmuseum which is 2 blocks away from hotel, which makes it very easy to find. This area has cleaner hotel option (beware of bedbugs closer to the city center). Everything in the city is within 15 minutes walking distance from hotel. The hotel has elevator, the room are typical small rooms (all rooms are small in this city) that have tv, wifi, showers, towels and soap. Breakfasst was a bit pricey so we opted to go to cafe instead. there is a supermarket behind Van gogh musuem (5 minute walk). I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    68
    39
    29
    10
See reviews for
27
62
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

easy walk to downtown, restaurant and cruise tour less then 100m away. next to busy street but not too noisy. rooms very small, but bed confortable. staff very friendly. small hotel, like 20 rooms. breakfast good. we liked it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

As others have highlighted already location is good but that's about it. This was one of the smallest rooms I have ever seen in my life. Paid extra for a double room for single occupancy and got a single room with a double bed. Had no space to put my bags or move around the room. Very old and in dire need for renovation. Telephone was under the bed as there was nowhere else to put it. Bathroom was actually a wet room. Can't fault housekeeping as room was clean but overall horrific.

Staff was really friendly and helpful and breakfast was decent. I stayed during a stag do so all I really needed was a bed to sleep on so if you're on a similar trip give it a chance but I would never recommend it for couples or in general more than one person. Some of the rooms were being renovated at the time so perhaps things have improved since February 2014.

Room Tip: If you want space (even just a little bit) do not book double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

If you want an amazing location for your hotel, this is it. Its very close to all the tourist attractions and less than a mile walk to thebfarthest part of the city (Central station area). It is surrounded my tons of restaurants, and is part of the richest street in Amsterdam (all high end stores). From the airport you tske Bus 197 and grt off st the Rijksmuseum stop, exit the bus to thr left, and the hotel is one block up on your right. VERY easy. Bus cost is 5 Euros. At the hotel I got a single room which consisted of a full size comfortable bed, desk, tv, and shower/toilet. It isnabsmall space but its all you need. The shower does not have a tub or door, so water does grt all over one side of the bathroom floor. The hallway gets a little noisy due to thin walls but very wuiet suring sleeping hours. I would sefinitely stay here again on a return trip to Amsterdam.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Munich, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Hotel Cornelisz was the perfect place to make the most of the 2 days I had to myself while on a business trip to Amsterdam: Rijksmuseum, restaurants and historic canals are all within walking distance. I prefer biking and rented a hotel bike, which would have been perfect had temperatures not dropped from 24 to 10 degrees Celsius complete with rain, snow and stormy winds. But that's really no problem in the cultural capital of the Netherlands. If you don't know where to start, ask the very cheerful and accommodating staff. If you're wet and cold, you might be lucky to get some homemade minestrone. The rooms? Of course they are not meant for Viennese waltzes. But you have the charm and convenience of old Amsterdam at your doorstep, a functioning lift to get you to the top floors, a nice lounge to work in-- and exceptionally friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

This hotel exceeded my expectations. It is located in one of the most beautiful quiet area of the city and the street itself is very nice. Rooms are spacious and bathroom recently renovated. Some details still show the previous hotel style and age, still, renovation added some style and taste. Breakfast is downstairs, no elevator and a bit overpriced (cheaper if booked on arrival). Staff is available, free wifi. On the whole a good choice, will return soon.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The first thing to say about this hotel is that it used to be called the RobertRamon, and on all our documents and a very recent email from the hotel, that is the only name used. It was, therefore, a little difficult locating the hotel now known as the Cornelisz! The name change should have been made clear much sooner.

The location of the hotel is superb. It is very close to the Rijks and Van Gogh museums, to the lovely Vondelpark and to lots of very good restaurants. The 197 bus from the airport stops about four minutes walk from the hotel. There are lots of very interesting routes to walk right into the heart of Amsterdam – however, all the streets in this part of Amsterdam are worth exploring!

All the staff in the hotel we found to be very helpful and very friendly (they are, after all, Dutch!). The breakfast was reasonable value and it did save time for sight-seeing to eat this meal at the hotel. We had two room; both were small, rather dark but adequate. There is little point in visiting Amsterdam if you want to spend much time in the bedroom. A fan was provided in both rooms which cooled the rooms on the one occasion when the temperature rose above cool.

There is certainly a problem with the drains in the toilet/bathroom. If the wash-basin was full or the taps were turned full on, water came up through the drain in the floor. The maintenance person couldn’t find a problem with the system and we managed to avoid getting our wet feet by controlling how much water went into the wash-basin.

This is an expensive part of Amsterdam and therefore I would rate this place as offering good value for money; but there are plenty of alternatives and on our next visit we will probably look at all the options. I have given a four star which I think is probably a little generous!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cornelisz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cornelisz

Address: PC Hooftstraat 24-28, 1017 BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Robertramon)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cornelisz 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cornelisz (former Hotel ROBERTRAMON) will enhance your city experience by staying at our central location. Situated on the most exclusive shopping street of the Netherlands, the P.C Hooftstraat, where all the top designers of the world have their exclusive shops. Only a few steps away from the hotel you'll find the famous museums from Amsterdam, the Concert House, the diamond exhibition and the house of bols. For something to eat and drink you can visit the nearby leidse square, Rembrandts square or the canal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cornelisz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robertramon Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cornelisz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.