We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, excellent location and petite marmite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cornelisz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cornelisz to your Saves list
Hotel Cornelisz
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PC Hooftstraat 24-28, 1017 BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Robertramon) (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #208 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Munich, Germany
1 review
“Friendly staff, excellent location and petite marmite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Hotel Cornelisz was the perfect place to make the most of the 2 days I had to myself while on a business trip to Amsterdam: Rijksmuseum, restaurants and historic canals are all within walking distance. I prefer biking and rented a hotel bike, which would have been perfect had temperatures not dropped from 24 to 10 degrees Celsius complete with rain, snow and stormy winds. But that's really no problem in the cultural capital of the Netherlands. If you don't know where to start, ask the very cheerful and accommodating staff. If you're wet and cold, you might be lucky to get some homemade minestrone. The rooms? Of course they are not meant for Viennese waltzes. But you have the charm and convenience of old Amsterdam at your doorstep, a functioning lift to get you to the top floors, a nice lounge to work in-- and exceptionally friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    65
    37
    29
    10
See reviews for
26
58
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

This hotel exceeded my expectations. It is located in one of the most beautiful quiet area of the city and the street itself is very nice. Rooms are spacious and bathroom recently renovated. Some details still show the previous hotel style and age, still, renovation added some style and taste. Breakfast is downstairs, no elevator and a bit overpriced (cheaper if booked on arrival). Staff is available, free wifi. On the whole a good choice, will return soon.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The first thing to say about this hotel is that it used to be called the RobertRamon, and on all our documents and a very recent email from the hotel, that is the only name used. It was, therefore, a little difficult locating the hotel now known as the Cornelisz! The name change should have been made clear much sooner.

The location of the hotel is superb. It is very close to the Rijks and Van Gogh museums, to the lovely Vondelpark and to lots of very good restaurants. The 197 bus from the airport stops about four minutes walk from the hotel. There are lots of very interesting routes to walk right into the heart of Amsterdam – however, all the streets in this part of Amsterdam are worth exploring!

All the staff in the hotel we found to be very helpful and very friendly (they are, after all, Dutch!). The breakfast was reasonable value and it did save time for sight-seeing to eat this meal at the hotel. We had two room; both were small, rather dark but adequate. There is little point in visiting Amsterdam if you want to spend much time in the bedroom. A fan was provided in both rooms which cooled the rooms on the one occasion when the temperature rose above cool.

There is certainly a problem with the drains in the toilet/bathroom. If the wash-basin was full or the taps were turned full on, water came up through the drain in the floor. The maintenance person couldn’t find a problem with the system and we managed to avoid getting our wet feet by controlling how much water went into the wash-basin.

This is an expensive part of Amsterdam and therefore I would rate this place as offering good value for money; but there are plenty of alternatives and on our next visit we will probably look at all the options. I have given a four star which I think is probably a little generous!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Unfortunately seemed like I was onto a winner, paid 50 euros a night and the location was fabulous, but that's about it. The room was so stuffy and small(although I expected it to be small), it was dark and some of the lights didn't work. The alarm went off about twice during my stay...I mean really? Staff were hit and miss, the lady when we arrived was super and very helpful, but that is all. Just not worth it, as for the showers they have serious drain issues(as highlighted in a few other reviews). It has had a refurb apparently, I couldn't tell though... I can't say I will stay again as there are better hotels....

Room Tip: Don't choose a small double as I think small is an understatement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here for 2 nights and certenly it must be one of the worst hotels we have ever been!
The photos on the website are lovely but the reality is other.
Room was very very small, and extremely hot (so if you like to be in a sauna you will be ok), the room itself looked 150years old with holes on the walls, the toilet looked ok but as soon as I had a shower water starts going out the door to the room as there nothing separating it.
We were on the 4th floor, the elevate is so slow that if you use the stairs you get there first (we tried)
The fire alarm went of as soon as we felt a sleep (around 23:30) then it went off again at 6 in the morning where my partner almost had a heart attack thinking there really was a fire..no apologies from anyone about it!
Then we have the unhelpful staff, we were on the rush to get to the airport and asked for a taxi as we were in extreme rush, luckly another taxi showed up and was willing to rush us there when the staff member comes outside and has a "fight" asking us to leave that taxi because that's not what he called and we "must wait" for the other taxi..even though he knew that we were in extreme rush!
Please make yourself a favour and for the same money stay in any other hotel.
I do not advice anyone to stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Easy transfer from the airport - 5 euros each way on the 197 bus (every 15 minutes) which stops just round the corner. The hotel is next to the Rijksmuseum and round the corner from the Van Gogh. The room was good value for this expensive area. It was small but OK for a 2 night stay. The shower drain could be better but the bathroom floor dries in the time taken for eating breakfast. At 12.50 euros the breakfast is not cheap but the coffee and orange juice are good, as is the choice of buffet. I recommend 2 eating places and 2 other cultural places elsewhere in Tripadvisor.

Room Tip: We had 503 on the top floor. There's a lift. It was a very small double on the front. No traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Decent location, very close to downtown. Rooms are very limited in space though. Cheap. Shower is not sepparated from the bathroom, water drain doesnt work well so after taking a shower your wet floor is going to be a problem.

Room Tip: Cheap, and close to downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cornelisz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cornelisz

Address: PC Hooftstraat 24-28, 1017 BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Robertramon)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cornelisz 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cornelisz (former Hotel ROBERTRAMON) will enhance your city experience by staying at our central location. Situated on the most exclusive shopping street of the Netherlands, the P.C Hooftstraat, where all the top designers of the world have their exclusive shops. Only a few steps away from the hotel you'll find the famous museums from Amsterdam, the Concert House, the diamond exhibition and the house of bols. For something to eat and drink you can visit the nearby leidse square, Rembrandts square or the canal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cornelisz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robertramon Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cornelisz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.