We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are very small” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cornelisz

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cornelisz to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cornelisz
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PC Hooftstraat 24-28, 1017 BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Robertramon) (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #208 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rooms are very small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Decent location, very close to downtown. Rooms are very limited in space though. Cheap. Shower is not sepparated from the bathroom, water drain doesnt work well so after taking a shower your wet floor is going to be a problem.

Room Tip: Cheap, and close to downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    61
    32
    26
    9
See reviews for
22
52
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Very conveniently located budget hotel near Reijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum, but quite far from Amsterdam Cetraal. I stayed here for one night and met two staff and both of them were really helpful and friendly. Room wad quite small but you may feel cozy because of well done design. I definitely stay here when I visit next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, Essex
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

With a bus-stop for the No.197 to Schipol Airport (30 mins.) just outside, and the Leidseplein a stroll away the hotel is conveniently located for those wishing a city break and easy accessibility. Our double room was perfectly adequate in size and facilities, with comfortable beds and heating. Like many Amsterdam hotels, the stairs are steep but not an issue with a lift, although access to the basement dining area was by widened stairs only. Buffet breakfast included a range of fresh breads, cold meats, pastries, fruits, cereals etc. along with a variety of juices and hot drinks that if you wished could set you up for the day. Reception staff are friendly, helpful and efficient.
A wide variety of restaurants compete for business in the Leidesplein area and both quality and quantity of portions were a pleasant surprise.
Amsterdam is a city for strolling although beware of silent cyclist assassins who appear to take precedence over vehicles and pedestrians alike. Central Station could be walked in 25-30 minutes and both Leiden and Haarlem proved rewarding destinations to visit with regular train connections.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugo, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Very good location.
Double rooms are very small.
Not enough light in the rooms, its difficult to see anything.
Just one bulb in the bathroom, which hasnt got a shower plate, so the whole bathroom floods when you shower, thats inevitable. The bathroom is quite lame actually.
The wardrobe just a small unlit cupboard on the wall.
Just one night stand (impossible to fit two) and you keep bumping into it, because there aint any space, so narrow is the chamber.
The windows dont close properly so wind comes in, although heating is all right.
Free wifi keeps disconnecting.
Breakfast is expensive, 12€ per person and theres nothing special.
Personal is correct, though not super friendly.
Id try my luck with a different hotel if i ever came again, though ill pick that same area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Just got back from a long weekend in Amsterdam, stayed at the RobertRamon; staff we're very friendly and helpful, happy to help with directions and recommending places to go and see and eat. We stayed in room 412 which was a triple and a decent size, lovely décor we had a bathroom with a nice bath and shower - good size. The rooms aren't massive but still good enough for a short stay; they have a TV, Tea making facilities and a hairdryer, built in safe. My only bad point about the room is that it was very dark; 2 of our side lights didn't work and the main light was very dim; okay during the day but quite awkward to get ready in - have to go to the bathroom. Maids came daily it was always very clean - they have a lobby on floor 1 with a seating area and a vending machine and the restaurant is in the basement; we never ate there but it looked okay just quite expensive. Always worth wondering into town and getting something cheaper.

Get bus 197 from the airport to Hobermastraat it stops practically right outside the hotel and it's near the big I Amsterdam letters with a supermarket round the corner. Situated 5 minutes away from the main Bulldog in a very good location only a 25 minute walk to Dam Square ..If you want to get a taxi at night from central station it cost less than €10 but I'd take the hotel map out because taxi drivers didn't always know it.

We booked pretty last minute and got a really good deal only £110 each for 4 nights which was brilliant for such good accommadtion.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We searched for a while to find a good deal in advance and got a very good deal of around £60 per night for a double. On arrival we found the staff smiling and full of help and advice. The hotel was clean and on entering the room it was very clean and tidy with tea, coffee, TV, and good size bathroom (great shower). The room was very small, but we were just after a good nights sleep in a good location and this hotel fits that bill brilliantly. The bed was very comfortable and you are right next to the Rijksmuseum you can walk anywhere and see it all. Good restaurants and bars very close by and even a walk all the way through town to the Central Station only takes about half an hour and you fill that walk with looking at all this sights on the way through. Having stayed in a number of places in the Dam, I have to say I thought this was great value for money. Book directly with the hotel for a better deal on room and breakfast. We ended up not buying breakfast but it looked ok. It was €12 if you paid on arrival. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Get bus 197 from airport and get left off at museum area. About a 20min journey. The hotel is about a 5min walk from bus stop.
Hotel entrance was impressive and general hotel deco is modern and fresh. Rooms are average size, fresh, clean and modern.
Never got breakfast at hotel so can't comment on that.
Didn't have much interaction with staff, but when I did they were friendly and willing to help.
Would def recommend this hotel and I will be staying here when I come back.

Amsterdam tram system can be can fusing if you have never came here so--->Walk around the corner near the blue boat company and cross over bridge near Hard Rock cafe-you will see a giant cress board-go through tunnell and this will bring you to tram area on your left. To get in and out of town to Dam square area- Get tram 1, 2, or 5. €7.50 for 24hs. Apparently you can get 48hr or more for an cheeper price overall. To get back to hotel area- where you got left off in Dam walk up a bit and get same tram number back.

Also forgot to mention it was a really good price for Hotel as Amsterdam is generally overpriced!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cornelisz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cornelisz

Address: PC Hooftstraat 24-28, 1017 BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Robertramon)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cornelisz 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cornelisz (former Hotel ROBERTRAMON) will enhance your city experience by staying at our central location. Situated on the most exclusive shopping street of the Netherlands, the P.C Hooftstraat, where all the top designers of the world have their exclusive shops. Only a few steps away from the hotel you'll find the famous museums from Amsterdam, the Concert House, the diamond exhibition and the house of bols. For something to eat and drink you can visit the nearby leidse square, Rembrandts square or the canal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Cornelisz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robertramon Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cornelisz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.