We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, clean room and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cornelisz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Cornelisz to your Saves list
Hotel Cornelisz
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PC Hooftstraat 24-28, 1017 BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Robertramon) (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #210 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Perfect location, clean room and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location near Van Gogh museum and Rijksmuseum, with the canal bus stop (hop on and off service) just a few minutes away. Bus from the airport also stops very close to the hotel (so I didnt have to take the train and then make a transfer).

Staff was friendly and the room was clean. The map I got from the hotel was better than the one I got from the airport. Amsterdam hotels tend to be pricy, so this is pretty good value for money (esp with discounts from travel booking engines). This hotel makes for a great place to use as a base to tour the city.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    63
    36
    28
    9
See reviews for
24
54
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I am a reluctant reviewer of the hotel because the staff was incredibly gracious and helpful. And the location was very close to everything we wanted to see including the Rijks Museum. The weekend we were there there was a big conference in Amsterdam. We paid an outrageous sum for what amounted to a large closet. The front desk person actually apologized for the rate we were being charged when we checked in! The bathroom had a floor drain and an open shower, so the room became the shower when in use. We had a larger bath in our cabin on board ship during a cruise subsequent to our stay there. The double bed was jammed against the wall, which meant one of us had to disturb the other one if we got up during the night.
I cannot recommend the hotel, in spite of the lovely staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrow,london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here with mum for 1 night in June. I was scared after the bad reviews but we were very happy with everything, Staff very polite and helpful. Maybe just lucky to get a good room. Rooms not big but why do you need big room for only sleeping. The bed was so comfortable didn't want to wake up in the morning. The bathroom needs updating but again we didn't stay in the room as we came to see Amsterdam and not to stay in the room. Flat screen TV on the wall. Few English channels. Would recommend for a short stay to anyone as we were happy there. Didn't get breakfast as too expensive I think when full of restaurants much cheaper nearby. Trams, buses 2 minutes walk.
Would go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

2 booked a doubel room nr 514
and visit amsterdam, we had no time to look for an other hotel
the room was 3.00 x 2.50 m with a doubelbed
we payed € 200,- for 1 night
a great disapointed voor us
the room was ferry noisy

Room Tip: dont take room 514
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were in Amsterdam for a conference and booked 2 nights at one hotel but the 3rd night was booked solid so we booked the RobertRamon for the final night. We arrived to check in and were told that they had no record of our booking and no room for us, despite a confirmed booking from booking.com and their attitude was one of sheer apathy and ignorance, they actually made us feel like we were being awkward for not just going away and sucking it up as our problem.

They refused to accommodate us, even though other bookings hadn't yet checked in and refused to find us alternative accommodation in Amsterdam, as they should do via Booking.com T&C's, I rang booking.com to sort this and they were very helpful and professional.

Ironically it was Orange day weekend and every hotel that had vacancies was now trying to charge crazy money, I looked around for alternatives in case they couldn't sort it a 3 star was trying to get over €1,000 for a night, there were only 6 hotels in Amsterdam centre with vacancies and finally the RobertRamon said they'd put us up in a hotel, YAY.. well not quite, it was the Airport hotel and they would pay for a taxi out there only, so to visit the centre we would have to then pay taxi fares or get the train in.. the reason we booked a hotel in the centre was to be in IN the centre, not travelling back and forth.

We refused this hotel and told then what booking.com had told us - they must accomodate us in a hotel of at least equal quality in a location as close as possible to them - I showed them that there was one a few street away but it was around 3 times the price but the same star rating and they just fobbed us off and said the airport hotel was the only option - take it or leave it - so we left it and went and booked another in the centre at considerably more expense per night.

When we arrived there it was a bait and switch operation that showed one hotel online but had us go to a booking office, where we were then pushed towards the 'only option' of a brand new hotel, not yet finished in the centre, I was too tired to argue so we took it, after walking 10 minutes with luggage to get there had to then pay another €60 to check out late so as to not have to carry all our luggage around in the day as they had no lockable room to leave luggage.

Booking.com refunded the extra expense YAY, but not the extra €60 fees we ended up paying or the taxi ride to the new hotel.

It was obvious from how the staff were behaving that the RobertRamon had a booking for us but had probably had a multiple night booking so kicked us to the curb and left us hanging.

The hotel RobertRamon basically screwed up our last full day in Amsterdam by wasting around 3 hours, then ending up in an unfinished hotel with no amenities because the only other choice was a hotel miles out of Amsterdam.

Would NEVER use them again, they didn't care in the slightest!

Room Tip: Find a different hotel with management that actually cares about guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

warm welcome at the reception but my single room without a view was very narrow. Because of ventilation system outside it, the room was noisy all the time as if i slept on a cargo ship. Add to it foul smells, noisy conversations on the small terrasse underneath at 4 a.m. :all this makes your slumber a nightmare.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is the 3rd time I have stayed at the Hotel RobertRamon and I have to say I am just as impressed as my last review. This will not be my last stay at this hotel.

*** Staff very friendly - previous reviews have said staff are rude. I have stayed here 3 times now and I have never once experienced anything negative. Staff are very polite. Even when being spoken to like dirt from some tourists they have remained calm and polite.

*** Staff helped us find a certain shop we wanted to visit to see family (workplace) by googling this for us and working out where this was on the map, and which trams to take.

*** Bedrooms were brighter on the 5th floor. We had rooms 503 and 504 decorated with a lighter blue wallpaper which made the rooms brighter than some on other floors which are a darker brown colour.

*** Some of the rooms are a little dishevelled and could maybe do with a bit of a re-fresh. For example, in our 2 rooms, some of the furniture had been moved around to make more space as the rooms are small (but sufficient). You could see where the furniture had been previously as there were some marks on the wall.

***TV provided. Yes they are small but who needs a massive TV in a small room in the city centre! If you are wanting to spend the day in the hotel room watching TV then this isn't the place to visit!

***Tea and Coffee facilities are now provided for free! This used to be on a pay per day basis but has recently changed which is great!

***Fan provided due to it being summer months. No air-con but the temperature is similar to the UK so a fan is sufficient!

*** On each of my 3 visits I have been on the side closest to the tram lines. Occasionally you hear a bit of noise but nothing to complain about (although some people have). It is a little unfair to rate the hotel as being more poor because you can hear trams right in the middle of the city centre! If people don't want to hear any noise and want complete peace and quiet, best to stay somewhere secluded not the centre of a big city!!!!

*** Free wifi which is great because of the prices of 3G when you are abroad!

Summary:
Staff are lovely, help you to find your way around the city if you are struggling. Location is fantastic. Right next to Vondelpark which is beautiful, 2 minute walk from Leidseplein. Trams run from right outside the hotel all around the city including Central Station. Trams 1,2 and 5 all go to Central Station. They run every few minutes! Fans provided in the summer months. Tea and Coffee facilities now available. Own bedroom not sharing a dorm with lots of strangers like other hotels. Own en-suite bathrooms with toilet and shower/bath. A little noise but only normal for being right in the city centre! I will definitely be visiting this hotel again. Although some rooms need a little bit of a freshen up with regards to the décor, they are very clean. No concerns that they are dirty. Maids come in daily to clean bedding and bathroom/towels.

I WILL BE COMING BACK TO AMSTERDAM AGAIN LATER THIS YEAR TO VISIT FAMILY, AND I WILL BE STAYING AT THE HOTEL ROBERTRAMON. MY PARENTS ALSO WILL, AND I HAVE RECOMMENDED THIS HOTEL TO OTHER FAMILY, WHO ARE ALL PLANNING ON VISITING! ITS BEST TO READ THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS WITH AN OPEN MIND, AT THE END OF THE DAY, THERE IS JUST NO PLEASING SOME PEOPLE!

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms are brighter décor (503 and 504 were anyway!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cornelisz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cornelisz

Address: PC Hooftstraat 24-28, 1017 BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Robertramon)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cornelisz 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cornelisz (former Hotel ROBERTRAMON) will enhance your city experience by staying at our central location. Situated on the most exclusive shopping street of the Netherlands, the P.C Hooftstraat, where all the top designers of the world have their exclusive shops. Only a few steps away from the hotel you'll find the famous museums from Amsterdam, the Concert House, the diamond exhibition and the house of bols. For something to eat and drink you can visit the nearby leidse square, Rembrandts square or the canal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cornelisz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robertramon Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cornelisz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.