We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very surpriced after the bad reviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cornelisz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cornelisz to your Saves list
Hotel Cornelisz
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PC Hooftstraat 24-28, 1017 BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Robertramon) (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #206 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
harrow,london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very surpriced after the bad reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here with mum for 1 night in June. I was scared after the bad reviews but we were very happy with everything, Staff very polite and helpful. Maybe just lucky to get a good room. Rooms not big but why do you need big room for only sleeping. The bed was so comfortable didn't want to wake up in the morning. The bathroom needs updating but again we didn't stay in the room as we came to see Amsterdam and not to stay in the room. Flat screen TV on the wall. Few English channels. Would recommend for a short stay to anyone as we were happy there. Didn't get breakfast as too expensive I think when full of restaurants much cheaper nearby. Trams, buses 2 minutes walk.
Would go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    68
    39
    29
    10
See reviews for
27
62
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

2 booked a doubel room nr 514
and visit amsterdam, we had no time to look for an other hotel
the room was 3.00 x 2.50 m with a doubelbed
we payed € 200,- for 1 night
a great disapointed voor us
the room was ferry noisy

Room Tip: dont take room 514
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were in Amsterdam for a conference and booked 2 nights at one hotel but the 3rd night was booked solid so we booked the RobertRamon for the final night. We arrived to check in and were told that they had no record of our booking and no room for us, despite a confirmed booking from booking.com and their attitude was one of sheer apathy and ignorance, they actually made us feel like we were being awkward for not just going away and sucking it up as our problem.

They refused to accommodate us, even though other bookings hadn't yet checked in and refused to find us alternative accommodation in Amsterdam, as they should do via Booking.com T&C's, I rang booking.com to sort this and they were very helpful and professional.

Ironically it was Orange day weekend and every hotel that had vacancies was now trying to charge crazy money, I looked around for alternatives in case they couldn't sort it a 3 star was trying to get over €1,000 for a night, there were only 6 hotels in Amsterdam centre with vacancies and finally the RobertRamon said they'd put us up in a hotel, YAY.. well not quite, it was the Airport hotel and they would pay for a taxi out there only, so to visit the centre we would have to then pay taxi fares or get the train in.. the reason we booked a hotel in the centre was to be in IN the centre, not travelling back and forth.

We refused this hotel and told then what booking.com had told us - they must accomodate us in a hotel of at least equal quality in a location as close as possible to them - I showed them that there was one a few street away but it was around 3 times the price but the same star rating and they just fobbed us off and said the airport hotel was the only option - take it or leave it - so we left it and went and booked another in the centre at considerably more expense per night.

When we arrived there it was a bait and switch operation that showed one hotel online but had us go to a booking office, where we were then pushed towards the 'only option' of a brand new hotel, not yet finished in the centre, I was too tired to argue so we took it, after walking 10 minutes with luggage to get there had to then pay another €60 to check out late so as to not have to carry all our luggage around in the day as they had no lockable room to leave luggage.

Booking.com refunded the extra expense YAY, but not the extra €60 fees we ended up paying or the taxi ride to the new hotel.

It was obvious from how the staff were behaving that the RobertRamon had a booking for us but had probably had a multiple night booking so kicked us to the curb and left us hanging.

The hotel RobertRamon basically screwed up our last full day in Amsterdam by wasting around 3 hours, then ending up in an unfinished hotel with no amenities because the only other choice was a hotel miles out of Amsterdam.

Would NEVER use them again, they didn't care in the slightest!

Room Tip: Find a different hotel with management that actually cares about guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

warm welcome at the reception but my single room without a view was very narrow. Because of ventilation system outside it, the room was noisy all the time as if i slept on a cargo ship. Add to it foul smells, noisy conversations on the small terrasse underneath at 4 a.m. :all this makes your slumber a nightmare.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is the 3rd time I have stayed at the Hotel RobertRamon and I have to say I am just as impressed as my last review. This will not be my last stay at this hotel.

*** Staff very friendly - previous reviews have said staff are rude. I have stayed here 3 times now and I have never once experienced anything negative. Staff are very polite. Even when being spoken to like dirt from some tourists they have remained calm and polite.

*** Staff helped us find a certain shop we wanted to visit to see family (workplace) by googling this for us and working out where this was on the map, and which trams to take.

*** Bedrooms were brighter on the 5th floor. We had rooms 503 and 504 decorated with a lighter blue wallpaper which made the rooms brighter than some on other floors which are a darker brown colour.

*** Some of the rooms are a little dishevelled and could maybe do with a bit of a re-fresh. For example, in our 2 rooms, some of the furniture had been moved around to make more space as the rooms are small (but sufficient). You could see where the furniture had been previously as there were some marks on the wall.

***TV provided. Yes they are small but who needs a massive TV in a small room in the city centre! If you are wanting to spend the day in the hotel room watching TV then this isn't the place to visit!

***Tea and Coffee facilities are now provided for free! This used to be on a pay per day basis but has recently changed which is great!

***Fan provided due to it being summer months. No air-con but the temperature is similar to the UK so a fan is sufficient!

*** On each of my 3 visits I have been on the side closest to the tram lines. Occasionally you hear a bit of noise but nothing to complain about (although some people have). It is a little unfair to rate the hotel as being more poor because you can hear trams right in the middle of the city centre! If people don't want to hear any noise and want complete peace and quiet, best to stay somewhere secluded not the centre of a big city!!!!

*** Free wifi which is great because of the prices of 3G when you are abroad!

Summary:
Staff are lovely, help you to find your way around the city if you are struggling. Location is fantastic. Right next to Vondelpark which is beautiful, 2 minute walk from Leidseplein. Trams run from right outside the hotel all around the city including Central Station. Trams 1,2 and 5 all go to Central Station. They run every few minutes! Fans provided in the summer months. Tea and Coffee facilities now available. Own bedroom not sharing a dorm with lots of strangers like other hotels. Own en-suite bathrooms with toilet and shower/bath. A little noise but only normal for being right in the city centre! I will definitely be visiting this hotel again. Although some rooms need a little bit of a freshen up with regards to the décor, they are very clean. No concerns that they are dirty. Maids come in daily to clean bedding and bathroom/towels.

I WILL BE COMING BACK TO AMSTERDAM AGAIN LATER THIS YEAR TO VISIT FAMILY, AND I WILL BE STAYING AT THE HOTEL ROBERTRAMON. MY PARENTS ALSO WILL, AND I HAVE RECOMMENDED THIS HOTEL TO OTHER FAMILY, WHO ARE ALL PLANNING ON VISITING! ITS BEST TO READ THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS WITH AN OPEN MIND, AT THE END OF THE DAY, THERE IS JUST NO PLEASING SOME PEOPLE!

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms are brighter décor (503 and 504 were anyway!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I desperately tried to find something good to say about this hotel apart from really polite receptionist and other staff. The rooms are extremely worn out, nothing like the photos. The tram on the street is extremely noisy, the room is all vibrating when it's passing buy. The paper thin walls don't help either, so if you are easily disturbed by noises, don't stay here. Pity, as it is really a great location.

There is only one soap in the bathroom.

Good bikes for rent. Trams 2 and 5 and the bus from the airport stop near by.

Beeakfast is NOT recommendable.

Won't come back. Won't recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonmel, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed here in July with a friend for two nights and really enjoyed my stay. The staff were very helpful, especially the young man who worked in the evenings, who went out of his way to give directions and help us out. The only downside was that the house opposite was being renovated and that caused quiet a bit of noise, but was not the fault of the hotel who also provided ear plugs for us. Hotel was clean and well kept, and is also on a very nice street. Location is very good and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Look for a room at the rear of the property, its quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cornelisz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cornelisz

Address: PC Hooftstraat 24-28, 1017 BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Robertramon)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cornelisz 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cornelisz (former Hotel ROBERTRAMON) will enhance your city experience by staying at our central location. Situated on the most exclusive shopping street of the Netherlands, the P.C Hooftstraat, where all the top designers of the world have their exclusive shops. Only a few steps away from the hotel you'll find the famous museums from Amsterdam, the Concert House, the diamond exhibition and the house of bols. For something to eat and drink you can visit the nearby leidse square, Rembrandts square or the canal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cornelisz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robertramon Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cornelisz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.