We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd Stay at RobertRamon - Wont be the last !!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cornelisz

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cornelisz to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cornelisz
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PC Hooftstraat 24-28, 1017 BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Robertramon) (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #209 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Guisborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“3rd Stay at RobertRamon - Wont be the last !!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is the 3rd time I have stayed at the Hotel RobertRamon and I have to say I am just as impressed as my last review. This will not be my last stay at this hotel.

*** Staff very friendly - previous reviews have said staff are rude. I have stayed here 3 times now and I have never once experienced anything negative. Staff are very polite. Even when being spoken to like dirt from some tourists they have remained calm and polite.

*** Staff helped us find a certain shop we wanted to visit to see family (workplace) by googling this for us and working out where this was on the map, and which trams to take.

*** Bedrooms were brighter on the 5th floor. We had rooms 503 and 504 decorated with a lighter blue wallpaper which made the rooms brighter than some on other floors which are a darker brown colour.

*** Some of the rooms are a little dishevelled and could maybe do with a bit of a re-fresh. For example, in our 2 rooms, some of the furniture had been moved around to make more space as the rooms are small (but sufficient). You could see where the furniture had been previously as there were some marks on the wall.

***TV provided. Yes they are small but who needs a massive TV in a small room in the city centre! If you are wanting to spend the day in the hotel room watching TV then this isn't the place to visit!

***Tea and Coffee facilities are now provided for free! This used to be on a pay per day basis but has recently changed which is great!

***Fan provided due to it being summer months. No air-con but the temperature is similar to the UK so a fan is sufficient!

*** On each of my 3 visits I have been on the side closest to the tram lines. Occasionally you hear a bit of noise but nothing to complain about (although some people have). It is a little unfair to rate the hotel as being more poor because you can hear trams right in the middle of the city centre! If people don't want to hear any noise and want complete peace and quiet, best to stay somewhere secluded not the centre of a big city!!!!

*** Free wifi which is great because of the prices of 3G when you are abroad!

Summary:
Staff are lovely, help you to find your way around the city if you are struggling. Location is fantastic. Right next to Vondelpark which is beautiful, 2 minute walk from Leidseplein. Trams run from right outside the hotel all around the city including Central Station. Trams 1,2 and 5 all go to Central Station. They run every few minutes! Fans provided in the summer months. Tea and Coffee facilities now available. Own bedroom not sharing a dorm with lots of strangers like other hotels. Own en-suite bathrooms with toilet and shower/bath. A little noise but only normal for being right in the city centre! I will definitely be visiting this hotel again. Although some rooms need a little bit of a freshen up with regards to the décor, they are very clean. No concerns that they are dirty. Maids come in daily to clean bedding and bathroom/towels.

I WILL BE COMING BACK TO AMSTERDAM AGAIN LATER THIS YEAR TO VISIT FAMILY, AND I WILL BE STAYING AT THE HOTEL ROBERTRAMON. MY PARENTS ALSO WILL, AND I HAVE RECOMMENDED THIS HOTEL TO OTHER FAMILY, WHO ARE ALL PLANNING ON VISITING! ITS BEST TO READ THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS WITH AN OPEN MIND, AT THE END OF THE DAY, THERE IS JUST NO PLEASING SOME PEOPLE!

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms are brighter décor (503 and 504 were anyway!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    61
    33
    26
    9
See reviews for
22
52
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I desperately tried to find something good to say about this hotel apart from really polite receptionist and other staff. The rooms are extremely worn out, nothing like the photos. The tram on the street is extremely noisy, the room is all vibrating when it's passing buy. The paper thin walls don't help either, so if you are easily disturbed by noises, don't stay here. Pity, as it is really a great location.

There is only one soap in the bathroom.

Good bikes for rent. Trams 2 and 5 and the bus from the airport stop near by.

Beeakfast is NOT recommendable.

Won't come back. Won't recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonmel, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed here in July with a friend for two nights and really enjoyed my stay. The staff were very helpful, especially the young man who worked in the evenings, who went out of his way to give directions and help us out. The only downside was that the house opposite was being renovated and that caused quiet a bit of noise, but was not the fault of the hotel who also provided ear plugs for us. Hotel was clean and well kept, and is also on a very nice street. Location is very good and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Look for a room at the rear of the property, its quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pordenone, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The hotel is very nice, new and clean. I booked for a single room. My room was on the 5th floor. The room was really small. There was no curtain to separate wet and dry zone in the toilet but I didn't find it that unpleasant. The location is great, close to many museums and tram station. The male receptionists and maids were really helpful and nice. Very nice atmosphere with free WIFI in the hotel. I was very happy staying with them. I will go back there again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Out of the many hotels in which we stayed during our tour of Denmark, Holland and Germany, this was the 2nd largest room. It was in a nice part of town, (the expensive shopping district) quietly tucked away a short distance from the overwhelming city. We were able to walk to the Rijksmuseum, a park and several restaurants so it was very convenient. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was big enough, although the shower was odd. It was quite a high step up into it and the shower head sprayed water all over the floor, no matter which way you turned it. The tv was small, but we weren't there to watch tv so not a huge inconvenience. As a smoker, I appreciated the private smoking deck out back. I had no problems with the staff, they were very helpful to me. I was also happy they had a lift, as many hotels do not. We were very satisfied with our stay here.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cornelisz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cornelisz

Address: PC Hooftstraat 24-28, 1017 BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Robertramon)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cornelisz 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cornelisz (former Hotel ROBERTRAMON) will enhance your city experience by staying at our central location. Situated on the most exclusive shopping street of the Netherlands, the P.C Hooftstraat, where all the top designers of the world have their exclusive shops. Only a few steps away from the hotel you'll find the famous museums from Amsterdam, the Concert House, the diamond exhibition and the house of bols. For something to eat and drink you can visit the nearby leidse square, Rembrandts square or the canal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Cornelisz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robertramon Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cornelisz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.