We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very spacious apartment in central location with few caveats” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ultraviolet Studios

Ultraviolet Studios
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ultraviolet Studios to your Saves list
Ultraviolet Studios
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Oude Hoogstraat 12, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
London
1 review
“Very spacious apartment in central location with few caveats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The good: very spacious apartment, very nice couches and TV, free wifi, clean, functional kitchen, very helpful owner, and very very central.

The bad: the bed sheets and pillows were very old. No toilet paper (so we had to make trip to the shops to buy some - this is very basic!). No shower gel (this is arguable given this is an apartment, but that would have been nice).

Overall good experience for a reasonable price, and would certainly come back again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed in the second floor apartment which had great views onto the street below. The facilities are good- a huge sofa, tv with English channels, hairdryer, fridge, stereo, huge (very comfy) double bed, microwave and a shower room. The only improvement that needed to be made is a change of kettle- it took over half an hour to boil (although maybe this was me doing it wrong?).

The owner is very friendly and helpful, he owns the two shops next door so there is always someone on hand for enquiries.

The first night I got bitten quite a lot as we left the bathroom window open. The noise from the street was also very loud. However, the second and third night we closed the window and the metal shutter- this eliminated the noise and I was not bitten again.

The location is fantastic- it's on one of the main streets between the two main canals. A two minute walk in any direction to loads of cafés, restaurants and also the RLD which has some great bars and pubs.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

We booked for 6 nights during Amsterdam pride and stumbled across ultraviolet (as limited options at this time of year). Location was in the red light district, which was walking distance to most of the city. Although there is a small kitchen we didn't find it very usable (no cutlery/crockery, kettle) just a microwave (which we didn't use) and a sink (no tea towels). Limited eating spots close by, so did have to walk some distance to find something reasonable.

Apartment was very well sized, with a great ensuite bathroom (although no blinds/curtains) and great shower. There is a great couch to stretch out in and relax, with this apartment on the 2nd floor so good people watching. Although was quite a lot of street noise, the windows could be closed (with steel shutters) which cut out just about all the noise and was quite comfortable. A curtain or blind would be a great addition to the kitchen to keep out bugs and morning light.

Be warned that entry is via two very steep flights of steps, which was an effort with heavy luggage. We checked in via the shop downstairs and didn't get much as far as welcome or introduction to the area or any provided services (which we found as minimal). Very slow internet (almost un-usable), though was in email contact with Miro who offered some help with wifi connection issues.

Would be great to have more linen provided as for 6 days we were only provided with two hand towels and no where to hang them. Lot of bugs and were covered in bites (which we think also may be bed-bugs) which forced us deciding to leave a day early.

With a few improvements this place could be a lot better, though maybe I have high expectations considering the rate.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is a very comfortable, clean place to stay in the middle of town an easy walk from the central railway station. I had no trouble with noise. The steps are very steep up to apt, so not suitable for any one with knee/hip issues.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for three nights over Easter weekend this year and we loved this place. Amsterdam is a compact city that is easily explored by foot or bicycle, but Ultraviolet Studios is located right in the centre of town, 2-3 minutes walk away from Dam Sqaure, 10 minutes walk away from Centraal station and right on the edge of the red light district. There are plenty of sights, bars and restaurants right on the doorstep.

Miro, the owner was always friendly and helpful.The apartment itself is modern, light and airy. There is a nice relaxing area with sofa and TV, as well as a small kitchenette (with fridge and microwave). The bathroom was clean and the shower hot and powerful. We did find it was a bit noisy - but you cannot expect anything else when staying in the heart of Amsterdam with so many bars etc on the same street. We weren't bothered by it and slept well at night, but I would recommend earplugs for any light sleepers.

The apartment itself is up a couple of flights of steep steps so this is something to take into account if you are elderly, less mobile, or wanting to come back steaming drunk every night!

For our purposes however - a clean, private accommodation, reasonably priced and in the centre of town - this was perfect. We loved Amsterdam and hope to come back someday, and we will plan to stay at Ultraviolet Studios again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I recently went to Amsterdam for my birthday with my girlfriend, we stayed here and were pleasantly surprised. The sudio is situated smack bang in the middle of Amsterdam, a mere few minutes walk from Dam Square, Madame Tussauds, the tram station, the main train staion and more!

Miro was helpful and ever friendly with any queries or questions we had. The studio was very clean and well looked after.

There are no curtains or nets but there are shutters to keep the light out. I notice that a lot of reviews mention it being noisey...its in central Amsterdam of course it will be noisey whether staying here or at a hotel. The noise was easily sorted by shutting the window(s.)

It was as if we were renting our own little flat in central Amsterdam, great!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney,australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Close to the Dam and everything else ,Ultraviolet Studios is spacious and comfortable. It was recently completely painted inside and is spotless, We heated some meals and slept terrific at night .There is an ensuite with nice shower, can we have a curtain next time and perhaps some towel hooks??.. We enjoyed our 4 night stay and look forward to returning soon.. Many thanks for your friendly attention and assistance Biro, best Wishes and "tot ziens" [greg&jill Australia]

Room Tip: we were on the 2nd floor apartment, nice street views and quiet enough at night with the windows shu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ultraviolet Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ultraviolet Studios

Address: Oude Hoogstraat 12, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ultraviolet Studios 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, HostelBookers, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Ultraviolet Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ultraviolet Studios Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ultraviolet Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.