We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Amsterdam's Centre..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ultraviolet Studios

Save Saved
You added Ultraviolet Studios to your Saves list
Ultraviolet Studios
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ultraviolet Studios
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Oude Hoogstraat 12, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 171 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
sydney,australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great stay at Amsterdam's Centre..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Close to the Dam and everything else ,Ultraviolet Studios is spacious and comfortable. It was recently completely painted inside and is spotless, We heated some meals and slept terrific at night .There is an ensuite with nice shower, can we have a curtain next time and perhaps some towel hooks??.. We enjoyed our 4 night stay and look forward to returning soon.. Many thanks for your friendly attention and assistance Biro, best Wishes and "tot ziens" [greg&jill Australia]

Room Tip: we were on the 2nd floor apartment, nice street views and quiet enough at night with the windows shu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My wife and I have just spent a fantastic weekend in Amsterdam staying at the Ultraviolet studios. Effectively, a studio apartment in the heart of downtown Amsterdam. 3 mins. walk from Dam square. The owner met us late on Friday - after 11pm and check in was less than 5 minutes with the bill settled in full on arrival. The room is just like an Amsterdam studio flat. Big lounge area with a great L shaped sofa which we slept on for at least one night because it was so comfortable. Wall mounted flat screen TV and an excellent retro IPod dock. Smoking is permitted in the room which is a huge plus in these restrictive times. With a range of coffee shops literally out the front door it's heaven. Stairs are steep and we were on the 2nd floor so be advised for those of you with big and heavy suitcases! The kitchen area is basic but clean. The fridge is small but ample and after the piddley hotel fridges you normally get it seemed massive! Bathroom is a wetroom which made for some interesting showers! There's some noise from the street below but that’s part of the charm of staying in an apartment in the heart of the city! The sash windows block this out and the security shutters, when fully down and locked almost mute the noise entirely. We actually began to feel like we lived there as Sunday night approached. A great place to chill for the weekend.

Room Tip: Choose the 2nd Floor Apartment. Bigger and furrther from the street below!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner had a great time here, the owner was super helpful and friendly, the room was big, clean and modern. You could smoke in the rooms, perfect for chilling out in, just what you need for a relaxing stay in Amsterdam. If you can afford a little extra - definitely worth it. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERKSHIRE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

Wow, what a find.

After days of searching the net looking for a smoker friendly apartment we found this place.
There was a choice of 3 apartments- as there was just the two of us we opted for Dam 1 a studio for 3. (prices are from 124euros a night per apartment.)
The apartments are a 5 minute walk from Dam square and the palace can be seen from the windows. They are on a main shopping street, Miro the owner also has a menswear shop on the ground floor which makes them easy to find. Miro is friendly , knowledgeable and nothing is too much trouble, he lives on the top floor which adds a sense of security.
Street noise could be a problem at night but if you take Miro's advice and "have a smoke or two" as we did - you won't hear a thing.
ahhh Amsterdam!

The studio was basic, twin beds and a sofa, small kitchenette with a microwave, kettle and fridge. There was a TV with cable and upon request a DVD was supplied to us by Miro along with extra towels. Nothing was too much trouble. The studio was clean and the heating worked a treat (which given the weather was a godsend), the large windows were great for people watching!

Everything you could want from Amsterdam is within walking distance, the RLD,coffeeshops, bars and restaurants are on the doorstep and Central station is a 10 minute walk away. The museums and parks can be reached on foot in 15-30 minutes or you can go by tram. The flowermarket is 10 minutes walk away and in full bloom!

As annual visitors to the Dam we have stayed in hotels, apartments and even houseboats, but this place really appealed to us ,for value for money and location we think it will be hard to beat. Amsterdam Escape do some great apartments(yes we've stayed there too but they were fully booked this time) , their lack of availability did us a favour really , the Ultraviolet was half the price in the same location, which gave us more euros to spend on enjoying Amsterdam.

So if you love Amsterdam and want the freedom to do as you please in comfortable surroundings, this could well be the place for you.
If you're looking for peace and quiet avoid like the plague!

Will we be back?
You can put money on it - already thinking about October!

  • Liked — price and location
  • Disliked — having to leave!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ultraviolet Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ultraviolet Studios

Address: Oude Hoogstraat 12, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 171 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ultraviolet Studios 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelBookers, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Ultraviolet Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ultraviolet Studios Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ultraviolet Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.