We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay @ nh krasnapolsky apartments” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Krasnapolsky Apartments

Save Saved
You added Krasnapolsky Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Krasnapolsky Apartments
Dam 9, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay @ nh krasnapolsky apartments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stayed @ nh krasnapolsky apartments from 28/5 to 7/9 42 night in a deluxe business apartment which i stayed in before it was an amazing stay the apartment in a good condition nothing changed everything worked well it was clean modern with all the facility u could ask for in a 5 star top hotel and the location cant beat in the middle of the city center everything is within walking distance from the hotel this hotel is in the top of my list when visiting Amsterdam which i always do its a great city one of the best cities in Europe i highly recommend this hotel to everyone don't think twice about staying in this hotel specially the apartments they are great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    34
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
49
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
From Here to There
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

There is no better location in Amsterdam…the front doors of the Krasnapolsky are located right on Dam Square…the Dutch equivalent to the center of the world. On the back side of the hotel is a lively canal and the famed Red Light District.
Although I've stayed in the hotel room section of the Kras a few times, I usually stay in one of the hotel apartments. Actually, I've stayed in most of the apartments over the past 15 years. Each apartment is housed in one of several traditional canal houses, with a private entrance on the street. One building has an elevator and the rest have very steep, windy, typical Dutch stairs. I love staying in the Kras apartments, both on business and many times with my family in the larger two bedroom apartments. For me, it's the perfect compromise between a hotel room and a short term apartment agency…I get my own apartment, with the amenities of a hotel.
The apartments were renovated in 2007 with faux hardwood floors, brown hues, and furniture with a Dutch/Scandinavian/Ikea design flair. It is a much more contemporary feel than the burgundy and navy tones, carpet, and soft leather sofas that used to decorate the apartments...perhaps a bit too stark...but that is only my subjective opinion. The apartments are huge, and there is ample drawer space, plenty of tables and desks, enormous large screen TVs, DVD player, nicely equipped kitchens, clothes washer and dryer, etc…
The service is what you would expect from a 4/5-star hotel…from the attentive business center staff who always remember my name, to the maintenance staff who have helped us with the usual (like hooking up an extra DVD player) to the unusual (like installing training wheels on my daughter's bike). The front desk staff is friendly and efficient, and the room service and housekeeping staff is also excellent. The breakfast buffet has a nice selection and ambiance, and the bar pours some of the most behemoth drinks I've ever been served…very nice surprise to order a fine whisky that ends up being the ounce equivalent of a large soda.
The one area that the hotel needs to improve upon is their apartment reservation modus operandi. Firstly, the apartment reservations is a separate office from the general hotel reservations…and the apartment reservations agent only works a few days a week and only half-days on the days she does work. She doesn't return emails except during the minimal hours she is in the office. I have also found her to be deceptive on a number of occasions…most recently, to the extent that I almost checked-out of the hotel and went somewhere else. I truly hope management addresses this flaw in their otherwise seamless product.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My husband and I booked Hotel Krasnapolsky for my birthday weekend. When we arrived we were told that I was 'Guest of the Day' and therefore would be upgraded. We were given a wonderful apartment, chocolates, biscuits and a free complimentary drink. The service was excellent - free transport was arranged for our trip to a diamond factory. A birthday cake was presented to me at lunch and everyone sang happy birthday (most embarrassing!!). Our stay was just wonderful and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

A beautiful and nice hotel that is situated on central center of Amsterdam. It is also worth to you live choose a hotel in the middle of the city. It is worth avoiding transport etc.

The staff was very service oriented and providing the best possible customer service. They were attentive, friendly and extra helpful.

The breakfast buffet was impressive! Gigantic, delicious and an experience in itself. Normally I experience this kind of as boring and often choose to eat anywhere other than the hotel, although I usually have morgemmad included in the price. But here was the breakfast special. Cozy atmosphere and the buffet was definitely worthy of an extraordinary 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed there with my sister as we went for a vacation there last November. The rooms were huge and had a lot of amenities. However the decor even though excellent for the architecture of the building was kind of gloomy and dark but I guess it was done so as to keep the original character of the building.The breakfast at the hotel is amazing and has a great variety. However the best thing is its location it is right on Dam square and of course that means in the centre of Amsterdam. It is so easy to get around all the main attractions and shopping streets. Centraal station is about 20 minutes walk but there are excellent tram services right infront of the hotel so it is not too tiring when arriving at Schiphol airport and taking the train to Centraal. I would say it is more for couples and bussiness people so not too many activities for children if you want to come as a family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a prime location, opposite the palace. Plenty of bars, restaurants, shops and sight seeing within the vicinity. Rooms were well equipped, tea/coffee facilities, hairdryer, robes and slippers and complimentary toiletries. We did not frequent the restaurant or breakfast room but the winter garden room where breakfast is served looked beautiful. Do read the history of the place as it is interesting (booklet in room). We were overlooking rooves at the side of the building but it was nice and quiet.

My hubby and myself slept beautifully in the large, comfy beds and you can use their customised pillow service (mine was comfy enough though). Only two critisicms would be the hot taps are scalding, so be careful and could have done with a few more creamers in the tea tray (being british I like a cuppa or two and there were only two so one each for my hubby and me, I am sure if I'd have asked they would have provided more). Would recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Wonderful location on Dam Square, central to all shopping, canals, walks and red light district. Although central and in Dam Square, this did not cause any porblems for us in terms of noise etc. This is a nice quality hotel, i would stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get the diasbled room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Krasnapolsky Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krasnapolsky Apartments

Address: Dam 9, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For long-term stays (availible from 5 days) in Amsterdam, the luxurious Krasnapolsky apartments offer private accommodation in the heart of Amsterdam. Relax in this wonderful accommodation and benefit from all facilities of the Krasnapolsky Hotel.The apartments are located in original 18th century houses. The apartments are spacious and consist of a fully equipped kitchen with a dish-washer, a spacious living room, a comfortable bedroom and a luxurious bathroom. A DVD-player, a washing machine and a tumble dryer are all available for your convenience.During your stay you can make use of all hotel facilities, such as the fitness centre and massages. The hotels central location makes it possible to discover all interesting sights and attractions easily.There is a winter garden where you can have a delicious breakfast- or lunch buffet every morning. Furthermore there are 2 restaurants in the hotel ,Restaurant Reflet is one of the finest restaurants in Amsterdam offers French cuisine and Grand Cafe Brasserie is open all day for brasserie style food with excellent views on the famous Dam Square.In the Golden Palm Bar, with award winning staff, you can enjoy delicious cocktails. When weather is nice, you can sit out on the terrace and enjoy sunny Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsNL, EasyToBook and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Krasnapolsky Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Krasnapolsky Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.