We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambience, fresh seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lucius

Lucius
Spuistraat 247, 1012 VP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
020-624-1831
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #349 of 2,627 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great ambience, fresh seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We ordered the platter which comprise of oysters, whole lobster, crab claws, prawns, mussels, cockles and other shellfish. Huge for two. Very fresh and sweet. The other part that I love is their warm bread and delicious butter. For most restaurants, the bread tend to be hard and cold so it was a pleasant surprise to get warm bread with nice butter.

It has great ambience and is abuzz with activity. The service was excellent. My only regret is that I had no stomach space to try their mains. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    214
    68
    27
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stein AR, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Terrific Fish and Ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We ate here on March 28, 2014. The look of the restaurant is no frills and old fashioned. I loved the simple wood wainscoting and white and blue tiles. You immediately get the message that this is a serious place where the food is the protagonist. The waiters were very friendly and helpful and the service was impeccable. I had a salmon tartare for my first, followed by Baby Dover Sole. My husband wanted something totally Dutch and so let the waitress choose! He had raw herring with Dutch gin for his appetizer and a fantastic fish (perhaps Halibut) dish. The main course was accompanied by French fries, roast potatoes, and a scrumptious salad composed of greens and cole slaw. We drank a delicious Sancerre with the meal. For dessert he had a work of art composed of sorbet and various other things and I had an over-the-top chocolate mousse concoction! We paid about 70 Euros a person, which was very reasonable for what we had. We will definitely go back the next time we are in Amsterdam!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“informal ambience , fantastic fish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I ve been more then once in this fantastic place.
I tried to change my choise, but i can t avoid to eat the best sole in Holland.
Nice and informal restaurant, kind and quick service (that 's, sorry to say, something u can't find very often in Netherlands) .

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Looking for fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

A good selection on the menu with some daily specials. Excellent service, the restaurant was busy but no suggestion of being rushed to release the table. We had mussels and shrimps for starters with dorade and catch of the day, all beautifully presented.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedano al Lambro, Italy
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“There are better places for seafood....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We dined in a team of 5 within colleagues during a biz trip last week in Amsterdam.
The place is nice, quite crowded actually.
We decided to go for a Lucius plate for 5, consisting of a big variety of lobster, shrimps, giant shrimps, calms, mussels, crabs.
We had to ask to change the crab since it was completely frozen, the clams and shells were ok but nothing special, while the lobster was very good.
I was very disappointed when I saw in the bill that we were charged 2x55€ for 2 Lucius plates (this is ok) and 62.5€ for a separate plate. Why charging the single plate price once we ordered 5?
Besides this I was very sick two days after the dinner but I am not completely sure if it is their fault, although I have some bad feelings.

One additional remark : for the price they charge you they could give you some towels to clean yourself better!
I will not come again in this place anyway

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucius also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Lucius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.