We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They really are fish experts, not just saying it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lucius

Lucius
Spuistraat 247, Amsterdam 1012 VP, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
020-624-1831
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #258 of 2,147 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: European, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“They really are fish experts, not just saying it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I have eaten here before and came back, even though there are hundreds of others. Many restaurants claim to be seafood experts but this one really is. The menu is not huge but it is adequate. I had baby soles which were cooked perfectly. The wine list is also limited---I had Picpoul at a reasonable 20 euros. Service good and there is generally a good, though quiet, and maybe even slightly supressed atmosphere about the place. I suppose it changes from day to day.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    162
    146
    41
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Birthday Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I came with my husband on the 15th December 2013!

We had the fixed price menu and it was excellent value for money at 39 Euro each for 3 courses!

My husband had the King Prawn cake with poached egg, the Pike and then the toffee and nut cake all which he said were delicious and I had the Mackerel, the mixed seafood and the cheese and could not fault it!!

Lovely restaurant with great staff who even moved us to a preferred seat beside the massive fish tank as we were there early!!

All in all a lovely experience at an excellent value of £85 for 3 courses and a bottle of really nice wine!!

If you like seafood then I would highly recommend!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“wonderfull bourride (Burride)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This restaurant was cosy, friendly, and had excellent food. I had a non-traditional Bouride and it was excellent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect for seafood lovers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We were here with a big group of people because we all were craving good seafood and fresh fish. This place was recommended to us by the concierge at the Andaz hotel and it turned out to be amazing. The entrance seems to be somewhat deceiving, yet the restaurant inside is buzzy, hip and full of amazing smells! Really great! Good choice of food, nice Prosecco - overall a definite must, and in such a central location! Do make a reservation ahead, because they are very popular!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice fresh food and pleasant atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We keep going back to this place. We try to eat here once every time we go to Amsterdam. We usually have the oysters for starters and moules (if in season) and prawns for main. This time we also tried the steak and crab combination which was very nice. They have great deserts, worth trying. Service is professional but not very friendly. The waiters almost never change and they do their job well. Try to get a table by the aquarium - it is very nice to watch the fish between courses. You should reserve a table, it can get quite crowded.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucius also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Lucius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.