We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They really are fish experts, not just saying it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lucius

Lucius
Spuistraat 247, 1012 VP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
020-624-1831
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #334 of 2,589 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“They really are fish experts, not just saying it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I have eaten here before and came back, even though there are hundreds of others. Many restaurants claim to be seafood experts but this one really is. The menu is not huge but it is adequate. I had baby soles which were cooked perfectly. The wine list is also limited---I had Picpoul at a reasonable 20 euros. Service good and there is generally a good, though quiet, and maybe even slightly supressed atmosphere about the place. I suppose it changes from day to day.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    213
    66
    27
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Birthday Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I came with my husband on the 15th December 2013!

We had the fixed price menu and it was excellent value for money at 39 Euro each for 3 courses!

My husband had the King Prawn cake with poached egg, the Pike and then the toffee and nut cake all which he said were delicious and I had the Mackerel, the mixed seafood and the cheese and could not fault it!!

Lovely restaurant with great staff who even moved us to a preferred seat beside the massive fish tank as we were there early!!

All in all a lovely experience at an excellent value of £85 for 3 courses and a bottle of really nice wine!!

If you like seafood then I would highly recommend!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“wonderfull bourride (Burride)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This restaurant was cosy, friendly, and had excellent food. I had a non-traditional Bouride and it was excellent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Perfect for seafood lovers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We were here with a big group of people because we all were craving good seafood and fresh fish. This place was recommended to us by the concierge at the Andaz hotel and it turned out to be amazing. The entrance seems to be somewhat deceiving, yet the restaurant inside is buzzy, hip and full of amazing smells! Really great! Good choice of food, nice Prosecco - overall a definite must, and in such a central location! Do make a reservation ahead, because they are very popular!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice fresh food and pleasant atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We keep going back to this place. We try to eat here once every time we go to Amsterdam. We usually have the oysters for starters and moules (if in season) and prawns for main. This time we also tried the steak and crab combination which was very nice. They have great deserts, worth trying. Service is professional but not very friendly. The waiters almost never change and they do their job well. Try to get a table by the aquarium - it is very nice to watch the fish between courses. You should reserve a table, it can get quite crowded.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucius also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Lucius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.