We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh fish & seafood, good wine, friendly without airs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lucius

Lucius
Spuistraat 247, 1012 VP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
020-624-1831
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #307 of 2,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: European, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fresh fish & seafood, good wine, friendly without airs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Been with a group of 6 from different countries. A local taxi driver recommended the place and we were delighted.
A comprehensive list of wines is partnering with choices for fish and seafood.
We also tried soups, salads and everythink was tasty.
Advices:
- do a reservation before, when we arrived it was full and it remained full untill we left
- ask for the seasonal, special stuff. When we were there it was asparagus period, had no ideea how many things dutch can do from asparagus
- lots of people were eating lobsters or something very similar
- we took a French wine in the lower area of pricing, it fitted perfectly with fish
- Don't "dress" is a very casual place, even if we saw people in elegant suits, probably directly from office
The place is very close to the Dam Square.

Enjoy !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    195
    55
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Small - but great - Seafood restaurant in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

If you are looking for really good seafood in Amsterdam, but want to get away from the tourist traps, this is a great choice. Located off the main routes but still easy to find, is a small family run restaurant that prides itself on only fresh seafood prepared well. Its located only minutes walk from DAM square, but get your concierge to mark it on a map for you. We eat here every time we visit Amsterdam. Is it the BEST seafood restaurant I've ever eaten at? No. However it's very good and well worth the visit. If its not fresh, its not on the menu.

Price wise its not exactly inexpensive, 2 people with wine will spend around $100, maybe a little more if you get dessert. However all of Europe is rather expensive to eat out, and this isn't overpriced tourist food (see pictures for size of servings and presentations). The restaurant has a great local reputation and stays very crowded unless you get there on the early side (most folks in this part of the world eat late). I would highly recommend a reservation to ensure a table.

Would I eat here again? Absolutely. When planning my next trip to Amsterdam, it will be one of the first reservations I get before leaving home.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our hotel recommended this restaurant, and it was listed as one of the top 10 seafood restaurants in Amsterdam, so we tried it, and we were blown away. Their three-course set menu is a good buy and I got the potato soup, which was outstanding, and the red perch in a tomato sauce with mushrooms and pistachios. The perch was divine, perfectly cooked and melt-in-your-mouth good in a delicious sauce. The rest of my group had equally great seafood, including the tuna and the halibut. Even the bread they served at the beginning was yummy. Dessert was enjoyed by all, as well. My husband and son loved watching the fish in their impressive salt-water aquarium in the dining room, so if you can get a table near the fish tank, do so. Great service, speedy delivery of food. Strongly recommend this restaurant--I can't say enough good things about it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“outstanding fish restaurant in centre of amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

All the courses were delicious. One of the best fish restaurants we have been too. I had the mixed fish grill which was lovely especially the butter fish ( the waitresss told me that's what it was). If you love fish you cant do better in Amsterdam.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A great fish restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This restaurant was recommended and it stood up to its reputation. We did not have a reservation but the staff did everything to find us a place.

We took the fish of the day dish. It was excellent, accompanied by vegetables and fritjes. We also had a prawn dish, quite copious and well cooked and presented.

Staff were friendly and excellent, They are very used to tourists.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucius also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Lucius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucius, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.