We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Szmulewicz

Restaurant Szmulewicz
Bakkersstraat 12, 1017 CW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)
+31 (0)20 6202822
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #181 of 2,318 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $32 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Rembrandtplein
1 review
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This restaurant was just round the corner from our hotel, ate there on our first night and thoroughly enjoyed our 3 course meal. Going back tonight because they ran out of Creme Brûlée

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    36
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Great food, great wine, nice staff. Situated by the Rembrandtplein, it's an excellent choice to end your busy day. We'll be back for sure next time we'll come to Amsterdam!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food - lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Fabulous food reasonably priced. Would def come back! Friendly staff. Had two items from the specials board. Both excellent!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“lovely food, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We visited this restaurant following a recommendation and weren't disappointed. They fitted us in,(6 of us) despite not having a booking and the staff were very helpful. Most of our party had steaks which they said were great, and the special salmon was very tasty,The place has a great atmosphere and we really enjoyed our evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

My friend, a resident of Amsterdam, took me to this restaurant. This is their family's favorite. The menu changes frequently and they have very special offerings such as kangaroo meat. We started with a huge serving of nachos and antipasto. The lamb dish is excellent and the steak is tender and juicy. Their ice tea is made with sparkling water and somehow really gives it a kick. The portions are very generous.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Szmulewicz also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Szmulewicz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Szmulewicz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.