We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely food, reasonable prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Szmulewicz

Restaurant Szmulewicz
Bakkersstraat 12, 1017 CW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)
+31 (0)20 6202822
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #239 of 2,627 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $32 - $40
Cuisines: International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Rembrandtplein
Solihull
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“lovely food, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We visited this restaurant following a recommendation and weren't disappointed. They fitted us in,(6 of us) despite not having a booking and the staff were very helpful. Most of our party had steaks which they said were great, and the special salmon was very tasty,The place has a great atmosphere and we really enjoyed our evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    47
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

My friend, a resident of Amsterdam, took me to this restaurant. This is their family's favorite. The menu changes frequently and they have very special offerings such as kangaroo meat. We started with a huge serving of nachos and antipasto. The lamb dish is excellent and the steak is tender and juicy. Their ice tea is made with sparkling water and somehow really gives it a kick. The portions are very generous.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We spotted this little restaurant off the Rembrandt square and thought it looked a little different from the usual tourist fare.
It is small cosy, quite quiet when we were in. Food was good. I had kangaroo skewer with mango and papaya and yam croquettes. Very tasty. Could definitely recommend the baked marzipan and blood orange ice cream. On special.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Trying to get away from the usual offerings of steaks/burgers and chips we stumbled across this small restaurant just off Rembrandtplein. We ate there on three of the four nights we were in Amsterdam. Apart from their normal menu there were always a couple of starters, main courses and desserts on the specials board. Lovely freshly prepared dishes and great friendly service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

When you get tired of the fried meat-and-potato balls, burgers, chips and stodgy pancakes, go to this restaurant and have something entirely different.
We had a starter-size plate of smoked duck breast with tagliatelli and a main meal size plate of rucula (rocket) in a dainty balsamic dressing, covered in plenty of slices of rare beef fillet.
The restaurant lets you order most dishes in two different portion sizes which is useful for us with smaller appetites.
We wanted to eat there again at Sunday lunch time but were told by the proprietor that they only open n the evenings. He then recommended we try U6, on the other side of Rembrandt plein, This we did and loved them, too! (Read my review)

Highly recommended, and our only regret is that we only got to eat there once!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Szmulewicz also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Szmulewicz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Szmulewicz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.