We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Szmulewicz

Restaurant Szmulewicz
Bakkersstraat 12, 1017 CW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)
+31 (0)20 6202822
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #163 of 2,445 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $32 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Rembrandtplein
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We spotted this little restaurant off the Rembrandt square and thought it looked a little different from the usual tourist fare.
It is small cosy, quite quiet when we were in. Food was good. I had kangaroo skewer with mango and papaya and yam croquettes. Very tasty. Could definitely recommend the baked marzipan and blood orange ice cream. On special.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    37
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Trying to get away from the usual offerings of steaks/burgers and chips we stumbled across this small restaurant just off Rembrandtplein. We ate there on three of the four nights we were in Amsterdam. Apart from their normal menu there were always a couple of starters, main courses and desserts on the specials board. Lovely freshly prepared dishes and great friendly service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

When you get tired of the fried meat-and-potato balls, burgers, chips and stodgy pancakes, go to this restaurant and have something entirely different.
We had a starter-size plate of smoked duck breast with tagliatelli and a main meal size plate of rucula (rocket) in a dainty balsamic dressing, covered in plenty of slices of rare beef fillet.
The restaurant lets you order most dishes in two different portion sizes which is useful for us with smaller appetites.
We wanted to eat there again at Sunday lunch time but were told by the proprietor that they only open n the evenings. He then recommended we try U6, on the other side of Rembrandt plein, This we did and loved them, too! (Read my review)

Highly recommended, and our only regret is that we only got to eat there once!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“good for dinner & wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We found this through tripadvisor as we were looking for something near the hotel we were staying in. This is on a side street which is quite, we went in for a meal in the afternoon (after normal lunch hours, but normal tourist hours :) ) but they told us we have to wait as they will open at dinner time, we almost gave up when a gentleman who was making a reservation told us we should not give up on the place so we made a reservation for dinner.
We should thank this gentleman because it was indeed a very good meal, entree we had the platter with cold cuts, cheese, salads etc, main course i had the portuguese duck (a bit spicy, but you may water it down with wine) and my brother had some sort of fish (i cannot remember).
minuses were related to the selection of white wines (i am Romanian and we tend to be very demanding of foreign white wines as our local ones are quite good) and the deserts. overall a good pick for a nice dinner in a cosy place - book in advance, it gets completely full!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stumbled across this restaurant early one evening during a recent stay in Amsterdam. It was packed but they managed to accommodate us later on in the evening. It was worth the wait. The food was delicious. Two of our party had one of the specials - Grandmother's stew - which they claimed was excellent. I had the piri piri chicken which was far superior to one we had had earlier in the week - very tasty and plenty of it. The house wine was good too and reasonably priced. The waiting staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The toilets however could do with some attention.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Szmulewicz also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Szmulewicz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Szmulewicz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.