We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious! Red velvet cake!!! ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Szmulewicz

Restaurant Szmulewicz
Bakkersstraat 12, Amsterdam 1017 CW, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)
+31 (0)20 6202822
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #186 of 2,231 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $32 - $40
Cuisines: Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Rembrandtplein
Cologne, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious! Red velvet cake!!! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was right around the corner from our hotel, but its also really easy to get to from anywhere. The food was delicious, the wine was cheap and best of all the desert....red velvet cake. I couldn't believe it was even on the menu. It was fantastic. We wanted to go back every night just for dessert. Great restaurant, definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    42
    33
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massa Lubrense
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't go there unless you are really hungry ...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

... and if you are hungry you're better off elsewhere. Previous reviewers must have come here straight from the coffeeshop across the square, totally high. Only that can explain their positive reviews of this place. They served me a tiny steak which was way overdone, unseasoned, tasteless. This came together with bland grilled vegetables, and over-fried french fries. The only redeeming feature was the waitress, which was very nice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Eclectic menu, excellent execution, terrific value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a restaurant frequented by locals (rather than hordes of tourists) with an interesting menu and a casual environment. We found it just off the north side of Rembrandtplein! We didn't need a reservation that night as it was on the late side of the normal dinner time ~(8:45 pm on a Wednesday). It was busy and animated nevertheless.

The pumpkin soup was flavorful and unique (as described by other TA fans). My husband had the Pakistani papadum cake with curried potatoes, three lentil dahl and eggplant raita -- a fun presentation of flat round papadum separated by a layer of dahl and raita, followed by another layer of papadum, and finally the curried potatoes at the bottom. Really special!

I had the "Flamiche aux poireaux Belgian leek quiche with fried mushrooms and coarse mosertsaus" -- a Flemish quiche of mushrooms and leek garnished with a crisp fried mushroom -- with a course mustard sauce underneath. A lovely and filling vegan dish.

Instead of wine, we opted for Brand biers. Our tab for one soup, a mixed salad, two mains, and 4 biers was just 47 euro. Service was warm and friendly so we tipped over the routine "round up".

We highly recommend this at the risk of seeing tourists in the future. We'll definitely go back on future visits!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good price perfect dish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

i think this place is the best....i ordered greek style lamb with green salad.. it was perfect and waitress were very friendly..good price also..i will go there tonight again for pakistanee goat:)) i strongly recommended...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Top-notch nosh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Really nice varied menu - groovy décor - charming staff ... if we had more time we would have gone back.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Szmulewicz also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Szmulewicz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Szmulewicz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.