We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eelhouse B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eelhouse B&B
Save
You added Eelhouse B&B to your Saves list
Tweede Lindendwarsstraat 21, 1015 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 323 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Great B&B in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Cozy B&B at a great location in Amsterdam. Surpringly short distances to practically everywhere in the city. Wonderful hostess, who brings the breakfast to your own room! Awesome restaurants and cafés nearby. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
86
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Eelhouse is a such a great find in Amsterdam! Located in the Jordaan, it is just far enough away from the hustle and bustle and close enough to all of the major attractions to make you feel like you are not missing out on anything. We walked everywhere from the B&B and felt as it nothing was too far away. Our hosts were both welcoming and helpful with useful suggestions for restaurants and such. The only reason why I did not give this B&B a five star rating is because of the steep stairs to all of the rooms. After a long day of exploring the city, it was a bit tough to navigate our way up to the top floor (although we did love our attic room). But, overall, we had a wonderful stay at the Eelhouse and would certainly book again when we return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor if you have trouble with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

We spent one week at Eelhouse B & B in February. We really enjoyed the location on a quiet street in Jordaan, yet were close to restaurants, shops, bars and many different weekly markets. I especially enjoyed the view from our room in the morning, surrounded by gorgeous houses and watching the locals bike around the neighbourhood.
Vera was wonderful, delivering our breakfast with a smile every morning and helped us navigate our way around the city.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

Stayed at the Eelhouse in last November, together with my girlfriend. It was a great experience, the B&B is located in 'de Jordaan' a nice neighberhood close to central station and all the touristic things of Amsterdam, but it has the vibe of real Amsterdam.

Great restaurants and bars closeby and the owners can give you great recommendations.

we stayed in the top room, which needs some climbing up some stairs, but is was worth it, a nice clean room with a great view at the 'westertoren', very romantic!

The room came with a bottle of wine and a free beverages in the fridge which was also a nice extra. The breakfast is also great, lots of choice and delivered right on the doorstep of our room!

If you want to stay in Amsterdam do some sightseeing, but still want a taste of genuine Amsterdam, Eelhouse and their lovely owners is the perfect choice!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

Friends recommended The Jordaan as the area to stay for our recent visit to Amsterdam. We found The Eelhouse on the internet and booked a stay for 4 nights. Both were inspired choices. The Eelhouse is a typical Amsterdam house with the benefit of a position on the corner of a quiet residential street. The corner position along with the large windows give the rooms a very light feel with great views. The room was tastefully furnished with a large comfortable bed as well as tea/coffee making facilities and a very well stocked fridge. There is a small table and chairs for you to enjoy your breakfast. There is also an en suite toilet and shower room. The hosts Vera and Jasper take real pride in their guesthouse and it shows. A wonderful breakfast is served in your room at the time you request. The rooms are cleaned and the complimentary fridge restocked daily.

The Eeelhouse is a short,pleasant walk from the station and within easy walking distance of the main tourist sights, but the area feels like the "real" Amsterdam. Jordaan is also well served by buses and trams. There are plenty of very good restaurants and bars close by as well as a wide range of shops. There are supermarkets a short walk away and the area is well served by may independent (and some quirky) shops.

From the moment we booked online until we left Vera and Jasper could not have been more friendly and helpful. When we return to Amsterdam we will not have any doubt about where to stay!

Many Thanks Vera and Jasper for a wonderful stay.

Janet and Steve

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

My friend and I, two females in our mid-twenties, stayed at the Eelhouse for three days in January. We were VERY excited to stay at the Eelhouse after reading the house's history on the website, and all the reviews here on trip advisor. We were not disappointed.

We walked from Amsterdam Centraal, very manageable even with our luggage. The Jordaan district is BEAUTIFUL and very quiet compared to the more tourist-y part of Amsterdam. Despite being in a quiet area, the Eelhouse is close to everything you could want to see. Very VERY close to the Anne Frank. In fact, our room had a view of the spire of Westerkerk -- which is located right next to the Anne Frank House. We would navigate back to the hotel by following the church spire!
The location overall was wonderful and quiet and seemingly safe, all while being close to the best Amsterdam has to offer.

We also walked to Dam Square, the museum district, and the nine street shopping area with ease. The Eelhouse is also close to some canal tour docks, and lovely restaurants.

Our room was well equipped and very clean. The bed was so comfortable, and we had full control of the heat in the room -- which was great. The bathroom was clean and a fine size. Best of all the room had a great little coffee maker with coffee pods, an electric kettle and tea bags, and a fridge filled with wine, beer, orange juice, and water bottles. All included in the room.

Vera, the owner, brought breakfast up to our room every morning at the time we requested. Breakfast included bread, croissants, hard boiled eggs, jam, meat, cheese, and fruit. It was all so good!

The wifi was free, and VERY fast. We could relax at night searching for things to do the next day. Also, Vera and Jasper provided GREAT restaurant recommendations, responding to our email very quickly.

We did call a cab to bring us to the train station on our last day, and it was cheap. If you are looking for a cab company look at the iamsterdam site, as they have a listing of reputable companies.

The Eelhouse was wonderful, Vera and Jasper seem to love running it and it really shows. The location is cute and residential -- giving you a real feel for living in Amsterdam. I totally recommend this B&B to everyone and anyone planning to visit Amsterdam.

The only flaw are the original stairs, which I liked as part of the charm. Plus, Jasper and Vera help carry your bags. Only worth a mention for anyone with mobility problems.

Room Tip: Stairs are steep, but part of the charm. If you need a lower room, feel free to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Eelhouse for two nights this summer. From the very start we had a fantastic experience!

From the start Vera & Jasper were the most excellent hosts. Jasper helped with our luggage up the narrow windy staircase to our lovely 'queen' room with a view. Jasper showed us a map of Amsterdam and pointed out all of the places we inquired about and gave us great recommendations of his own.

It just so happened that we were there the night that the Dutch Team played Spain in the World Cup. Jasper invited us to their 'street party' to watch the game; what a fun night that turned out to be after the Dutch victory! It was a great time and so memorable to have a true local experience of Amsterdam...all thanks to Jasper & Vera!

Hands down, the highlight of our trip!! Oh and the in room breakfast basket & stocked fridge of beer & wine was the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eelhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eelhouse B&B

Address: Tweede Lindendwarsstraat 21, 1015 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 323 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and small guesthouse in the heart of Amsterdam. A lovely historic neighborhood, across the street from a square. Modern rooms, each with bath and a french balcony. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eelhouse Bed And Breakfast
Eelhouse Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eelhouse B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.