We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Eelhouse!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eelhouse B&B

Save Saved
You added Eelhouse B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eelhouse B&B
Tweede Lindendwarsstraat 21, 1015 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 303 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Centennial, Co
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Love the Eelhouse!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at the Eelhouse in November, and loved it. The room is clean, pretty, cozy and the views out of the windows are spectacular! The breakfast was great, and like others have said, there's enough for breakfast and lunch! The complimentary wine, beer, juice and water in the mini fridge are an extra nice touch, and they are even replenished daily.

Vera and Jasper (and their kitties!) are both very friendly and helpful. The B&B and the Jordaan neighborhood are great, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
75
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This has to be one of the best B&B We have ever stayed in. Vera and Jasper were perfect hosts made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. Wholesome breakfast in your room each morning. Beer juice and wine in the fridge at no extra cost also gave great information on where to go and what to do in Amsterdam. The room was cosy, clean and bright(January is cold in Amsterdam but our room was so cosy and warm). The location could not be bettered Jordaan has a real bohemian feel to it and its great to mix with the locals who are really friendly.So a big thanks to Vera and Jasper for an excellent stay at the Eelhouse. Highly recommended

Room Tip: If you dont like climbing steep stairs request a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

A great getaway in the fun city of Amsterdam. The owners are perfect hosts, the B&B is clean, cute, reasonably priced and located within walking distance of everything Amsterdam has to offer, yet just enough away from the center (Joordan) to make you feel more like a local than a tourist. It is right down from the Ann Frank house, perfect for getting there before the huge lines arrive and easy to hop on a canal boat from there if you want to cruise the canals. Everything from bike rentals and grocery stores to restaurants and other famous sites are at a stone's throw as well. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed for four days at Eelhouse and really enjoyed our time in Amsterdam!
The owner Vera made us feel very welcome, with good guidance about the city (maps, info, things to do) and great breakfasts every morning.

Location is perfect, near central station, walking distance, and well connected to public transportation (trams, bus)
Room was clean, spacious and comfortable.
We would definitly recommend Eelhouse, because it offers all the required services and gives you the authentic taste of Amsterdam in the area of Jordaan.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

There is very little to add to the list of excellent reviews this little guesthouse has already received except to say that all positive comments are well deserved. My expectations were high due to all the great reviews I had read on this site prior to booking but those high expectations were met and exceeded.

I think we were in the second from top apartment and it was very homely, Vera was a very friendly and welcoming hostess, striking the perfect balance of being accomodating and helpful without being intrusive. Breakfast was excellent and having your own little coffee maker in the room was handy for all day caffeine kicks. Of course the stairs are steep and narrow so lower apartments may suit some.

We loved the neighbourhood, quiet without seeming isolated and with all local amenities within a 2 minute walk. You almost feel like a local while you stay because the location has such a residential feel just outside the main tourist areas.

Can't fault the Eelhouse B and B, a nice homely guesthouse in a lovely neighbourhood and a great base to explore this wonderful city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipsburg, null, Netherlands Antilles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

This quaint little B&B is located in the middle of the Jordaan, one of the oldest neighborhoods in Amsterdam. The owners Vera and Jasper are very friendly, helpful and very professional! They can help you with all your questions and even helped my husband plan a surprise cake and flowers in the room when we arrived since it was my birthday that weekend!!! Perfect for a romantic getaway and starting point to explore the beautiful city of Amsterdam! Vera and Jasper can give you excellent tips to see not just the tourist attractions but also to see the real Amsterdam! The breakfast they provide was way more than expected and the room was very clean! Best weekend getaway we have been on! Thanks Vera and Jasper! We look forward to returning!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed twice, mid Sept. and late Oct. for a total of 5 nights. Vera is a wonderful hostess, who climbs the narrow steep spiral staircase many many times a day, and will gladly offer to pack your luggage up the stairs. (trust me, the carrying of even carry-on sized luggage up four flights is at times death defying) We met Jasper on our second visit and he is like his wife -- a delight.
Their breakfast is GREAT, and so plentiful we packed the remainder up for picnic lunches. A nice touch with the room is the small fridge stocked with water, a couple of beer and a bottle of wine -- all INCLUDED with the room cost. (E110).

The room itself? We requested the loft based on some reviews, BUT, it is FOUR floors up those damned stairs. The room itself is very small, and the bathroom is tiny with one of those showers that is not separate and is incorporated into the end of the skinny bathroom. We know this is a very old Amsterdam house, and that is pretty neat, but the loft was too small for our bumbling feet.

I also know that AMS isn't inexpensive, and the room rate was market, and the location is very good, and the area (Jordaan, and a 20 minute walk from Central Station), full of restaurants of every ilk, but if we were going to stay again, it would be the lower level unit ( a bit larger and more accessible)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eelhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eelhouse B&B

Address: Tweede Lindendwarsstraat 21, 1015 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and small guesthouse in the heart of Amsterdam. A lovely historic neighborhood, across the street from a square. Modern rooms, each with bath and a french balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Eelhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eelhouse Bed And Breakfast
Eelhouse Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eelhouse B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.