We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but a tad small.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eelhouse B&B

Save Saved
You added Eelhouse B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Eelhouse B&B
Tweede Lindendwarsstraat 21, Amsterdam 1015 LH, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 297 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great location but a tad small.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed twice, mid Sept. and late Oct. for a total of 5 nights. Vera is a wonderful hostess, who climbs the narrow steep spiral staircase many many times a day, and will gladly offer to pack your luggage up the stairs. (trust me, the carrying of even carry-on sized luggage up four flights is at times death defying) We met Jasper on our second visit and he is like his wife -- a delight.
Their breakfast is GREAT, and so plentiful we packed the remainder up for picnic lunches. A nice touch with the room is the small fridge stocked with water, a couple of beer and a bottle of wine -- all INCLUDED with the room cost. (E110).

The room itself? We requested the loft based on some reviews, BUT, it is FOUR floors up those damned stairs. The room itself is very small, and the bathroom is tiny with one of those showers that is not separate and is incorporated into the end of the skinny bathroom. We know this is a very old Amsterdam house, and that is pretty neat, but the loft was too small for our bumbling feet.

I also know that AMS isn't inexpensive, and the room rate was market, and the location is very good, and the area (Jordaan, and a 20 minute walk from Central Station), full of restaurants of every ilk, but if we were going to stay again, it would be the lower level unit ( a bit larger and more accessible)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
69
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Calling yourself a B&B can mean many things...in this case it means a delightful apartment in a small home, in a quiet well located neighborhood, with in-keepers that were perfectly attentive, but never intrusive.

Our room was a cozy apartment in an authentic Amsterdam Canal style home, with a private entrance, Very steep steps, small but efficient spaces, and windows that opened with a view of rooftops and a small neighborhood park. Lack of AC might be a problem in August, but I would trade the sound of church bells, and kids playing in the park for the hum of a mechanical AC unit, and the atmosphere of an impersonal hotel.

I was initially concerned that the Eel house was a bit to far removed from the center of the "action"...yes it is in a quiet neighborhood, outside the Western canal ring, but since Amsterdam is such a compact city, we were able to walk everywhere, very convenient to the Anne Frank house, and close to many neighborhood restaurants and small shops...and I never minded walking the extra 5 or 10 minutes back to my room...away from the crowds in the center of the city...through interesting streets to our wonderful neighborhood.

Breakfast was brought to the room at an exact time of my choosing, and I likes making my own excellent coffee and tea with our own coffee maker and water kettle. It was very relaxing to sit at "Our" breakfast table, with my partner, eating a filling and fresh breakfast...including farm fresh boiled eggs, fresh fruit, yogurt, and fresh bread...in our cozy space.

As you can tell, spaces are small...The Eel house is located in Amsterdam after all, both the room and bathroom are "cozy" but there is plenty of room in the apartment, for a comfortable queen sized bed, and nice breakfast table, and the room has a small Mini-Fridge, restocked everyday with bottled water, beer and wine!

Stay here if you want to experience the feeling of a quaint apartment, in a real home, with genuinely nice in-keepers, who are politely attentive.

Stay here if you want to be in a neighborhood that is in a charming part of the city, just far enough removed from the action to be delightful.

The Eel House is a great blend of value, location and relaxing comfort!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Vic
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Eelhouse and really enjoyed our stay. Both Jasper & Vera were very helpful and the breakfast each morning was delicious and plentiful. The location of the Eelhouse was great . It was only 15 mins walk to either the station, Dam Square or Anne Frank house and neighbourhood was quiet. Apart from the steep and windy stairs the house had alot of charm and character. The room was very comfortable with a microwave , kettle and coffee machine. The area was very safe as we walked around at night to take in the sights and get photos of the canals and lights. We even found the neighbours to be very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Difficult to find enough superlatives to describe this place. Start with the proprietors - Vera and Jasper - could not have been more kind, informative, or accommodating. Perfect location to all the sites and good restaurants. Very old and charming historic home set across from a park. Beautiful large windows overlook the streets below and let in the cool breezes. Room with small refrig stocked with wine, beer, juice, and water (complimentary!). Fantastic breakfast. Good value for the money. Highly recommended - will return for sure on the next visit. Only one caveat - steep steps and lots of them (Jasper handles the luggage, bless him!), so not suited for the arthritic or otherwise limited. Trust us - you will not regret you reservation or stay at the Eelhouse B&B!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

You or your taxi driver won't find this place by any signs.....there aren't any. Go by the address and you'll get there. Wonderful, modernized room in a corner building about a 7-minute walk from Ann Franke's house. The Landlords are a young couple, Vera and Jasper. They'll help you and your luggage up and down the steep staircase to your room. And Vera brings you breakfast to your room at your convenience. An interesting combo coffee-expresso-type machine makes individual cups of coffee in your room. We only spent 2 nights there after our river cruise, but we really liked the place and Amsterdam in general. The room and bed were very comfortable.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms. The top one is a little smaller, but the other 2 are the same. The difference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We loved our stay with Vera and Jasper who gave good directions. it is a bit of a walk from Centraal Station but close to everything while still nice and quiet at night. it was lovely and clean and our hosts were very generous with their time. The breakfast was lovely and included fresh croissants, fruit, yogurt, meat cheeses. There were chocolates in the room and all in all very delightful, we would totally recommend the Eel House

Room Tip: Always ask for directions to your room. I think every room in the Eel House is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here for one night en route to Texel island. What at amazing place, our only compliant is that our stay was too short. We were greeted by the friendly owners who took us to our room. The room was beautiful and the fridge had a complimentary bottle of wine, two beers, water and orange juice! The lady gave us advice on what to see and do in Amsterdam. The location is perfect in a really nice area only a 15 minute walk from the train station. In the morning we were brought breakfast in our room. We couldn't recommend this B&B highly enough!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eelhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eelhouse B&B

Also Known As:
Eelhouse Hotel Amsterdam
Eelhouse Hotel
Eelhouse Bed And Breakfast
Address: Tweede Lindendwarsstraat 21, Amsterdam 1015 LH, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and small guesthouse in the heart of Amsterdam. A lovely historic neighborhood, across the street from a square. Modern rooms, each with bath and a french balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Eelhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eelhouse B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.