We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Dutch experience! Fantastic Breakfast and lovely welcoming hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eelhouse B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Eelhouse B&B to your Saves list
Eelhouse B&B
Tweede Lindendwarsstraat 21, 1015 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dutch experience! Fantastic Breakfast and lovely welcoming hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed at the Eel House for 2 nights and loved our stay! The B&B is in a quiet residential neighbourhood of Amsterdam called Jordaan. It is definitely the place to stay in Amsterdam, rather than the over touristed area. It is about a 10 minute walk from the train station. The hosts are a lovely young couple, who are very friendly and welcoming, they also have two beautiful cats. The rooms are up a very steep and historic staircase, so not so good for the unfit. Our room had windows on 2 sides overlooking a lovely park and other historic buildings, with lovely window boxes of colourful flowers. It felt like our own apartment for 2 days. Breakfast is served in your room at a time that suits you, which is fantastic. The breakfast was beautiful, traditional dutch style, with lots of breads, cheeses, fruit and a coffee machine in your room to make as much coffee as you like. Everything is walking distance, but you must get a dutch style bike and explore Amsterdam the right way! We would HIGHLY reccommend this beautiful B&B to others, just wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
80
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Culemborg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

My daughter (9 years old) and I spent one night at the Eelhouse. We loved it. Anne said it was a ten plus! (which means very good). We were welcomed by Jasper. He explained us everything and took time to tell us about Amsterdam and where we could go.

The beds are comfortable and the bathroom/shower nice. The room for Amsterdam standards is spacious and very nice with windows on both sides. There is everything you might need. Even a small kitchen area (which we did not use).
Opposite the B&B there is a playgarden. This is closed for the evening and the night and during daytime open for public. During the night it was very quiet outside, even given the fact we stayed the night before a public holiday. and bars are within walking distance.
Also the Anne Frank House is nearby.

Breakfast is superb. A lot to choose from. A good start to go off and explore Amsterdam. Together with my daughter, I walked everywhere from the B&B, like the Vincent van Gogh Museum and the Dam.

I would definitely recommend it to anyone, because of Vera and jasper being very friendly and their hospitality, the neighbourhood being typical for Amsterdam and it's central location and the comfortable room with the very well taken care for breakfast.
I would not advise it to people with very small children or elderly people because of the staircase. It did not bother us, but when you are not use to the 'old staircases' you might consider it to be steep.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

our first time in Amsterdam with our kid. The location is excellent - close to everything, and quiet. the house is narrow like most of Amsterdam houses - just beautiful. and the service! this younge couple who own the hotel (i can't recall their names unfortunately) were so nice, so welcoming, and so helpful. one last thing - let's not forget the amazing breakfast they serve to the room at morning (one big advantage comparing to many other hotels in the city which do not serve breakfast at all).
it felt like home, clean, welcoming, good quality and good price (not too many rooms - so book in advance).
we will definitely try to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munich
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

When you arrive at the Eel House, it is easy to feel as if you just checked into a 4-star hotel. After climbing the most charming old stair case, our room on the second floor was spacious, spotlessly clean and little chocolates everywhere. A TV, beautifully tiled shower and bathroom en-suite, a little fridge with everything you would possibly need from milk, OJ to beer and wine; there was even a little sink and a coffe machine plus kettle with an assortment of teas. Oh, what a wonderful B&B! It is in a quite are, so guarantees good nights of sleep, and yet so central that you wander easily through little streets with cafes into the heart of the city within 10 min. You need anything? Directions, idea on what to do or a taxi service picking you up early in the morning to take you to the airport? Do not worry, the owners are very helpful and will assist you with anything you need. This is your home away from home. If you don't go there, well I sure am.
Note to the reader: Please book way ahead. As you can see, there is no need for good reviews for the Eel House as they are a great place to stay, so make sure you book way ahead of your journey.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

We had a weekend in Amesterdam where we attended a seminar so we needed to stay in a nice room in order to rest well and be fit for the next day. We found the best place at Eelhouse. The rooms are very clean and cosy with a sophisticated design and much love to details. You will be well equipped , we even found an umbrella. Vera is a very obliging host. We have already asked for the next time we are in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

Gezellig (pronounced heh-zell-egh), is a staple in Dutch language, yet has no literal translation into English. Gezellig is a word that conveys a feeling of coziness, comfort, and warmth. It can be used to describe a person, place, or situation. It pretty much sums up EVERYTHING about the Eelhouse.

First, Vera and Jasper (and their two resident kitties). You just couldn't ask for two nicer, more helpful hosts. Restaurant suggestions, directions, stuff to do...whatever you need, they're happy to help. Every morning breakfast arrives at your door, and what a breakfast it is! Eggs, breads, fruits yogurt and spreads of every variety. I could never eat it all and ended up making a sandwich to take on my morning excursions. Plus, the fridge is stocked with complimentary beer, wine and water.

The rooms. I was in "the room with a view" (aka the top floor). It had everything I needed tucked handily into efficient spaces. The view out to the rooftops of the Jordaan was spectacular (as was the workout I got climbing the near 90-degree incline flights of stairs to my little hideaway. Truthfully, the only thing wrong with my room is that it was so wonderful, that it was hard to drag myself out of it. One night I grabbed take-out Indonesian food at a place that was a few doors up from the Eelhouse. I sat and watched the sun set over the rooftops and enjoyed my amazing meal and complimentary wine. Life just doesn't get much better than that.

The location. However, when I did tempt myself out the front door, lovely Amsterdam awaited me. Just a few blocks from Noordekerk and smack in the midst of the Jordaan, it's a fantastic place to be: a twenty minute walk to the train station, about the same to the center of the city, and a hop-skip-jump to the Brouwersgracht, the most beautiful canal in Amsterdam.

Many years ago, as a college student, I was lucky enough to call Amsterdam home for eight months. Being able to experience it again, with a place as gezellig as the Eelhouse to call home base, was pure magic.

Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

We arrived in Amsterdam and walked to the Eelhouse from Central Station. Vera gave us excellent directions and we were met and helped up the steep stairs to our top floor room. The room had a very good view of the Jordaan area and tower, the ceilings were sloped so the bed was on the ground to make more room. After we got use to the small space it grew on us, everything was so well maintained and clean. The breakfast was more than enough each day and the fridge was restocked with water, wine, beer and juice.
Vera and Jasper were such good hosts they really made you feel like you could ask them any advice to make your stay more pleasant. The Jordaan area was such a good place to be in the city. lots of small bars and very good restaurants within walking distance. When we ventured over to the other tourisy areas we could hardly wait to get back to our quiet charming part of the city. As first time visitors to Amsterdam staying at the Eelhouse gave us the feeling of living with the locals for a brief time.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eelhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eelhouse B&B

Address: Tweede Lindendwarsstraat 21, 1015 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and small guesthouse in the heart of Amsterdam. A lovely historic neighborhood, across the street from a square. Modern rooms, each with bath and a french balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Eelhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eelhouse Bed And Breakfast
Eelhouse Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eelhouse B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.