We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tibetaanse restaurant Tibet

Tibetaanse restaurant Tibet
Lange Niezel 24, 1012 GT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)
020 6241137
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #172 of 2,245 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: Tibetan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Neighborhood: Red Light District
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“First time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was our first time trying Tibetan food and we were pleasantly surprised. The food was great and also very affordable. The restaurant is in the red light district and we got a table by the window which allowed up to people watch. Food came out promptly and was very fresh. It was great for the price and we would definitely visit again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    81
    68
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Shocking!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Was advised to eat in this restaurant....how I wish we have it a miss! After ordering I received my starter but my boyfriends starter arrived 10 minutes after mine along with our main courses and he thought the starter was awful!! Main course dishes were tasteless and terrible....we couldn't finish them and even went for food afterwards!! Would not recommend this restaurant....stay away!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very nice food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was the first time we tried Tibetan food and we loved it! The food here was superb. Very fresh. Spicy as well if you like that and we definitely did! The ambience is very tibetian. The restaurant was very clean with nice furniture. We had lunch here and even during lunch this place had a consistent flow of people. Thankfully we only ordered one spicy wonton soup to share and a lamb dish that is quite popular at the restaurant. This was adequate for us as the serving size is quite large. Good value for money!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Absolutely delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

very spicy food, depending on what you order. but absolutely delicious! very well served also, we were three and ordered two dishes, and yet we could not finish everything. very kind staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Did not deliver on taste....sadly.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Had high hopes whilst visiting this restaurant, especially for Tibetian MOMOS. We ended up having momos, Tibetian Tea and Noodles soup. Sadly, the food was jsut about Ok. We have eaten Tibetain food before thus, knew how they are supposed to taste. Unfortunately, it appears the chef had an off day.

Momo fillings were a bit salty and the noodle soup slightly bland. Maybe we had too much expectation. Having said this, food was average but the atmosphere and service was very good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tibetaanse restaurant Tibet also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tibetaanse restaurant Tibet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tibetaanse restaurant Tibet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.