We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deccor but lots of stairs!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Apartments Alexander's B.V.

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amsterdam Apartments Alexander's B.V.
Save
You added Amsterdam Apartments Alexander's B.V. to your Saves list
Ruijsdaelkade 109 | Gerard Doustraat 8, 1072VP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (De Pijp)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 201 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great deccor but lots of stairs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I came here on my hen party with 14 other ladies. We took up most of the apartment block and i can safely say we were all happy with our rooms. I think i drew the short straw in the attic as there was no full length mirror or a fancy TV like in the others but it was fine. All rooms were clean, comfortable, nice decor and we were more than happy to share a kitchen, shower room and toilet with my friends. I think it's a brilliant, affordable idea for big groups. Alex was very friendly and even provided us with some maps. His other member of staff assisted me in booking a taxi. The apartments are definitely not for the elderly. You need to be fit to make it up 56 stairs to the top of which are steep however i found out this is the norm in Amsterdam. The apartments are located in a pictoresque, quiet location and is very different to the centre. Beautiful setting. I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: If you're in a couple i'd make sure you don't have a shared bathroom preferably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
2
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We arrived there during the autumn break. We were 5 students looking for a nice place to stay but not too expensive. We saw before the pictures but we thought that the price compared to the pictures is too good to be true but still, we booked it. When we arrived we had a huge surprise. Alexander is great, as well as his apartment. The best way to describe the ap: " we felt like home!" It was clean and cozy and a nice area very close to the flea market and heineken museum.
We are looking forward to go back !

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The owner is really friendly and reliable. The apartments are big, really nicely decorated and very clean. We were 3 couples, been there only for the weekend, and was so worth the money. It had a small open kitchen (we did not use it) and a very nice pateo. The apartments are very well located. Really recomended and will book them again!

Room Tip: we were on the ground floor, but next time will ask for the last floor because i could hear the neig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Excellent experience all round. Clean, comfortable and functional apartment and although we ere on the ground floor still quiet. Great location close to Rijksmuseum and albert cuyps market. Alexander offers a nice personal touch himself with a bottle of Prosecco and chocolates FOC.

Highly recomended.

Room Tip: Ground floor apartment is good if you have big luggage. You can stagger back from the bar next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We loved Alexander's! Great location. Ended up being our favorite area of Amsterdam, Oud zuid. Alexander was vey helpful. Let us drop off our bags early and helped us locate a parking option that was superb! The room was perfect! We had the top floor with balcony. The stairway going up is really neat, classic Amsterdam style. I would recommend this place for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I booked this appartment (Gerard Doustraat street) through booking.com. for 1300 EUR as a solo traveller (130 EUR per night). My first impression was not possitive as the appartment was dirty, the bathrom was smelly and the furniture looked like saved from the garbage but I decided to stay and focus on work ignoring the unpleasant ambience. It turned out to be the worst decision ever. The appartment was frequently visited by mice, the owner or his employees visited the place every day ignoring the wish for privacy and finally - I got bitten by bed bugs what caused a very strong allergy. Booking.com was not feeling responsible for this issue (they think they are intermediaries only and can't do anything) and the owner simply declined to have mice and bed bugs - according to him it could be a food alergy (that bites?), washing powder's allergy, bees (bitting 15 times?) or mosquitos. So I should better catch the mice and the bed bugs and bring them as proof.

So my hint is - if you have a big enemy and you want him to get attacked by bed bugs - book this appartment for him/her through booking.com!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Bavaria, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Alexander's team is very kind and helpful. The two appartments we rented in Da Costa Staat for a period of almost 3 months were OK for Amsterdam standards and price: very comfortable beds, internet and a very good location - supermarket, restaurants and tram nearby, only few minutes away from Dam Square. The appartments could be a little cleaner, but all the rest is satisfying if you are searching a simple accomodation.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#134 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
De Pijp
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
Sir Albert Hotel Amsterdam
#33 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 628 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
#66 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#225 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 678 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#98 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,064 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Apartments Alexander's B.V.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Apartments Alexander's B.V.

Address: Ruijsdaelkade 109 | Gerard Doustraat 8, 1072VP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 201 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Apartments Alexanders is situated in one of the most central quarters in Amsterdam called 'De Pijp/Oud Zuid'. It is the Quartier Latin of Amsterdam with plenty of bars, restaurants, small shops and the daily outdoor market Albert Cuyp. It is a 5 minute walk to Museumsquare with Rijksmuseum, van Gogh museum, the 'Stedelijk'museum of Contemporary Art and the Concert hall. Also just next to the canal belt. Alexander's offers self contained accommodation in a quiet street in a building of 1886 (yes including the typical Dutch steep flights of stairs ;-) also some groundfloor apartments available). Studio's and one or two bedroom apartments come with fully equipped kitchenette. Public transport at 100 m. Bicycle rental nearby. FREE INTERNET. Amsterdam has a rich history and culture, come and discover....Enjoy! We hope to welcome you soon. Alexander ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Apartments Alexander's B.V., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.