We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beyond our expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Apartments Alexander's B.V.

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amsterdam Apartments Alexander's B.V.
Save
You added Amsterdam Apartments Alexander's B.V. to your Saves list
Ruijsdaelkade 109 | Gerard Doustraat 8, 1072VP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“beyond our expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We arrived there during the autumn break. We were 5 students looking for a nice place to stay but not too expensive. We saw before the pictures but we thought that the price compared to the pictures is too good to be true but still, we booked it. When we arrived we had a huge surprise. Alexander is great, as well as his apartment. The best way to describe the ap: " we felt like home!" It was clean and cozy and a nice area very close to the flea market and heineken museum.
We are looking forward to go back !

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The owner is really friendly and reliable. The apartments are big, really nicely decorated and very clean. We were 3 couples, been there only for the weekend, and was so worth the money. It had a small open kitchen (we did not use it) and a very nice pateo. The apartments are very well located. Really recomended and will book them again!

Room Tip: we were on the ground floor, but next time will ask for the last floor because i could hear the neig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Excellent experience all round. Clean, comfortable and functional apartment and although we ere on the ground floor still quiet. Great location close to Rijksmuseum and albert cuyps market. Alexander offers a nice personal touch himself with a bottle of Prosecco and chocolates FOC.

Highly recomended.

Room Tip: Ground floor apartment is good if you have big luggage. You can stagger back from the bar next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We loved Alexander's! Great location. Ended up being our favorite area of Amsterdam, Oud zuid. Alexander was vey helpful. Let us drop off our bags early and helped us locate a parking option that was superb! The room was perfect! We had the top floor with balcony. The stairway going up is really neat, classic Amsterdam style. I would recommend this place for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I booked this appartment (Gerard Doustraat street) through booking.com. for 1300 EUR as a solo traveller (130 EUR per night). My first impression was not possitive as the appartment was dirty, the bathrom was smelly and the furniture looked like saved from the garbage but I decided to stay and focus on work ignoring the unpleasant ambience. It turned out to be the worst decision ever. The appartment was frequently visited by mice, the owner or his employees visited the place every day ignoring the wish for privacy and finally - I got bitten by bed bugs what caused a very strong allergy. Booking.com was not feeling responsible for this issue (they think they are intermediaries only and can't do anything) and the owner simply declined to have mice and bed bugs - according to him it could be a food alergy (that bites?), washing powder's allergy, bees (bitting 15 times?) or mosquitos. So I should better catch the mice and the bed bugs and bring them as proof.

So my hint is - if you have a big enemy and you want him to get attacked by bed bugs - book this appartment for him/her through booking.com!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Bavaria, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Alexander's team is very kind and helpful. The two appartments we rented in Da Costa Staat for a period of almost 3 months were OK for Amsterdam standards and price: very comfortable beds, internet and a very good location - supermarket, restaurants and tram nearby, only few minutes away from Dam Square. The appartments could be a little cleaner, but all the rest is satisfying if you are searching a simple accomodation.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

After booking this apartment on venere.com we received a confirmation which stated our 2-room apartment was on De Costastraat. Good location. However it's only possible to collect the keys until 6p.m. Upon opening the front door to a filthy steep, narrow staircase we discovered a thin dingy room with a narrow kitchen, not the 2 rooms we had booked. Furniture was a ramshackle of junk fit for a garbage tip. A badly constructed double sofabed plus an unstable fold out bed were provided for sleeping. Unsuitable for an average sized human. The most bizare aspect was the accomadation included 14 sinks - 14??? Worst of all there was a notice on the door stating 'beare of people outside posing as officials/policemen. On no account show them your passport or id. Do not under any circumstances open the door or allow anyone into the building. We could only deduce that maybe the building was squatted or inhabited by illegal immigrants or criminal activity was taking place. This was not a case of 'you get what you pay for' as we were charged 200 euros a night for this horror show. Frankly i would rather stay up all night than step foot in this vile place ever again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Apartments Alexander's B.V.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Apartments Alexander's B.V.

Address: Ruijsdaelkade 109 | Gerard Doustraat 8, 1072VP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam Apartments Alexanders is situated in one of the most central quarters in Amsterdam called 'De Pijp/Oud Zuid'. It is the Quartier Latin of Amsterdam with plenty of bars, restaurants, small shops and the daily outdoor market Albert Cuyp. It is a 5 minute walk to Museumsquare with Rijksmuseum, van Gogh museum, the 'Stedelijk'museum of Contemporary Art and the Concert hall. Also just next to the canal belt. Alexander's offers self contained accommodation in a quiet street in a building of 1886 (yes including the typical Dutch steep flights of stairs ;-) also some groundfloor apartments available). Studio's and one or two bedroom apartments come with fully equipped kitchenette. Public transport at 100 m. Bicycle rental nearby. FREE INTERNET. Amsterdam has a rich history and culture, come and discover....Enjoy! We hope to welcome you soon. Alexander ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Apartments Alexander's B.V., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.