We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stairway to heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Apartments Alexander's B.V.

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amsterdam Apartments Alexander's B.V.
Ruijsdaelkade 109 | Gerard Doustraat 8, Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Stairway to heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We loved Alexander's! Great location. Ended up being our favorite area of Amsterdam, Oud zuid. Alexander was vey helpful. Let us drop off our bags early and helped us locate a parking option that was superb! The room was perfect! We had the top floor with balcony. The stairway going up is really neat, classic Amsterdam style. I would recommend this place for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I booked this appartment (Gerard Doustraat street) through booking.com. for 1300 EUR as a solo traveller (130 EUR per night). My first impression was not possitive as the appartment was dirty, the bathrom was smelly and the furniture looked like saved from the garbage but I decided to stay and focus on work ignoring the unpleasant ambience. It turned out to be the worst decision ever. The appartment was frequently visited by mice, the owner or his employees visited the place every day ignoring the wish for privacy and finally - I got bitten by bed bugs what caused a very strong allergy. Booking.com was not feeling responsible for this issue (they think they are intermediaries only and can't do anything) and the owner simply declined to have mice and bed bugs - according to him it could be a food alergy (that bites?), washing powder's allergy, bees (bitting 15 times?) or mosquitos. So I should better catch the mice and the bed bugs and bring them as proof.

So my hint is - if you have a big enemy and you want him to get attacked by bed bugs - book this appartment for him/her through booking.com!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Bavaria, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Alexander's team is very kind and helpful. The two appartments we rented in Da Costa Staat for a period of almost 3 months were OK for Amsterdam standards and price: very comfortable beds, internet and a very good location - supermarket, restaurants and tram nearby, only few minutes away from Dam Square. The appartments could be a little cleaner, but all the rest is satisfying if you are searching a simple accomodation.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

After booking this apartment on venere.com we received a confirmation which stated our 2-room apartment was on De Costastraat. Good location. However it's only possible to collect the keys until 6p.m. Upon opening the front door to a filthy steep, narrow staircase we discovered a thin dingy room with a narrow kitchen, not the 2 rooms we had booked. Furniture was a ramshackle of junk fit for a garbage tip. A badly constructed double sofabed plus an unstable fold out bed were provided for sleeping. Unsuitable for an average sized human. The most bizare aspect was the accomadation included 14 sinks - 14??? Worst of all there was a notice on the door stating 'beare of people outside posing as officials/policemen. On no account show them your passport or id. Do not under any circumstances open the door or allow anyone into the building. We could only deduce that maybe the building was squatted or inhabited by illegal immigrants or criminal activity was taking place. This was not a case of 'you get what you pay for' as we were charged 200 euros a night for this horror show. Frankly i would rather stay up all night than step foot in this vile place ever again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

We weren't expecting too much as it was a fairly cheap stay (about €800 for a two bedroom apartment for 5 nights). Location-wise, these apartments were good - situated in a quiet neighbourhood a short tram ride away from Amsterdam Centraal Station. The apartment itself was of a fair size but in fairly bad repair and with a very small shower/toilet cubicle.

Our real concerns were leveled at the lack of cleanliness in the flat. Although the linen was clean, when we first arrived we were particularly concerned by the sheer amount of mousetraps (four if I can remember). There were also mouse droppings under the table. The kitchen was also in a fairly dirty condition and there was lots of dust.

We asked Alexander for an alternative apartment but he said all his apartments had mice and told us to come back if we saw one. Therefore we stuck with the one we had and on the second day of our stay we awoke to find a dead mouse. We decided to check out three nights early. On asking for a refund he said he would not oblige as we did not accept transfer to alternative accommodation. Our refusal to move to alternative accommodation was due to the fact that he said they all had mice!

The free WiFi was great but temperamental so made it difficult to do work.

Great location and these could be well looked after, but with such a lack of cleanliness I was not surprised the mice had moved in. In the end we moved to an alternative hotel and had a great stay - if feeling a little out of pocket.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2008

We were traveling 12 people between 20 and 35 years old. Our place was in Da Costrastrat.It is not on the Centum but it is walking distance or you can get a tram that leaves you at Central station.
You have the Van Gogh Museum, Anna Frank museum and the Heineken experience just 5 minutes walking as well as a supermarket and Coffee shop.
The carpets were not deeply cleaned ever and better not to use the vacuum cleaner because are full of dirtiness. As other posts pointed out, it seems that the other tenants were kicked off the apartments and left some belongings some of them expired. We found 12 kg of pasta in the cupboards, food in the fridge and the oven smell to Indian spices. I have to say that the bathroom, the bedlinen, the towels and mattresses were clean. What really worried me was the bugs that appeared in the kitchen, by the dishwasher and by the washing machine. That was very disgusting.!
It cost 40 euros per person per night. Not too bad for being Amsterdam. Amsterdam is my favorite city but this is the best place I have stayed.
Its good if you want :
A place too sleep.
A decent bathroom.
Intimacy.
to be just with your group of friends.
Cheap place to stay.
Its not good:
If you have dust allergies.
If you are bothered about ultra cleanness
If you are picky and posh.
.

  • Liked — the price
  • Disliked — dirttiness
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

We recently spent 3 nights at the Hotel Alexander and found it somewhat disappointing . The hotel is in a very good location for the museums as well as the concert hall. Also with the Marriott just a half block away, there was good and reasonably priced transportation to the airport available. Also, the tram line to the center of town is very convenient. The continetal breakfasts that are included in the room price were most adequate. The downsides, however, were the size of the room - very small, as well as the noise from the adjoining rooms. We were either kept awake or were awakened frequently during the nights from the noises of the other guests. Also smoking (including drugs) in the rooms is also allowed, and this drifted into our room -- less than pleasant.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Interior noise
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amsterdam Apartments Alexander's B.V.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Apartments Alexander's B.V.

Address: Ruijsdaelkade 109 | Gerard Doustraat 8, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 168 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Apartments Alexander's B.V., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Apartments Alexander's B.V. to your Saves list