We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast
Oosterpark 53, Amsterdam 1092AP, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 301 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Felt like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Martijne and Bernard were wonderful hosts. They made us feel welcomed from the beginning until the end of our stay. We stayed in the park room it was lovely. Breakfast was amazing every morning. Amsterdam is amazing and when we go back we will definitely stay with Martijne and Bernard again!

Lots of love
Allan&Trinette

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
74
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I was in the Park Room of the b&b for two nights. I am absolutely satisfied with this b&b, especially for the great availability, kindness and efficiency of the hosts. They were very quick to answers the e-mails before and after the reservation. They were also very quick during my staying (it suffices to ring a bell).
I could ask for an iron without any problems. The breakfast was copious. It was possible to communicate the preferred hour for the breakfast of the next day even at 11pm, which was very useful in order to have flexible plans. The tramway passes in the street nearby but I practically didn't notice it.

The room is very beautiful. The only two not excellent things which I am able to remember of: the illumination was not very bright. The table is somehow small (I needed to work using also my laptop at some point).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peguera, Spain
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have to be warm and I have to have a good bathroom, which also is warm. Parkzijde hit the right buttons. Martijne and Bernard were gracious hosts and anything which wasn't right they fixed. They were minor problems easily fixed. The bathroom is small, as are most bathrooms in Amsterdam but there was plenty of room and the shower was very modern, hot and had the best pressure I have ever experienced in Amsterdam. A heated two rail made the room lovely and warm and it was useful for drying.The bedroom has everything you need and was large enough for us to feel very comfortable for a week. Two luggage tables are very useful, the wardrobe has hanging and shelf space and a safe. There is a TV (we didn't have much success with channels but the DVDs were all we needed to get us to sleep), DVD, kettle, coffee maker, fridge, laptop and plenty of books/leaflets on Amsterdam.Breakfast was super and varied and we couldn't eat it all. Probably could have managed without the croissants AND bread every day and to eat Pilchards in tomato for breakfast was certainly different. I had it more than once so must have enjoyed it! Slices of cheese, ham, yogurts, cereal, crispbreads,eggs. All in varying quantities and not everything every day of course. There is a microwave downstairs which you can use to eat meals in your room. Amsterdam is NOT cheap so it is useful. There is a long road to the left of the hotel which has many ethnic take aways and there are bars and restaurants nearby, especially on the main road to the right of the hotel. Your hosts can recommend eating places around the corner in the square, two minutes away. Also minutes away is the Dappermarket and Troppen Museum and the zoo is on the walk into the city. The hotel is on a main road and tram route but is remarkably quiet. It IS a long walk to the city but the tram takes only a few minutes. However if you were on a very short trip a hotel nearer or in the city would be better. We walked to the city every day, there are several routes and there is always something to see. To get to the hotel from the train station, take the number 9 tram and turn left off it when at Oosterpark, then turn immediately right by the park (the birds like feeding during the day!). Walk three quarters way up and there is a pedestrian crossing, cross over (pedestrian lights do not work at night, only flash amber to warn drivers), Parkzijde is on the left covered in greenery. We could certainly have stayed longer and will definitely stay here again if we are lucky enough to visit that beautiful city again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Parkzijde was the best place we have stayed in our trips! Everything was carefully and delicately prepared for us by Martijne and Bernard, two great hosts. Of course one of the highlights of the stay were the breakfasts in the room that were actually more like brunches. Everything was very clean and confortable. The house is localized in a pleasant street, near Oosterpark, very close to tram stops and in a walkable distance to the center of the city. If it was possible I would rate this place with 6 stars.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

They have only two rooms, beautifully appointed, and they serve a lovely morning breakfast big enough that you save perhaps half of it for a later meal in the day. I have now stayed there two years in a row, once in each of their rooms. The owners are very helpful indeed, and each room comes with a booklet of recommendations of things to do, restaurants to try, and the like. They are perhaps a long walk from a tram stop so it's easy to get around the city from their location. Oosterprk is across the street, a pleasant place to see nice flowers in season and watch local people biking and strolling. One room looks out on the street and I found it very pleasant and not too noisy a year back when I stayed there. The other is one floor down and looks out into the garden into which a glassed-in sitting area extends. Hardly any city noise can be heard from that room. Major groceries are just a few blocks away if you want to stock up. Microwaves are available in an area just outside the garden room. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I'm told some have found the garden room to be TOO quiet, but I quite loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is a little bit belated review, but I'd like to just add one more positive review to this B&B - we stayed there for a couple of nights in October 2012 and had a wonderful time. The room was very clean, well appointed, the breakfast was excellent and very substantial. There are plastic bags if you want to take some of the breakfast with you for later in the day, and it was nice to have the tea and (good) coffee making facilities in the room. I would definitely stay here again, no doubt!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Thank you Martijne and Bernard for excellent service and delicious Dutch breakfasts. We stayed in the Park Room for 3 nights. The room was tastefully decorated and it was lovely to have breakfast served at our own table in the bedroom. We were a little disappointed that the windows couldn't be opened - Bernard explained that due to the room being on the ground flood and adjacent to the road, the windows had to be sealed for safety/security. The location was great; outside of the city centre but convenient for the tram and next to a beautiful park. Martijne and Bernard catered for all of our needs including early check-in and storing our luggage after we checked out on the last day.

Room Tip: Park room is lovely, large and clean, and it's cheaper than the Garden Room. See previous commen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast

Address: Oosterpark 53, Amsterdam 1092AP, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 301 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You find Parkzijde in front of the beautiful Oosterpark, just outside the busy city-center. The elegant house (1892) still remains conserved in its original style. The “Goede Kamer” (“good room”), where former residents used to welcome their guests, has a high decorated ceiling and marble chimney. The room at ground floor has a view of the park. The Garden room is located at the rear of the house and has access to its own conservatory, overlooking our garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.