We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My second time h!ere in 2 years. I Love It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Oosterpark 53, 1092AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off room rate
Ranked #49 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“My second time h!ere in 2 years. I Love It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

They have only two rooms, beautifully appointed, and they serve a lovely morning breakfast big enough that you save perhaps half of it for a later meal in the day. I have now stayed there two years in a row, once in each of their rooms. The owners are very helpful indeed, and each room comes with a booklet of recommendations of things to do, restaurants to try, and the like. They are perhaps a long walk from a tram stop so it's easy to get around the city from their location. Oosterprk is across the street, a pleasant place to see nice flowers in season and watch local people biking and strolling. One room looks out on the street and I found it very pleasant and not too noisy a year back when I stayed there. The other is one floor down and looks out into the garden into which a glassed-in sitting area extends. Hardly any city noise can be heard from that room. Major groceries are just a few blocks away if you want to stock up. Microwaves are available in an area just outside the garden room. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I'm told some have found the garden room to be TOO quiet, but I quite loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
82
17
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is a little bit belated review, but I'd like to just add one more positive review to this B&B - we stayed there for a couple of nights in October 2012 and had a wonderful time. The room was very clean, well appointed, the breakfast was excellent and very substantial. There are plastic bags if you want to take some of the breakfast with you for later in the day, and it was nice to have the tea and (good) coffee making facilities in the room. I would definitely stay here again, no doubt!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Thank you Martijne and Bernard for excellent service and delicious Dutch breakfasts. We stayed in the Park Room for 3 nights. The room was tastefully decorated and it was lovely to have breakfast served at our own table in the bedroom. We were a little disappointed that the windows couldn't be opened - Bernard explained that due to the room being on the ground flood and adjacent to the road, the windows had to be sealed for safety/security. The location was great; outside of the city centre but convenient for the tram and next to a beautiful park. Martijne and Bernard catered for all of our needs including early check-in and storing our luggage after we checked out on the last day.

Room Tip: Park room is lovely, large and clean, and it's cheaper than the Garden Room. See previous commen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast was an excellent find. We looked at all the reviews and booked the Garden Room over a year ago. We spent 3 fantastic nights in beautiful Amsterdam. Martijne and Bernard made our stay very enjoyable. We arrived very early in Amsterdam and our room was not ready yet. They allowed us to leave our luggage there and gave us suggestions on where to find a good cup of coffee and breakfast. Bernard suggested other sights and places to visit until our room was ready. The "Market" was a very nice place to visit.

Our room was in the Garden Room. The pictures of the Garden Room do not do it justice. The room is very spacious, very clean and the bed was comfortable. The conservatory where we ate breakfast every day was amazing. You can open the windows and sky lights and enjoy the cool morning air while you enjoy a huge breakfast.

Breakfast each morning was enough to feed us for lunch as well. It was great having the facilities to heat some food up that we had brought back with us.

Martijne had 72 hour GVB tickets available. GVB operates the metro, tram and most of the bus network in Amsterdam. This is great deal. You get unlimited access to all CVB transits. The tram stops is walking distance from the B&B which enabled us to get into the city easily.

We are planning another trip in Nov 2014 and will be certainly returning to this B & B and looking forward visiting with Martijne and Bernard again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed in the Garden Room, just for 2 nights, although I wish I could have stayed longer. The room was wonderful (It was big, had everything I needed and more, and was super cozy/comfortable/gezellig), the owners were wonderful , the breakfast was wonderful, and the location was wonderful. It was all very relaxing, and I could walk all around the park or to some nice restaurants, etc. all within a few minutes, and it's just beautiful. It's also quiet in this area, so I slept very well with the windows open. (The modern air conditioning and heating options were great, but I didn't need them.)
I will definitely be staying here on every future trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband picked this for our honeymoon and I couldn't have picked a better place. It was so amazing that years later, I still get heartsick thinking how much I want to go back. (It was actually late March/early April 2008.) We stayed in the Garden Room and it was just lovely. From the daily breakfasts, to the amazing room, the outside graden accessible from our room, the owners, and the location... I wouldn't have changed a thing except a longer stay than our seven nights. I will always remember it and yearn to go back, ASAP!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A great home from home b&b, we was treated like royalty, everything done for us, nothing was to much for the owners, easy access to all routes, food places near by very good, they have a tip book on where to go to eat/visit that other guests have put quotes in a great help, Bernard waited for us as our plane was delayed and informed us on everything about the Parkzijde and even got us something to eat, you can use the no 9 tram into Amsterdam central or the 3 or 7 to different parts you want to go, we got a bus ticket 21.00 euro and it did 4 days and well worth it, if we didn't we would of paid about 80.00 euro on tram and buss fares, Highly Highly recommended and thank you both of you very much xxxx

Room Tip: All in this accommodation are great value and service
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast

Address: Oosterpark 53, 1092AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You find Parkzijde in front of the beautiful Oosterpark, just outside the busy city-center. The elegant house (1892) still remains conserved in its original style. The “Goede Kamer” (“good room”), where former residents used to welcome their guests, has a high decorated ceiling and marble chimney. The room at ground floor has a view of the park. The Garden room is located at the rear of the house and has access to its own conservatory, overlooking our garden. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.