We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast
Oosterpark 53, 1092AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 321 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed in the Garden Room, just for 2 nights, although I wish I could have stayed longer. The room was wonderful (It was big, had everything I needed and more, and was super cozy/comfortable/gezellig), the owners were wonderful , the breakfast was wonderful, and the location was wonderful. It was all very relaxing, and I could walk all around the park or to some nice restaurants, etc. all within a few minutes, and it's just beautiful. It's also quiet in this area, so I slept very well with the windows open. (The modern air conditioning and heating options were great, but I didn't need them.)
I will definitely be staying here on every future trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
101
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband picked this for our honeymoon and I couldn't have picked a better place. It was so amazing that years later, I still get heartsick thinking how much I want to go back. (It was actually late March/early April 2008.) We stayed in the Garden Room and it was just lovely. From the daily breakfasts, to the amazing room, the outside graden accessible from our room, the owners, and the location... I wouldn't have changed a thing except a longer stay than our seven nights. I will always remember it and yearn to go back, ASAP!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A great home from home b&b, we was treated like royalty, everything done for us, nothing was to much for the owners, easy access to all routes, food places near by very good, they have a tip book on where to go to eat/visit that other guests have put quotes in a great help, Bernard waited for us as our plane was delayed and informed us on everything about the Parkzijde and even got us something to eat, you can use the no 9 tram into Amsterdam central or the 3 or 7 to different parts you want to go, we got a bus ticket 21.00 euro and it did 4 days and well worth it, if we didn't we would of paid about 80.00 euro on tram and buss fares, Highly Highly recommended and thank you both of you very much xxxx

Room Tip: All in this accommodation are great value and service
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Seeing how highly recommended this was on Tripadvisor, I thought I had to try it out for myself. Bernard greeted me on my arrival taking great care to inform me about Parkzijde, and everything that was available during the stay. Nothing had been left out from the facilities in the room, to the book/dvd selection, use of the microwave/extra crockery & the use of the laptop wireless internet access too.

The room was spotlessly clean and very tastefully decorated. Nice comfy bed and cozy ensuite bathroom. There was a small conservatory at the rear of the room, where Bernard brought my breakfast each morning. Plenty of selection too :)

The room is down a few steps into the basement/cellar area. This was ideal if you require privacy and a quiet night's sleep.

The B & B is roughly halfway along Oosterpark and situated opposite Oosterpark itself. I used the No 9 Tram to get from Central Station and get off closeby at the Wijttenbachstraat stop. Then a short walk to the B & B

Worth a stay.....recommended

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a wonderful place this is.We were so pleased with our room.It was modern yet totally unique in style and decor.It was light and spacious,with a sofa,chair and storage space.It was very clean and the bedding was immaculate.The breakfast was plentiful with a lot of choice.There was a fridge,kettle and coffee machine with free tea,coffee and fruit juice.The bathroom was fantastic,with a strong shower and a very deep bath, strong hairdryer and plenty of storage space there, too.The owners were so nice and chatty,very nice artistic people.
We purchased a peice of Martijne's art work to take home.
There were plenty of guide books in different languages and a Tv if you were really bored.
The conservatory and garden with a pond were relaxing calming areas.We had a very chilled stay and would return.
It was all positive.The park opposite is nice for a stroll or a jog round.The tram stops minutes away from the Bed and Breakfast and is very frequent.
The house is located in what we would describe as a suburb,but with easy travel to most of the tourist places.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Garden room for peace and tranquility,and the use of a small beautiful garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I've expected to find a nice B&B. But this has by far exceeded my expectations! The rooms are great, the service as well, the owners are nice, friendly and helpful - but it's the little details that really make the difference. The DVD-collection at the entrance, coffee and tea for free and always at hand, plastic bags for take-away food, microwave, and actually lots more. And to have a large breakfast (customized to one's wishes) in the privacy of one's own "dining room" with the perfect view of the garden ... priceless! Probably one of the best B&Bs that I've ever visited.

Room Tip: I've stayed in the garden room. It's great, but I really believe that the other room is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The owners Martijne and Bernard were on their annual leave and we had the gracious Martijne Bernard's sister to look after us during our stay of three nights.

Our room at the front of the house was on the ground floor and a good size and well appointed. Everything was clean and the bed comfortable.

Breakfast each morning was enough to feed us for lunch as well, we had read this in previous reports. It was great having the facilities downstairs to heat some food up that we had brought back with us.

The tram was just walking distance about 500 metres which enabled us to get into the city proper easily. We also enjoyed walks in the big park opposite.

We'd certainly return to this B & B when visiting Amsterdam again.

Room Tip: Ask for the front room if you don't want the stairs down to the other room. Not too many stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,446 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Casa 400
#62 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,732 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#134 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast

Address: Oosterpark 53, 1092AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 321 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You find Parkzijde in front of the beautiful Oosterpark, just outside the busy city-center. The elegant house (1892) still remains conserved in its original style. The “Goede Kamer” (“good room”), where former residents used to welcome their guests, has a high decorated ceiling and marble chimney. The room at ground floor has a view of the park. The Garden room is located at the rear of the house and has access to its own conservatory, overlooking our garden. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.