We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parkzijde Welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast
Oosterpark 53, 1092AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 322 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Parkzijde Welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Seeing how highly recommended this was on Tripadvisor, I thought I had to try it out for myself. Bernard greeted me on my arrival taking great care to inform me about Parkzijde, and everything that was available during the stay. Nothing had been left out from the facilities in the room, to the book/dvd selection, use of the microwave/extra crockery & the use of the laptop wireless internet access too.

The room was spotlessly clean and very tastefully decorated. Nice comfy bed and cozy ensuite bathroom. There was a small conservatory at the rear of the room, where Bernard brought my breakfast each morning. Plenty of selection too :)

The room is down a few steps into the basement/cellar area. This was ideal if you require privacy and a quiet night's sleep.

The B & B is roughly halfway along Oosterpark and situated opposite Oosterpark itself. I used the No 9 Tram to get from Central Station and get off closeby at the Wijttenbachstraat stop. Then a short walk to the B & B

Worth a stay.....recommended

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
100
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a wonderful place this is.We were so pleased with our room.It was modern yet totally unique in style and decor.It was light and spacious,with a sofa,chair and storage space.It was very clean and the bedding was immaculate.The breakfast was plentiful with a lot of choice.There was a fridge,kettle and coffee machine with free tea,coffee and fruit juice.The bathroom was fantastic,with a strong shower and a very deep bath, strong hairdryer and plenty of storage space there, too.The owners were so nice and chatty,very nice artistic people.
We purchased a peice of Martijne's art work to take home.
There were plenty of guide books in different languages and a Tv if you were really bored.
The conservatory and garden with a pond were relaxing calming areas.We had a very chilled stay and would return.
It was all positive.The park opposite is nice for a stroll or a jog round.The tram stops minutes away from the Bed and Breakfast and is very frequent.
The house is located in what we would describe as a suburb,but with easy travel to most of the tourist places.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Garden room for peace and tranquility,and the use of a small beautiful garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I've expected to find a nice B&B. But this has by far exceeded my expectations! The rooms are great, the service as well, the owners are nice, friendly and helpful - but it's the little details that really make the difference. The DVD-collection at the entrance, coffee and tea for free and always at hand, plastic bags for take-away food, microwave, and actually lots more. And to have a large breakfast (customized to one's wishes) in the privacy of one's own "dining room" with the perfect view of the garden ... priceless! Probably one of the best B&Bs that I've ever visited.

Room Tip: I've stayed in the garden room. It's great, but I really believe that the other room is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The owners Martijne and Bernard were on their annual leave and we had the gracious Martijne Bernard's sister to look after us during our stay of three nights.

Our room at the front of the house was on the ground floor and a good size and well appointed. Everything was clean and the bed comfortable.

Breakfast each morning was enough to feed us for lunch as well, we had read this in previous reports. It was great having the facilities downstairs to heat some food up that we had brought back with us.

The tram was just walking distance about 500 metres which enabled us to get into the city proper easily. We also enjoyed walks in the big park opposite.

We'd certainly return to this B & B when visiting Amsterdam again.

Room Tip: Ask for the front room if you don't want the stairs down to the other room. Not too many stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochgilphead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We found Parkzijde to be as good as all the reviews and photos suggest, with Martijne and Bernard as attentive, thoughtful hosts. The paintings and ornaments are lovely, some painted by Martijne herself. We liked having breakfast in the room - once served, we were left to enjoy it at our own pace. There are various ways to walk into the city or it is easy to catch a tram, which gets you there quickly and efficiently. There are also local restaurants in both directions, which saves having to go back into the heart of the city after the end of a busy day's sightseeing. The location gives the opportunity to feel part of the local neighbourhood. We want to go back soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights on our honeymoon in June. Our stay was better than we ever could have imagined! Martijne and Bernard were very kind and helpful. The room was very nice and clean. We loved having breakfast brought to us each morning. There was always enough food with the breakfast to have leftovers for lunch and a snack! We highly recommend staying at the Parkzijde and hope that we have the chance to return someday!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Had a great stay at this b&b. Easy to get to the city on the tram which is close by. Hired bikes and rode around the city, which I highly recommend. Loved the breakfast. Was provided with lots of information about Amsterdam plus maps of the city. They even had DVDs for the guests to watch. Fabulous place. Thanks marieke!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,350 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 355 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Casa 400
#60 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,603 reviews
Hotel Arena
#80 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast

Address: Oosterpark 53, 1092AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You find Parkzijde in front of the beautiful Oosterpark, just outside the busy city-center. The elegant house (1892) still remains conserved in its original style. The “Goede Kamer” (“good room”), where former residents used to welcome their guests, has a high decorated ceiling and marble chimney. The room at ground floor has a view of the park. The Garden room is located at the rear of the house and has access to its own conservatory, overlooking our garden. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.