We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast
Oosterpark 53, 1092AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #40 of 327 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a nice surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've expected to find a nice B&B. But this has by far exceeded my expectations! The rooms are great, the service as well, the owners are nice, friendly and helpful - but it's the little details that really make the difference. The DVD-collection at the entrance, coffee and tea for free and always at hand, plastic bags for take-away food, microwave, and actually lots more. And to have a large breakfast (customized to one's wishes) in the privacy of one's own "dining room" with the perfect view of the garden ... priceless! Probably one of the best B&Bs that I've ever visited.

Room Tip: I've stayed in the garden room. It's great, but I really believe that the other room is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ursa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The owners Martijne and Bernard were on their annual leave and we had the gracious Martijne Bernard's sister to look after us during our stay of three nights.

Our room at the front of the house was on the ground floor and a good size and well appointed. Everything was clean and the bed comfortable.

Breakfast each morning was enough to feed us for lunch as well, we had read this in previous reports. It was great having the facilities downstairs to heat some food up that we had brought back with us.

The tram was just walking distance about 500 metres which enabled us to get into the city proper easily. We also enjoyed walks in the big park opposite.

We'd certainly return to this B & B when visiting Amsterdam again.

Room Tip: Ask for the front room if you don't want the stairs down to the other room. Not too many stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosiegirl_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochgilphead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We found Parkzijde to be as good as all the reviews and photos suggest, with Martijne and Bernard as attentive, thoughtful hosts. The paintings and ornaments are lovely, some painted by Martijne herself. We liked having breakfast in the room - once served, we were left to enjoy it at our own pace. There are various ways to walk into the city or it is easy to catch a tram, which gets you there quickly and efficiently. There are also local restaurants in both directions, which saves having to go back into the heart of the city after the end of a busy day's sightseeing. The location gives the opportunity to feel part of the local neighbourhood. We want to go back soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NanL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights on our honeymoon in June. Our stay was better than we ever could have imagined! Martijne and Bernard were very kind and helpful. The room was very nice and clean. We loved having breakfast brought to us each morning. There was always enough food with the breakfast to have leftovers for lunch and a snack! We highly recommend staying at the Parkzijde and hope that we have the chance to return someday!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Had a great stay at this b&b. Easy to get to the city on the tram which is close by. Hired bikes and rode around the city, which I highly recommend. Loved the breakfast. Was provided with lots of information about Amsterdam plus maps of the city. They even had DVDs for the guests to watch. Fabulous place. Thanks marieke!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorgorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Missouri
Level Contributor
112 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We spent two nights at this B&B. Bernard was on holiday, so his sweet sister was our host. We arrived from the cruise port, via Tram 9 dropped off our luggage and set off to see the sites. When we returned mid-afternoon Marika (I hope I've spelled this correctly) met with us and ensured we could operate the cable TV system, pointed out a small guest kitchenette, gave us on overview on the neighborhood. Before dinner, we hopped across the street for a relaxing stroll through the park to increase our appetites.

The room itself was spacious, the bed comfortable, the shower HOT and hard. If I had complaints about the room it would be the low lighting level in the bathroom. Our room faced the front of the building, but we were not disturbed by traffic or street noise. After stays in various small hotels during our stay, I really appreciated that our room was virtually at street level, only a handful of steps to deal with. As others have commented the breakfast is over the top. We too made sandwiches for lunch from our leftovers. We also thought having juice available in the mini-frig was a nice touch. Because we had an early flight, Marika secured a taxi for us and prepared a breakfast for us the night before our departure...great service.

The location of the B&B is a mixed blessing. Although, one needs to take the tram or public transportation to access the sites, it is away from the noise, trash and congestion of the tourist areas. The neighborhood is residential, with mixture of ethnicities..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westmotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

What a find! everything about this place is great. When we arrived we were greeted by Bernard & Martijne and after being shown to our room,they pointed out on the map the best place to park and gave us lots of information on the local trams, and even sold us tickets to use on the trams, which was very handy, the trams stopped at either end of their street. The location is convenient for local shops, bars and resturants, we took their recommendation on two evenings and both times the food was great. The breakfast is delicious and there was enough to take out for a midday snack. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. The five minute tram ride was a small price to pay for being in a small oasis away from the noise and bustle on Amsterdam centre. We would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
BB by Servio
BB by Servio
#59 of 327 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam West
#29 of 327 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
De Pijp
Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#18 of 327 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Breitner House
#4 of 327 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Hotel Not Hotel
#98 of 327 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast

Address: Oosterpark 53, 1092AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 327 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You find Parkzijde in front of the beautiful Oosterpark, just outside the busy city-center. The elegant house (1892) still remains conserved in its original style. The “Goede Kamer” (“good room”), where former residents used to welcome their guests, has a high decorated ceiling and marble chimney. The room at ground floor has a view of the park. The Garden room is located at the rear of the house and has access to its own conservatory, overlooking our garden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing