We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast
Oosterpark 53, 1092AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Holden, Missouri
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We spent two nights at this B&B. Bernard was on holiday, so his sweet sister was our host. We arrived from the cruise port, via Tram 9 dropped off our luggage and set off to see the sites. When we returned mid-afternoon Marika (I hope I've spelled this correctly) met with us and ensured we could operate the cable TV system, pointed out a small guest kitchenette, gave us on overview on the neighborhood. Before dinner, we hopped across the street for a relaxing stroll through the park to increase our appetites.

The room itself was spacious, the bed comfortable, the shower HOT and hard. If I had complaints about the room it would be the low lighting level in the bathroom. Our room faced the front of the building, but we were not disturbed by traffic or street noise. After stays in various small hotels during our stay, I really appreciated that our room was virtually at street level, only a handful of steps to deal with. As others have commented the breakfast is over the top. We too made sandwiches for lunch from our leftovers. We also thought having juice available in the mini-frig was a nice touch. Because we had an early flight, Marika secured a taxi for us and prepared a breakfast for us the night before our departure...great service.

The location of the B&B is a mixed blessing. Although, one needs to take the tram or public transportation to access the sites, it is away from the noise, trash and congestion of the tourist areas. The neighborhood is residential, with mixture of ethnicities..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
75
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

What a find! everything about this place is great. When we arrived we were greeted by Bernard & Martijne and after being shown to our room,they pointed out on the map the best place to park and gave us lots of information on the local trams, and even sold us tickets to use on the trams, which was very handy, the trams stopped at either end of their street. The location is convenient for local shops, bars and resturants, we took their recommendation on two evenings and both times the food was great. The breakfast is delicious and there was enough to take out for a midday snack. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. The five minute tram ride was a small price to pay for being in a small oasis away from the noise and bustle on Amsterdam centre. We would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Excellent, can not fault! Fabulous service, excellent room & breakfast. Would almost certainly go back. The location is in the south, but this suited us. The transport system is great. We stayed in the garden room. This is ideal for two travellers. Spacious with en suite and a lovely conservatory room where breakfast is served. Lots of of information booklets, and toiletries available in the room... Even a laptop with wifi. Brilliant b&b and great service.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran Canaria, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Despite the rain, we had a great time in Amsterdam thanks to this nice and cozy B&B. Their owners were very friendly and helpful as well. It's located in a quiet neighbourhood, opposite a beautiful park and well connected to the city center by tram. Our room was amazing and comfortable, not only the size but also the furniture. Finally, we could enjoy the garden and the rain while we were having breakfast. I strongly recommend this accommodation without a doubt. One of my favourites.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Host family Martijne and Bernard are very enthusiastic and helpful, who genuinely care about their guests. We stayed in the garden room and can sleep like a baby after touring for a day. The place is very spacious and comfortable if you choose to spend more time there. Breadfast is delicious and plentiful. If you have an average appetite, you can pack a picnic lunch with it, too. Frequent trams take to the dam area in 5-10 minutes. If you do not buy a travel pass, walking time about is about 20 minutes. Safe neighborhood even when late at night. Supermarket is only a couple of blocks away. You can buy salad and tasty pasta to be heated by either the oven or microwave. Good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at this great B&B, in the Garden Room, over a weekend in July. Martijne and Bernard were flexible on arrival times which was really helpful and took away from our stress of driving into Amsterdam. Once there, we were helped with directions to the P&R, which was just a 10 min bus ride down the road. Breakfast was wonderful and plentiful! Something different every day. The room itself was spacious and comfortable. Wifi worked really well and bathroom was fully equipped with all you need. Location was a good 15-20 minute walk out of the "center" area, but otherwise everything is pretty accessible via bus or tram. We enjoyed our stay and would return for another visit to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Parkzijde really is, quite possibly, the perfect B&B. The perfect location (out of the touristy areas but close enough to get to them easily), with wonderful rooms and amenities and, of course, marvelous hosts. My cousin and I spent 6 nights there in July and we really could not have been more pleased.

We had the Garden Room, which is a little larger and has its own conservatory/breakfast nook. It's also at the back of the house so it's probably a little quieter. Huge and wonderful breakfasts (different each day) were brought down by Bernard every morning, and after feasting we would make up sandwiches for lunch and set off to explore the city. We never ever had to buy lunch, and that saved us a lot of money. There is also a microwave and dishes available so we could heat up food we had left over from restaurant dinners and did not have to go out every night. And on the last morning when one of us had to leave at 6am for the airport, a complete breakfast magically appeared in our fridge the night before!

Small details of the room are very pleasing. Lots of shelf space for your inevitable piles of maps and books and such, plenty of electrical outlets, blinds if you want to sleep in, etc. etc.

Bernard and Martijne really do walk that perfect line between being interested and offering advice but also leaving guests their own space with peace and quiet. In retrospect I wish that we had sought out their ideas for activities a little more. Next time! I truly cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Amsterdam.

(One note of caution for travelers with mobility issues. The Garden Room is down a rather steep spiral staircase, and if that might be a problem definitely choose the Park Room. The edge of the bathtub is also pretty high and someone with a limited range of motion might have trouble getting into it.)

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast

Address: Oosterpark 53, 1092AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You find Parkzijde in front of the beautiful Oosterpark, just outside the busy city-center. The elegant house (1892) still remains conserved in its original style. The “Goede Kamer” (“good room”), where former residents used to welcome their guests, has a high decorated ceiling and marble chimney. The room at ground floor has a view of the park. The Garden room is located at the rear of the house and has access to its own conservatory, overlooking our garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.