We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, will definitely be back...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast
Oosterpark 53, 1092AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 322 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay, will definitely be back...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

This is a long overdue review. We stayed here for two nights back in Oct of 2010. Had the garden room. The room was extremely cute and cozy, and very clean. Wireless internet was a plus. The conservatory dining area was so nice to eat in. Breakfast was amazing. We were even able to pack some for lunch. The couple that run the place are very friendly and helpful. A bit far from the city center, but easy to get to by bus. Not much to eat or do around that area other than the park.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    20
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
98
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

We had a short stay here, and we enjoyed ourselves very much. The neighborhood is away from the touristy part of the city, though it's a small city, so it is not an inconvenient location by any means. The garden room was fantastic (it has a giant bathtub so you can take a bubble bath at the end of a long day -- fantastic!). The owners are helpful and friendly, but not at all obtrusive. Definitely a unique and relaxing place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights in April and we had an excellent experience. The dutch breakfasts very great and plenty to eat as others have said we also took it for lunch. We stayed in the garden room which is very good we breakfast facing the garden which was very peaceful. The room was great and very comfortable so was the bed and the bathroom was very nice. In the room ther was internet and coffee if you wanted it. Lots of travel guides for Amsterdam. Martijne and Bernard were very helpful by telling us where to go. If we needed anything they would be there. The B&B is a little out of town but the trams were great and very close by. One day we walked to the local market and kept walking and we were in downtown Amsterdam within 20 minutes. Do not take a taxi to the B&B but take the train to central station and then catch the 9 tram very easy and very convenient. We bought a 5 day tram pass and it was worth every penny. I think it was 24 Euros each. We very highly recomend this B&B and on our next trip to Europe we will stay here if they have vacancies

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We highly recommend this wonderful B&B! Bernard & Martijne were great hosts. Our room was adorable, had a great view of the park, and a very clean bathroom. Even though it faced the street, the room was very quiet--you could hardly hear the trams passing by. It was significantly more peaceful here near the park than in very noisy, central Amsterdam. The bed was also surprisingly comfortable! Usually in Europe when they push two twin beds together to make a king, it's not ideal because of the big crack in the middle. This B&B had a nice king sized pillowtop that made the bed feel like one. It was so soft--we slept great! Breakfast was homemade & generous and, as many reviewers have already mentioned, we made sandwiches with the leftovers and had them for lunch. We were a little worried about the location before we arrived, since we would not be walking distance to the sights. However, it was perfect. We had the peace and quiet of a nice neighborhood and Oosterpark, but also felt very close to anything we needed. The trams were very easy to ride and the stops very convenient to the B&B. We bought the 48h tram pass (stripcards don't exist anymore) and that was a great deal. Don't take an expensive taxi to the hotel from the airport; take the 4euro train to central station and then tram 9 to the B&B. The total cost of all of our transportation for the whole weekend (roundtrip airport-station train + 48h tram cards for 2 people) was cheaper than 1 taxi ride.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

We had a lovely stay at this B&B. Martijne had advised us of almost everything before we arrived, from how to get from the Airport to Central Station, to which travel card was best value for our needs. This allowed us to be well prepared and feel quite relaxed and able in an unfamilliar place. Martijne's helpfulness extended throughout our stay, and we were charmed by the attention she pays her guests. That said, we were given our privacy and allowed to come and go as we pleased.
Our breakfast was outstanding, and was also our lunch! This not only saved us money, but allowed us to walk for hours in a day, experiencing the culture without having to source restaurants for lunch. We enjoyed walking around so much we barely visited any of the attractions we had planned to see.
Our room was modest and comfortable, and it was great to have internet access and so many other facilities in our room...although we didn't manage to work out how to use the coffee machine in the absence of coffee cartridges.This was not a big problem though, as we were only in the room to rest after a weary days walking, sleep and have breakfast.
We enjoyed our stay so much that we have contacted Martijne to enquire about availability for a return visit in September!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

My wife and I recently visited Amsterdam and were very pleased to have had the opportunity to stay at the Parkzijde Bed and Breakfast. We stayed for a week and were able to take advantage of the discount during this time of the year for lengthier stays. The accommodations were both very comfortable and convenient for our stay. The proprietors have travel books, maps and written recommendations for the local area and the greater city. The room was very nicely decorated and always very clean. Our breakfasts were very nice as you can see from earlier pictures and reviews on these pages.
My wife and I enjoyed being able to walk across the street to the park and access the Tram lines very easily in this neighborhood. The center is within 15 minutes by the Tram and is very easily accessed from this location (not to mention the many fine museums and parks throughout the city).
We especially enjoyed visiting with the owner's sister. She was very generous with her time and made our experience a very special one during out time in the Netherlands. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

We had such a great stay here after travelling for three weeks Parkzidje felt like being at home, the breakfasts were amazing and very fulling, we could take it with us for lunch if we wanted to. The room was so warm and very big and the bathroom facilities were fantastic and very clean. We also could do our washing here and it only cost us a couple of euro to use the washer and dryer which was super. We were able to walk everywhere which was a great way of seeing the city. The tram stops just round the corner as well so that was super. Great place to stay and would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,341 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 354 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Casa 400
#59 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,588 reviews
Hotel Arena
#80 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast

Address: Oosterpark 53, 1092AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You find Parkzijde in front of the beautiful Oosterpark, just outside the busy city-center. The elegant house (1892) still remains conserved in its original style. The “Goede Kamer” (“good room”), where former residents used to welcome their guests, has a high decorated ceiling and marble chimney. The room at ground floor has a view of the park. The Garden room is located at the rear of the house and has access to its own conservatory, overlooking our garden. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.