We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Blue Sheep B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Korsjespoortsteeg 3, 1015AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 303 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Amsterdam
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Blue Sheep B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

What a wonderful experience. Jan and Novella are fabulous hosts. The location is perfect and the apartment was spacious and clean. I will definitely stay at the Blue Sheep again and can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    259
    63
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
64
148
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Me and two girlfriends arrived Friday midday and were shown to our beautiful room/apartment on the top floor of the building. We were so happy with it and felt we'd really struck gold.
We left all our stuff there and went out. We got back at around 3am ( we WERE in Amsterdam) only to find that the key to our door didn't work. Naturally, paying £160 a night, we decided we didn't want to sleep on the stairs and so called the hotel owners. Here is where the trouble started. The lady was so incredibly rude to us at first stating "it was not possible" and then attempting to end the conversation with "well I'm sorry we're asleep". Eventually she sent her husband round who was equally rude. Now I understand that it's annoying to get woken up at 3am, but I'm sorry, were paying for this hotel room, the ONE function we require of it is for the door to open to let us in, and when that doesn't happen as the owner you must expect to be contacted to fix the problem, whatever the time. So on finding that it was in fact possible and the door was indeed not working, the husband did cheer up a bit and was apologetic. He showed the three of us to a double room with a big bed that the three of us could sleep in, which was fine.
The next day he had to cut a hole in the door to get in which meant our room was unsecured for a couple of hours while he got something to block the hole. Again, fine, we understood and were grateful that he admitted he didn't know what had happened and told us he was sorry for the inconvenience. He was very pleasant at the point and we genuinely had forgotten the whole incident by the next day.
3 wonderful days passed in our lovely apartment and then it was time to leave.
When we came to pay we were charged full price. As it was an employee we hadn't yet encountered we thought maybe he wasn't aware if the situation so we asked him to call the owner, the lady, to apply our discount. However, when he called she said that we had broken the door and would therefore have to pay for the repairs and by being charged full price that should cover it. We were horrified!! If closing the door is breaking it then yes, we broke it, but clearly, and in fact by her own husbands admission, we had NOT broken the door and she was being completely unreasonable. We saw that we were not going to get any money off. So even though we had paid for an apartment and got an hour long wait on the stairs and ended up in a double room without a window, which I personally think any self respecting hotel owner would have wavered the price of the first night for, we had to pay full price to cover the cost of fixing a door that we did not break.
We were so happy with the room when we first got there, and enthusiastically talked about bringing our boyfriends back to stay in the New York apartment and recommending the place to all our friends, but I'm afraid after this incident I won't be recommending the place to anyone which is a real shame and a bit of a downer on a fantastic long weekend.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
9lla, Owner at The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thanx for staying with us! To make a long story short: The fact is that there were 3 complete drunken/stoned girls (and we know how English tourist can behave in Amsterdam! :-)) who wake us up in the middle of the night who couldn't open the door. Vomiting 2 times in front of the apartment and my door and breaking a lock of the apartment.
We preserved the service to get it open again, like described. The full charge is not more then reasonable, we didn't charge them for the damage of the lock, but we also didn't feel responsible for giving them a discount because they were completely out of there mind on the moment they ruined the lock. We like to take care of our guest, but when you pass the limit of "normal behavior" you have to be also responsible for that as a guest.

Jan , Novella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my first trip to Amsterdam Jan was an excellent host with Eddie providing a 5 star breakfast .The B&B was full of character and comfort it was in an excellent quiet location i would defiantly go back .

Room Tip: I really liked the green room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The Blue Sheep fulfilled our expectations of being able to stay in the old Amsterdam without the noise of the city and with good location for walking to the sites. The Blue room was comfortable, spacious and quiet. There was a warm welcome and hospitality from the staff (Lee and Edgar) and inclusion with the family in conversation. Breakfasts were TASTY, varied and made to your taste. The room had a teapot for hot beverages at our convenience which was really handy. We could hardly believe the age of the house being several hundred years old, it has been well taken care of and improved. What a delightful experience we had with Jan, Novella, their daughter and the grandmother who was visiting from Sicily. We highly recommend a stay at this B&B

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet. You have a key to the front door so entry is not a problem. There are spira...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryDen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

21st Sept to 24th Sept 13. Stayed in he Orange room. Really nice place to stay - central location close to most attractions/pubs/restaurants etc. the hosts are really nice, very friendly and helpful. If you don't mind staying in a B&B then go nowhere else.

Room Tip: As stated on their website - traditional Amsterdam building with steep spiral staircase to the upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

If you go to visit Amsterdam, for few days or more, the Blue Sheep is right place to stay. Owned by Novella and her wonderful family, this excellent bed&breakfast offers you everything you need for a comfortable stay. Clean and well furnished rooms, silent and cozy apartments, delicious and rich breakfast. Novella is that kind of host every traveller looks for: kind, gentle and always ready to give you the right advice to enjoy the city at the best! And of course it's located in a quiet street, pretty close to Joordan, Daam square and the main attractions. Definitely the best b&b in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This B & B is in a awesome location, just a short walk from the station and close to everything in the heart of Amsterdam. The house itself is just gorgeous and the owners have wonderful taste in style and design. Our room was huge (Blue room) and very comfortable. The only down side, (and I realise that this can sometimes happens with B&Bs), is that the atmosphere was at times quite awkward in the house. I know the other guests at the time felt the same. We certainly felt at times that we were in the way. That being said, we still enjoy our stay and would highly recommend this b&B. breakfast was amazing, and overall it was a nice experience.

Room Tip: Blue room was awesome, and the shared bathroom caused no problems at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam

Address: Korsjespoortsteeg 3, 1015AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Sheep Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.