We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the stairs!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam to your Saves list
The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Korsjespoortsteeg 3, 1015AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 307 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Hartford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth the stairs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This was a great place to stay - and yes believe what everyone says about the stairs - really more like a ladder. But our room was clean and the lovely owners are very helpful. We were a 10 min. walk from Central Station, the Ann Frank House & the red light district. Great places to eat close by again an awesome location! It should be noted this neighborhood has been delcared a world heritage site so it is very much old Amsterdam. We stayed in the room with one king bed & a pull out bed. It was cozy but if you spend a lot of time in your room shame on you - you are in Amsterdam for God's sake - get out & explore! Great shower, small kitchenette. If you wnat to pat double go stay at a regular hotel, if you want to expereince Amsterdam stay here!

Room Tip: Be open to the expereince!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    65
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
68
151
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

If you're after a very traditional and local experience, then this place is fantastic to use as a base to explore central Amsterdam, and I would highly recommend it. The owners were very lovely people, very friendly and looked after us exceptionally well. Booking was also a pleasure, with any questions answered promptly and politely. It's only a 3 to 10 minute walk from the station (time difference depending whether you know the route or not), and is convenient to all the main attractions. There were four of us, and we stayed in two suites, which were at the top of the building. My mother thought she might have trouble with the stairs, but she coped pretty well, especially if not rushed, and the owners carried our bags up and down. The property is 17th Century, so there are bound to be some defects for a building of that age, however, our rooms were comfortable and spacious, and just for the want of a base it was perfect. If you're not after this type of accommodation, then simply go to a plush hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite N.Y., which was on the top floor and had good roof top views and lots of natural...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012 via mobile

This room was a great experience to say the least- certainly when coming from spacious Australia!! The stairway was so narrow and steep- if u are overweight or cannot climb stairs THIS Place is NOT for
You! We booked for quadruple, had 1 bedroom and 1 fold out lounge - very squishy! Close enough to everything! The owners/caretakers were lovely, never seen them though. But like I said if its just a bed u want then this is it! Partly self contained....

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
9lla, Proprietario at The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Dear Guest
We always accept constructive criticism of our guests. But it 's good to specify some points for guests who want to stay here at Blue Sheep in the future....
The center of Amsterdam is Unesco `HEritage the houses of the 700 century features are long and narrow
The room that you have booked is a room with canal view, private bathroom with shower and bathtub.
The stairs are narrow ... but everybody nose it!!!
Amsterdam is one of the most expensive city in Europe. You've paid 119 euros per night for 4 people.( 30 euro each one)
I'm sorry but with this price in Amsterdam you will find a hostel with shared bathroom with 4 other rooms.
Kind regards
Novella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Vacationers beware!
We made several reservation requests via the Blue Sheep's online reservation form and none were confirmed or responded to. Neither were our emails. And when we finally got someone on the phone, they said they would call us back later that day, but never did. Weeks later, we called and, this time, were told that they "get a lot of email and don't read all of it". Wow! They asked that we make another reservation request, which we did, but the next day we were told they were booked for the nights we requested.
Absolutely awful, inconsiderate, rude, and flaky service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
9lla, Owner at The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Dear Guest , sometimes can happen that i miss some emails...unfortunately we don't have any customer service
i'm the only one how respond to all the reservation and requests , and i try to do my best
I'm mother , wife, woman and i try to respond to all my clients ( we don't use automatic emails)as soon as possible .
We are B&B not one Hotel, we are a simple family , with a small business ..i did email you after 3 days ...but as i can see was not in TIME.
I will learned from you....
Take care
Novella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay, escaping from London for a weekend. Novella, the house-lady is nice and friendly, the house is cosy, furnished with lots of european taste, the breakfast is prepared on the moment, so rich of all sorts of food. The bathroom is shared by two rooms, with a massive shower. It's located in the beautiful Jordaan area, we loved to get lost in the romantic maze of lanes and canals at nights. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tönisvorst, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Cosy nice place in the middle of Amsterdam. Easy to find from Central Station.
Room is nice and recently renovated. Great shower :-)
and great food. All you need to get started for exploring a nice city....

Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

I have just returned from one of the best stays in Amsterdam! I traveled with my boyfriend and his parents, I had booked the accommodation from reviews solely on tripadvisor. The apartment was only a short walk from central station, tucked away down a quaint street where no cars are allowed, so that was a bonus! On arrival we were warmly welcomed with tea and coffee, a few guidelines on where to go and suggestions for nice restaurants. Eddie kindly helped us with our luggage to the apartment which was literally a few doors down, even though I seen pictures and warnings of how steep the staircase was, it was quite hard to manage them the first time, however we got used to it very quickly! The apartment had everything we needed, great shower, comfy beds, and lovely sheets, full of dutch charm! Very central to everything and easy to navigate around the city. On our last day we met Novella, the owner, she was lovely and said we could use the apartment for the rest of the day because nobody else was checking in.....usually they want you out as fast a possible to clean it! So we were able to leave our bags in the room and have another look about the city! Excellent accommodation and Novella could not do enough for us, really lovely! Definitely recommend this accommodation, we had a ball!

Room Tip: There is a knack for opening the door....ask owner to show you, preferably not 12 at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam

Address: Korsjespoortsteeg 3, 1015AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Sheep Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.