We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth the price and close to everything!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam to your Saves list
The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Korsjespoortsteeg 3, 1015AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 324 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the price and close to everything!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

My husband and I stayed at The Blue Sheep for three nights in late September. We arrived from the states very early in the morning and were thankfully able to leave our bags at the B&B for the few hours before we were able to check-in. Jan & Novella were gracious and very eager to please. Their daughter is also adorable and quiet as a mouse. The young man who handles breakfast was incredibly friendly and helpful. Also, the B&B is close to all of the major sites (short walk to the train station!), and with a bike rental, you can easily and quickly get around the city.

As stated in almost every review and clearly on the website, there are only a few rooms in the house, and you are REALLY sharing someone's home. We stayed in the Blue Room, which was clean and large. Having to share the bathroom down one flight of stairs with the Green Room was totally fine and never an issue. However, the slight issue we did have was with the noise; the bed was a little creaky and the walls are rather thin. Just understand that this place is certainly an "early to bed, early to rise" type of B&B, and that it is not necessarily for a light sleeper.

Also, while this had absolutely nothing to do with the B&B, do not lock your bikes on the gates at the end of the street! We unknowingly did this and one of the neighbors angrily let the air out of all four of our tires and dragged our bikes (that were securely locked!) to the end of the gate, effectively throwing the handlebars out of whack. Thankfully Yellow Bike just laughed and gave us new bikes chalking up the damage to "Mac Bike Revenge," which is the other tourist bike rental company. Just double check with Jan about where to best lock your bikes!

All-in-all, we'd definitely come back but possibly stay in the Orange Room for a bit more privacy. Definitely worth the money!!

Room Tip: The Green Room is two windy and narrow flights of stairs down to the bathroom, so if you have a habi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    70
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
74
163
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in August. It was a great location - an easy walk from Centraal station and close enough to walk (or take trams in the case of some rainy weather) to all the attractions. It is on a very quiet pedestrian-only street. We did not meet the owners, but the young male manager we dealt with was exceedingly gracious, warm, kind, and helpful. We had the upstairs room and had to go downstairs to a shared bathroom, but this worked out fine and we never had to wait. Yes, the stairs were steep as promised, but it was okay, even with our baby and all the baby gear. We had asked for a crib in the room and didn't get one, but he was fine sleeping between us, so we didn't push the issue. The two little Jack Russel dogs were very sweet, and my son adored them. The breakfast the first day was amazing and plentiful, with waffles and eggs made to order, among other things. For some reason the second day we only got bread and fruit, the manager was making eggs and hot things for other guests and I think he just didn't realize that he never offered them to us - it was a bit hectic with folks in and out of the room at that particular time. He was so kind and working so hard, that we didn't mention it and just made do with the other items. I would definitely recommend this to friends and family!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

People really do make the difference and the hosts Novella and Jan are just lovely people. My girlfriend and I checked in late but that didn't stop either of them help us take all of our luggage up to the room for us. They were always smiling and friendly each morning while we enjoyed fresh brewed coffee and a delicious breakfast. They don't want to just be hosts, they want to be friends as well, which is very comforting and it helps you enjoy your stay. The location is perfect, far enough away from the hustle and bustle, but close enough to most everything. The room was a very nice size and the bed was extremely comfortable. We didn't get to see everything in Amsterdam that we wanted to, so I guess that we will have to come back here again some other time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

This is a lovely spot to stay - great location close to the train station but residential and very quiet. Our hosts were very attentive, and the breakfasts were tasty and filling. Our suite was very spacious and comfortable with lots of windows. We had a very nice view from the suite. We were up one flight of stairs, but our hosts carted our bags up and down for us, so it was no problem. I would recommend this B&B highly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naracoorte, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed 5 nights, with friends, in the Blue Room and Green Room. The location is perfect, a few minutes' walk to anywhere in the old town. Novella and Jan Willem are excellent hosts, friendly and helpful. Novella even took our luggage up the very steep stairs to our rooms. If you like the charm and character of an old house, with all its little quirks, then this is the place to stay. Thanks for for helping to make our time in Amsterdam a wonderful experience.
David and Kaye

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

excellent location, very cosy building and room. Friendly staff and playful spot & vito. Thanks for your hospitality! See you soon, Marjorie Plenge

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Stayed for a long weekend. Lovely room (the en suite); great shower; cute playful dogs; yummy, health breakfast; helpful, friendly service. Thanks, Edgar!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam

Address: Korsjespoortsteeg 3, 1015AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 324 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Sheep Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.