We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location, Quaint and Quiet Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Korsjespoortsteeg 3, 1015AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 302 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Ideal Location, Quaint and Quiet Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in August. It was a great location - an easy walk from Centraal station and close enough to walk (or take trams in the case of some rainy weather) to all the attractions. It is on a very quiet pedestrian-only street. We did not meet the owners, but the young male manager we dealt with was exceedingly gracious, warm, kind, and helpful. We had the upstairs room and had to go downstairs to a shared bathroom, but this worked out fine and we never had to wait. Yes, the stairs were steep as promised, but it was okay, even with our baby and all the baby gear. We had asked for a crib in the room and didn't get one, but he was fine sleeping between us, so we didn't push the issue. The two little Jack Russel dogs were very sweet, and my son adored them. The breakfast the first day was amazing and plentiful, with waffles and eggs made to order, among other things. For some reason the second day we only got bread and fruit, the manager was making eggs and hot things for other guests and I think he just didn't realize that he never offered them to us - it was a bit hectic with folks in and out of the room at that particular time. He was so kind and working so hard, that we didn't mention it and just made do with the other items. I would definitely recommend this to friends and family!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    72
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
64
147
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

People really do make the difference and the hosts Novella and Jan are just lovely people. My girlfriend and I checked in late but that didn't stop either of them help us take all of our luggage up to the room for us. They were always smiling and friendly each morning while we enjoyed fresh brewed coffee and a delicious breakfast. They don't want to just be hosts, they want to be friends as well, which is very comforting and it helps you enjoy your stay. The location is perfect, far enough away from the hustle and bustle, but close enough to most everything. The room was a very nice size and the bed was extremely comfortable. We didn't get to see everything in Amsterdam that we wanted to, so I guess that we will have to come back here again some other time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

This is a lovely spot to stay - great location close to the train station but residential and very quiet. Our hosts were very attentive, and the breakfasts were tasty and filling. Our suite was very spacious and comfortable with lots of windows. We had a very nice view from the suite. We were up one flight of stairs, but our hosts carted our bags up and down for us, so it was no problem. I would recommend this B&B highly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naracoorte, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed 5 nights, with friends, in the Blue Room and Green Room. The location is perfect, a few minutes' walk to anywhere in the old town. Novella and Jan Willem are excellent hosts, friendly and helpful. Novella even took our luggage up the very steep stairs to our rooms. If you like the charm and character of an old house, with all its little quirks, then this is the place to stay. Thanks for for helping to make our time in Amsterdam a wonderful experience.
David and Kaye

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

excellent location, very cosy building and room. Friendly staff and playful spot & vito. Thanks for your hospitality! See you soon, Marjorie Plenge

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011 via mobile

Stayed for a long weekend. Lovely room (the en suite); great shower; cute playful dogs; yummy, health breakfast; helpful, friendly service. Thanks, Edgar!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gliwice
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Perfect location few minutes walk to the center, , clean, quiet, likeable. Great hospitality !!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam

Address: Korsjespoortsteeg 3, 1015AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 302 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Sheep Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.