We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gartine

Gartine
Taksteeg 7, 1012 PB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
20-3204132
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 2,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: French, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Dessert
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A real find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Gartine is very small. Be sure to book in advance. Organic ingredients, most of them grown in their own vegetable garden, Gluten free and/or sourdough bread, 'animal friendly' eggs and meat. Go here on a sunny day and sit in the garden. Try the classic High Tea. Don't forget the cakes.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    66
    9
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fresh, Friendly, Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stopped in for some tea and lunch after a rainy walk around the city. Absolutely wonderful atmosphere, especially because we were able to sit up top on the second level balcony! The food was so fresh and delicious. VERY reasonable prices too. After we were done, I loved reading about how the produce comes from the Hendriks' own garden outside of the city. The best restaurant that we ate at in Amsterdam. Highly recommended, but try to make reservations if you can.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“absolutely delicious and fresh!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My partner and I had a lovely lunch at Gartine today before heading to Bruges. We stumbled upon it and my god I'm so glad we did! We were lucky to get a table straight away and the main reason we decided to eat here was because they offer gluten-free bread! I ordered a salad with bacon, anchovies and boiled eggs while my partner had the soup of the day with bread and butter. Sounds simple but absolutely divine, organic home-cooked meals full of flavour. The cold drinks were refreshing too, we ordered the homemade iced tea with vanilla and a lemongrass type drink. All in all, a great dining experince and prices were reasonable! Thank you Gartine for an unforgettable lunch, we will definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central, NY
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We got lucky that a reservation cancelled and we were able to get a seat for breakfast. It's a very small place with only 7-8 tables. The service was quick and excellent and we were out of there within 30-35 minutes. The French toast and salmon meals were incredible. The coffee was delicious. I highly recommend making a reservation and eating here when in town.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious and fresh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I found Gartine on Trip Advisor and I am so glad I fit it in to my one night stay in Amsterdam! We went for my friend's birthday afternoon tea and the food was divine!
It was a rainy day and I loved the cozy warm atmosphere, and friendly staff.

I ordered the soup of the day, a smoked salmon dish for lunch and the coconut, lime and yoghurt cheesecake. All were amazing!! Gartine uses mainly produce from its own garden and I could taste the delicious fresh herbs in the soup and the smoked salmon on pumpkin bread. Amazing!
They also put cute little fresh flowers on each table that look like they are from their garden :)

I would definitely recommend Gartine, its food is delicious and reasonable well priced at less than 10 euro a plate.
The high tea is good value at around 18-25 euro per person but you have a lot of food and a huge tea pot to share.

I would recommend booking however as it is a tiny place and we were lucky to get in as a walk in reservation!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gartine also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Gartine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gartine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.