We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth searching for.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gartine

Gartine
Taksteeg 7, 1012 PB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
+31 20 320 4132
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 130 Coffee & Tea in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Coffee & Tea, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worth searching for.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This was advertised in the easy jet magazine and it took some finding. Well worth the effort had the large breakfast which included coffee, fresh orange juice, egg, salami, sour dough toast, cinnamon French toast with homemade jam and a fresh croissant all superb & already booked for tomorrow. Service was attentive and friendly give it a try.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    80
    10
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“got poisoning((((”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

everything was perfect (place, service, atmosphere) , but we started feel stomachache after soup, first thought was just because I didnt eat before hand during the whole day. unfortunately in few hours me and my sis felt worse((( take care

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hello12312, Eigenaar at Gartine, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear guests,

First of all we are very sorry to hear that you and your sister did not feel well after leaving our restaurant.
As you can tell from the TripAdvisor site we never respond to posts placed by guests whether they are positive or negative. However after reading your review we were very shocked and felt we had to get in touch with you.
Since our opening 7 years ago we are proud to say we have never received a complaint about the quality/freshness of our food. This however does not mean we do not take your complaint very serious. After reading your review we have contacted everyone who had made a reservation on the same day at Gartine to check if there were more guests with stomach problems, fortunately this was not the case. Of course we have also checked all our foods which we had in supply but could not discover any problems.
We would like to explain to your our way of working at Gartine.
Our restaurant is open from 10 am till 6 pm. We start at 6 am with our preparations and everything is freshly made each day, such as our soups, dressings and cakes and pies. Almost all the fresh produce we use comes from our own vegetable garden and all our other ingredients from (organic) wholesalers. We make everything on the menu in small amounts as to guarantee its freshness. This also means we sometimes run out of courses before the end of the day.
Naturally we also follow all the guidelines and rules of the Dutch authority of the Voedsel en Warenwet.

Nevertheless we would like to let you know that we are sorry to hear that you have negative feelings towards our restaurant. We wish you would have contacted us personally the same day with your complaint so we could have looked at your problem immediately.

As we have not found anything wrong in our preparation and supply, we hope we can welcome you back to Gartine in the future for a second chance.

With kind regards,
Willem-jan Hendriks
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
185 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Always great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was my 3rd time dining for breakfast at Gartine. On the first 2 occasions we were lucky to walk in and get a table. This time we reserved one, and whilst eating they had to turn away about 7 people in the 90 minutes we were there.

Nice buzz to the place, small and cosy. Friendly staff and all the food is good, with no exceptions.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
158 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Great breakfast / brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I had tried to eat here before, but I didn't have a reservation and they were completely full. There are only a few tables, so either get a reservation or come at off-peak hours.

After finally having eaten there, it was totally worth it. The breakfast is delicious and filling, served in a warm and friendly atmosphere. I had a croissant, homemade jams,* french toast,* eggs,*, bacon, and tea/coffee. (*As other patrons have mentioned, these were the outstanding breakfast items.)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
132 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Worth Stopping Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Very small but very cute and fun. Few tables but food prepared with care and attention. Definitely worth stopping for lunch or tea in the PM.
We'd happily go back, just don't expect grandeur!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gartine also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Gartine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gartine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.