We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gartine

Gartine
Taksteeg 7, 1012 PB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)
+31 20 320 4132
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 3,021 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $10
Cuisines: French, International, Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centrum
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Always great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was my 3rd time dining for breakfast at Gartine. On the first 2 occasions we were lucky to walk in and get a table. This time we reserved one, and whilst eating they had to turn away about 7 people in the 90 minutes we were there.

Nice buzz to the place, small and cosy. Friendly staff and all the food is good, with no exceptions.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkBarefoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
226 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
“Great breakfast / brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I had tried to eat here before, but I didn't have a reservation and they were completely full. There are only a few tables, so either get a reservation or come at off-peak hours.

After finally having eaten there, it was totally worth it. The breakfast is delicious and filling, served in a warm and friendly atmosphere. I had a croissant, homemade jams,* french toast,* eggs,*, bacon, and tea/coffee. (*As other patrons have mentioned, these were the outstanding breakfast items.)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
148 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Worth Stopping Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Very small but very cute and fun. Few tables but food prepared with care and attention. Definitely worth stopping for lunch or tea in the PM.
We'd happily go back, just don't expect grandeur!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Getitright212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Special breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We found this on Tripadvisor, as I was looking for somewhere special to take my husband for his birthday. We were not disappointed. The restaurant is tiny and we were fortunate to get a table even though we had not booked. We arrived at a time when we could have either had the breakfast or lunch menu and we were spoilt for choice. We stayed with the breakfast menu and had a delicious salmon on sourdough with egg, as well as lovely coffee. Faultless and charming venue with helpful staff.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank VelshedaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pescara
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“- A green corner in the heart of Amsterdam -”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We went over there in the middle of January, and we have been surprised to find an excellent restaurant like that in the heart of Amsterdam. It was really focused on the quality of the food. Its taste and the way to get fresh vegetables through its own garden.
We took two different dishes: High Tea del Gartine grande and Classico high del Gartine and to end up with two delicious white chocolate cheesecake.
We will recommend to go to this nice place to all our friends. Thank you very much for the pleasant staff. We will be back soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank franco d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gartine also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Gartine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#