We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gartine

Gartine
Taksteeg 7, 1012 PB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
+31 20 320 4132
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 2,591 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Dessert
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Basingstoke
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Always great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was my 3rd time dining for breakfast at Gartine. On the first 2 occasions we were lucky to walk in and get a table. This time we reserved one, and whilst eating they had to turn away about 7 people in the 90 minutes we were there.

Nice buzz to the place, small and cosy. Friendly staff and all the food is good, with no exceptions.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    78
    10
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Great breakfast / brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I had tried to eat here before, but I didn't have a reservation and they were completely full. There are only a few tables, so either get a reservation or come at off-peak hours.

After finally having eaten there, it was totally worth it. The breakfast is delicious and filling, served in a warm and friendly atmosphere. I had a croissant, homemade jams,* french toast,* eggs,*, bacon, and tea/coffee. (*As other patrons have mentioned, these were the outstanding breakfast items.)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Worth Stopping Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Very small but very cute and fun. Few tables but food prepared with care and attention. Definitely worth stopping for lunch or tea in the PM.
We'd happily go back, just don't expect grandeur!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Special breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We found this on Tripadvisor, as I was looking for somewhere special to take my husband for his birthday. We were not disappointed. The restaurant is tiny and we were fortunate to get a table even though we had not booked. We arrived at a time when we could have either had the breakfast or lunch menu and we were spoilt for choice. We stayed with the breakfast menu and had a delicious salmon on sourdough with egg, as well as lovely coffee. Faultless and charming venue with helpful staff.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pescara
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“- A green corner in the heart of Amsterdam -”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We went over there in the middle of January, and we have been surprised to find an excellent restaurant like that in the heart of Amsterdam. It was really focused on the quality of the food. Its taste and the way to get fresh vegetables through its own garden.
We took two different dishes: High Tea del Gartine grande and Classico high del Gartine and to end up with two delicious white chocolate cheesecake.
We will recommend to go to this nice place to all our friends. Thank you very much for the pleasant staff. We will be back soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gartine also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Gartine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gartine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.