We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best find in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gartine

Gartine
Taksteeg 7, Amsterdam 1012 PB, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
20-3204132
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 2,231 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: French, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Dessert
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best find in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I decided to try out this restaurant on a recent trip to Amsterdam because of all its good reviews; I was not disappointed! The restaurant was lovely, very sweet and tucked away, the food was amazing and the service was great! You should definitely call and pre-book a table to make sure you get in

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    246
    50
    8
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“breakfast in heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

After more than 30 mn Looking for the entrance of the beguinage, we eventually took our breakfast in this wonderful little piece of heaven!
Food was, of course excellent but I would like to point out t the extreme kindness of the staff! They really care about you and how you feel, and to me this is just what heaven would look like! Thank you!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Little Gem of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stumbled upon Gartine through iamsterdam.nl

The owners are extremely friendly and the food is delicious. We both had the full breakfast which is more than you bargain for. The French toast is completely amazing. I would advise on making a booking before you go, as a lot of people were turned away because it was fully booked.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alexandria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

No matter how you like your eggs, you'll always find something you love at this small gem ! The sevice and food are both excelllent.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best breakfast ever!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

What a great breakfast in this small and very friendly restaurant. French toast was very delicious. Definitely recommended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gartine also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Gartine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gartine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.