We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made sure to return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gartine

Gartine
Taksteeg 7, Amsterdam 1012 PB, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
20-3204132
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 2,229 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: French, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Dessert
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Made sure to return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Our first visit to Gartine was a year ago and I couldn't wait to return. So with great anticipation I had a late lunch and fell in love all over again. My meal was heavenly. The service was warm and friendly. And the setting is magical. I can't wait to return again next year.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    245
    50
    8
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We heard many great things about Gartine, so we decided to check it out when we visited Amsterdam. The time we had here was amazing, and I absolutely loved the welcoming atmosphere. The decorations are very creative and tasteful, and the service is always on point. I recommend the breakfast food here, especially the scrambled eggs and the French toast. I also had an amazing cake, and the coffee is delicious. We all loved this cute little restaurant, and we definitely recommend it. Make sure you make a reservation beforehand though because it`s not very big, and many people come here to eat!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Cosy wee cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We read about this place in our guidebook & were very glad we went. Our timing was fortunate - a couple of people who came in after us were turned away. It looked like you can book ahead, so worth doing if you get the opportunity. The food was delicious & lived up to the descriptions on the menu. The menu offered a fair choice - impressive for such a little kitchen at the back. I read this place mainly uses ingredients that the team grow themselves. Given the food's provenance & the cafe's location it really is great value.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Saw the rating for this place, and being a short walk from the hotel we decided to try it out. Got there at a good time, there was a table available immediately. Service was very good, the guy there was very attentive and friendly. Food was very good - lived the french toast and the homemade jams. Lively atmosphere, its very cozy and quaint. There's only a handful of tables though.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great breakfast in welcoming atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We got there without reservation around 11.30 on a saturday morning and had breakfast with eggs. They use special herbs for the eggs, very tasty!!
The seating is limited but is very nice. Lots of locals as well - definitely a hidden gem we only found with Tripadvisor.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Gartine also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Gartine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gartine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.