We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Start your day right” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gartine

Gartine
Taksteeg 7, 1012 PB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
20-3204132
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 2,239 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: French, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Dessert
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Start your day right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a very popular place for breakfast but it's also very small so make sure you get there early or book a table. We had scrambled eggs and french toast. So, so good! They also have a great selection of tea and cake for dessert. This lovely little place is run by a couple who were very pleasant. I'd love to try their lunch next time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    246
    50
    8
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location and good food upon arriving in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

So grateful to have found Gartine upon our arrival in Amsterdam. Right off of Dam Square, this little place is a haven of loveliness in the midst of commercialism. Delicious coffee, good eggs and yummy french toast. We were lucky to be seated as many people were turned away, so if you can, make a reservation!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Excellent little breakfast/brunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Lovely service, cozy atmosphere, great location and very good food. Not sumptuous, luxurious, or fantastic; just really good! We arrived early for Sunday breakfast and were the only ones admitted without reservations - so calling ahead is probably a good idea!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Was walking around at lunch time and found this small place that was full. Managed to get a table even without reservation. Staff were very nice and charming. The food however was ok. I mean, it has basically salads and sandwiches for lunch, so although perfectly fine, I must say that it was not memorable.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Do not miss this lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Several times we went around, but it was always crowded. Fortunately, the cafe is in very good location, a bit hidden, but not a problem to stop at any other city walk. Very cozy atmosphere, excellent coffee as well as tea, delicious desserts and surprise at the end, actually, in the beginning :)
Service quality sometimes varies, but I do recommend it as a great place for breakfast or just for an afternoon cup, I believe that you will not regret it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gartine also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Gartine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gartine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.