We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple. Authentic. Tasty.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gartine

Gartine
Taksteeg 7, 1012 PB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
20-3204132
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 2,445 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: French, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Dessert
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Simple. Authentic. Tasty.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

A friend took me here for lunch. Luckily we arrived early; with not many seats this place filled up fast. And no wonder. Deliciously simple French cuisine, served with Dutch generosity. A welcome break from the typical tourist rubbish located nearby. Eat here!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    66
    9
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food but not cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I heard good things about this restaurant. A little bit disappointed about the service and the food. The food was good but it is not cheap. Next year I come back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Pancakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

What a nice, cozy place to have breakfast. The pancakes were really excellent, ingredients were fresh and the staff was very friendly and efficient. We meant to go back again but ran out of time. Reservations aren't strictly necessary, but I'd recommend them, as this place seems to be on a lot of people's radar.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the nicest breakfast places in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The atmosphere, the service, quality of food, the fact it's bloody Amsterdam! Everything adds a little bit to one of the nicest breakfast experiences I had. It's so relaxed and quiet, that for me atleast, it had a long-lasting soothing effect for days afterwards.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The food was excellent and reasonably priced. . All the dishes were well cooked usng home grown ingredients where possible. The meal was absolutely delicious, the use of vintage crockery and the friendly friendly service added to the experience. We lucky walk in and get a table as it is quite small, so would recommend booking.
The restaurant is a little tricky one to find but well worth the effort.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gartine also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Gartine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gartine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.