We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt spoilt” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zaza's

Zaza's
Daniel Stalpertstraat 103hs, 1072 XD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
+31(0)20.673.63.33
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 2,281 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $35 - $85
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Felt spoilt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Went here for my wife's 40th and they looked after us so well, table had balloons on it and little touches of playing happy birthday when they brought the deserts out and taking our photo and developing it there and then was perfect.

Food wise every course was really well cooked, a small selection for each course but all very appetising and we were happy with each selection.

It's only a small restaurant so book in advance, the owner was wonderful and the other staff just as accommodating?

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    397
    112
    26
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Dined here in May, would suggest you book online as it's only a small restaurant.

Food was delicious, well presented and well priced.

Good selection of wines at reasonable prices.

Service was excellent.

Restaurant claims to be "Absolutely Fabulous" themed. It's good and there is a touch of sparkle but they haven't gone overboard here so don't be put off by that if it's not your thing.

Would certainly visit again and recommend highly.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Anniversary Meal - Thank You for Looking After Us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I am late submitting this review - sorry. My wife and I visted Amsterdam last November whilst celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary. I booked Zazas after reading a review on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. The proprietor (sorry I do not know her name) really looked after us. They set up a special table for the two of us with lovely touches such as hearts attached to our wine glasses and also gave us a photograph to remember the occasion. The food, service and standard of accommodation was very good throughout. Thank you for a lovely and memorable evening. Kev.

PS. Amsterdam is a fab city and the people are so nice and friendly, we will return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good Dinner @ Zazas Amsterdam on 14Apr2014”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

had a good dinner at zazas on my second night in amsterdam on 14.4.2014. like beulings, we planned & booked the restaurant before the trip.

could not recall the amuse bouche but it was good tasting.

the focaccia was good, the usual.

we ordered 5 appetisers including the oysters & soup.

#1 the beef carpaccio was good, sweet & came with foie gras terrine.

#2 the smoked duck mille feuille was good too. smoked duck was good & the pastry too, overall a good dish. taste wise it was not as exciting as it looked. the duck & pastry were competent, good, not special.

#3 the ravioli was good. couldn’t remember what was in it, I imagine cheese? but this was better than the green pea risotto we had at the movies restaurant the next day.

#4 the carrot soup (we had 3 servings of 1/2 portion) had some cream at the bottom & was again very good, and also better than the one at the movies restaurant.

#5 the oysters were excellent, very creamy and sweet. we ordered a second helping of 3 oysters.

we ordered 2 mains to share.

#6 the cod was competent, but somehow the meat were firmer (& less oily??) than the texture i generally liked, as in my own nobu miso cod or teriyaki cod.

#7 the guinea fowl i guess was competent, just was not a dish that we particularly liked, and by comparison, the duck confit at the movies restaurant was much more enjoyable.

the service was very good – professional & friendly. there was 2 taiwanese ladies on our next table. 1 ordered a lamb but didn’t like it. she was requested to order a different main from the menu. the server took back the lamb & later explained politely & cheerfully that the chef tasted the lamb & it was fine however they would replace it with another main anyway. the lady said sorry when paying the bill & the server said they were sorry that she did not like it. all very nice & pleasant.

overall the dinner came to euro104 for 3pax including 2 coffees & a glass of wine, quite good price. it was not really much more expensive than the movies restaurant. the appetisers were great but the mains were not as enjoyable for us c/w the movies restaurant. i would come back again when in amsterdam.

see my detailed reviews & photos at http://chefquak.com/2014/04/30/very-good-dinner-zazas-amsterdam-on-14apr2014/

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

What does one seek on an evening dining out? Delicious food, lovingly and creatively prepared? Naturally. But what other characteristics factor in? For many, the more polished and formal the atmosphere, so much the better, as though the quality of the experience is directly correlated to the relative "importance" of the setting. For such diners, Zaza's may not hold that much appeal. It is, in every detail, the personal manifestation of its irrepressively charming owner, Susie Roche, which means that yes, there is considerable passion for the product served on the table, but any hint of pretension will be absent. From the moment one enters Zaza's, and is warmly greeted by Susie herself, one feels secure in the knowledge that laughter and fun are as much a part of the menu as the other scrumptious offerings. This is a surefire recipe for a great evening!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaza's also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Zaza's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaza's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.