We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delight!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zaza's

Zaza's
Daniel Stalpertstraat 103hs, 1072 XD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
+31(0)20.673.63.33
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 2,469 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $35 - $85
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Connecticut
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

What does one seek on an evening dining out? Delicious food, lovingly and creatively prepared? Naturally. But what other characteristics factor in? For many, the more polished and formal the atmosphere, so much the better, as though the quality of the experience is directly correlated to the relative "importance" of the setting. For such diners, Zaza's may not hold that much appeal. It is, in every detail, the personal manifestation of its irrepressively charming owner, Susie Roche, which means that yes, there is considerable passion for the product served on the table, but any hint of pretension will be absent. From the moment one enters Zaza's, and is warmly greeted by Susie herself, one feels secure in the knowledge that laughter and fun are as much a part of the menu as the other scrumptious offerings. This is a surefire recipe for a great evening!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    155
    34
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Top Contributor
351 reviews 351 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
310 helpful votes 310 helpful votes
“Must eat place in AMS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Found this place via TA reviews and must say the restaurant and service are top-notch.

We made reservations online and ate late aroun 9:30-10 on saturday night, The restaurant is located in trendy area full of nightlife and bars.. . .but the food and service were amazing.

The owner Susie Roche welcomes you as you walk in and takes your order as well. .. and biy was the food amazing. My wife had Kataifi Gambas and I had the Lamb which was amazing! We would definitely highly recommend and make reservations in advance!

Come here to eat and then walk around and have a drink in the area!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dekalb, illinois
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Excellent and well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We ate at Zaza's last year and returned in April of this year because we enjoyed the restaurant. It is an easy 5 minute walk from the number 16 or 24 tram stop on a side street with several other restaurants and bars. The restaurant is not big but the tables are not crowded together so you are not annoyed by other customers. Both the food and service were excellent. When we arrived at 7.45 (19.45) the restaurant was about half full. When we left at about 10.00 all the tables were taken. Each of the three of us were very satisfied with our starters, mains and desserts. The wine list, while not very extensive, should satisfy most people. The one brief negative was the shock I got when they put a very loud version of 'happy birthday' on the speaker system and brought out a dessert with a rather large sparkler on it. Cute,but a bit over the top. All in all an excellent experience and we will return when we return to Amsterdam.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Such a special and fun evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The atmosphere was intimate and welcoming. The food looked fantastic and tasted incredible. A fab night. The location was also vibrant and there were plenty of lively bars around. I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Took the plunge based on Trip Advisor recommendations and have no qualms in highly endorsing. Everything was good - service - location - wine selection - price etc. etc.
The atmosphere was also very inviting

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaza's also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Zaza's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaza's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.